We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,904 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,624: English reviews
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We stayed for 4 nights with my family and enjoyed tremenously as staff especially concierge was so helpful to assist us to do online check-in for our flight. Room big and airy and clean. Breakfast choices was enough to eat for the day - "ate like a king" especially the fresh fruit juices station! what a good way to start... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nai B
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review

Good Day Nai, Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu! Glad you enjoyed your stay here and thank you for the special mention on the breakfast, we hope you enjoyed all the juices! As you should. I will also convey your compliments to all the staff especially the warm and friendly concierge team. Looking forward to welcoming you, your family, your... More 

Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Location - Food - Service - Staff - View all outstanding. We were 4 travellers in our early fifties from Australia. No complaints at all and would definately stay here again. There may be newer and more classy five star hotels in the world, but in terms of value for money this would be hard to beat.

Helpful?
Thank hook563
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu! Sounds like you’re very much satisfied with your stay here with us. Glad you enjoyed the local attractions and the places of interest nearby, our food, service and our staff. I will convey your kind compliments to all the staff. We look forward to welcome you, your family, friends and loved ones... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Everything is awesome. Spend the extra over the three star hotels. Breakfast is awesome. Location is great in middle of town, the pool is really nice. The views on the upper floors are great looking across the bay.

Helpful?
Thank Shane K
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review

Dear Shane, Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu! Thank you for your excellent feedback. Sounds like you had a really great stay with us. We’re happy that you have enjoyed the places of interests nearby, our facilities and also our service. Good to know you enjoyed our breakfast too. Look forward to welcome you and your loved ones again. Thank... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, one before going up Mount Kinabalu and one night after. Very pleased with the price of the accomadation and location is ok. Room was good size and fine but nothing special. However overall hotel is very nice for the money and I would stay here again just if I was going under different circumstances think... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca Q
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review

Good Day Rebecca, Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu! Glad to hear you had a good stay with us and hopefully the next visit will be a better one. Look forward to seeing you again! Hopefully you get to spend more time around our outlets as well to find out more about us and what we can do to make... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

stayed here in mid november at the club floor. Expect the 5 star hotel services but the aged room/furnitures , you felt its time for the management to spend some money to upgrade their own facility/do some renovations. room view is spectacular as we get the seaview. the club floor has an even better view across the sea from sutera... More 

Helpful?
Thank LeithW
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review

Dear Leith, Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu! I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our seaview room while enjoying our view from there. I am also glad to know that our staffs have treated you and your lovely wife well on your stay throughout, especially our concierge team. We do hope you have enjoyed... More 

Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

1 thing, and the most unbelievable thing happened in a 5-star hotel, I cancelled my reservation for taxi in the 5:30 AM, but I still received a morning call at 5:30 AM !!! I asked twice and waited for 3 hours for just a adapter. Our check-in on18th, stayed for one night, the availability for wifi is only till 1:00... More 

Helpful?
Thank sharonfeng
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu! Firstly, please accept our apologies if we have caused a massive delay when you requested for your adapter, we hope not to repeat it again and I will let my respective team know of this matter. As for the taxi reservations, please accept our utmost regret for waking you up at that... More 

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We chose the Méridien because we wanted a good hotel at the end of a long trip through Malaysia, and because the pricing on Expedia was really good. We stayed three different times recently. The hotel is located across the road from the night market, which is one of the best things about KK. We had a marvellous view of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review

Dear Andrew, Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu! Thank you for the distinctive mention on our location and for the overall positive review and we’re glad that you loved the location and the places of interests nearby. Please accept our apologies if your check in process and luggage assistance took some time and we hope that it will not be... More 

1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2013

This is what you expect from a 5 star hotel. Especially the service, it's a little bit expensive compare to other hotels but far more luxerious. Nice swimming pool on the second floor and very spacious rooms. The rooms are cool even without the airco! Special thanks to mister Suresh Ramasamy for his excellent service and information. Even though its... More 

Helpful?
Thank iliass21
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu! Sounds like everyone has given you a great service as we should, thank you for the kind compliments and I will convey this to the team accordingly. I humbly accept your kind recognition of my assistance, our goal is to provide you the best. We hope to see you and your family... More 

Geraldton, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We had a three night stay arrived at 7 am thoroughly enjoyed our stay the staff were exceptional The pool and gym were of a very high standard the room was large with a great view ,we will always stay here when we are in K K it is by far the best service we have experienced in 25years of... More 

Helpful?
Thank GeoffreyandTracey
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review

Dear Geoffrey and Tracey, Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu! Sounds to me you had a really good time here in the hotel. Great to hear that you have had a great time! We’re also glad to hear that you have enjoyed our swimming pool and gym facilities and breakfast, as you should. Thank you for the recommendation and we... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We only were spending 2 nights in KK, so Le Meridien was perfect. Very good location next to the market, the excellent seafood/fish hawkers stands, Starbucks. The fish market is a must; the food we had there was amazing. The breakfast buffet was quite impressive with a huge variety of food. Coffee was very good. Fun ambiance music (their playlist... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Guizzi123
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu! Firstly thank you for noticing our 24 hours music effort, we hope you have enjoyed our selected tunes. Thank you for the great feedback and we’re glad you enjoyed the nearby places of interest and its convenience to all the central areas. We hope to see you again, and hopefully you get... More 

1,238 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1222)
Viewed
View from Room (111)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (156)
Viewed
Dining (88)
Viewed
Room/Suite (292)
Viewed
Bathroom (96)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (381)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
1.9 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
1,198 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 km away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#13 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
1,197 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
552 reviews
21.2 km away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu embraces the aesthetic and eclectic beauty of Sabah while showcasing superb views of the city, Mount Kinabalu, and the South China Sea. Located in downtown Kota Kinabalu, and within easy walking distance of local attractions, the commercial district, and retail and entertainment facilities, the hotel provides easy access to some of Malaysia’s finest beaches and golf courses. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $137 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Sabah
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get higher floor rooms with an ocean view for a nice straight up sunset view”
 of 5 bubbles , 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Level 6 apparently has newer rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 971faithf, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“vista sea view rooms are fabulous”
 of 5 bubbles chlodarfin, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“sea view is beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles emilym572, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Select a higher floor room with sea view if you like amazing sunsets...”
  • One of the sunsets from the room
 of 5 bubbles Taasit, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay