We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,953 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,667: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The Le Meridien in KK is an excellent hotel with great facilities and a fabulous location. Right in town, close to the amazing fish and other markets. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The view of the sunsets over the ocean was fantastic. Overall, an excellent place to stay in KK.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeFCanberra
FHagan, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review

Hello MikeFCanberra, Thank you for your review, it sounds like you had a fabulous time exploring KK and the area around the hotel. Thank you for sharing with others what you enjoyed about the hotel. Many thanks, Fiona

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 21 May 2013

PROS Great service Great location Very spacious rooms Attentive staff Vast array of all types of food and good quality food king sized beds Good entertainment in the evening at the lobby lounge CONS Rooms are old and not well maintained - all 3 rooms in which we stayed had maintenance issues such as- cracked tiles,toilet flush broken,cigarette burns on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mary111
FHagan, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review

Hello Mary111, Thank you for your honest feedback on your experience in the hotel. I apologize for the standard of the rooms, this is not up to our standard and simply not good enough. I have personally reviewed the specific comments together with our Housekeeping and Engineering team to ensure that these are addressed and action is taken in the...

Narooma, Australia
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We had to book into a hotel after our cycle trip as the trip to Sandakan was cancelled. We booked this last minute and fluked a really great hotel. When checking we were asked if we wanted to upgrade to the Executive lavel which we accepted. It was a great deal and we were really pleased we did. I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dag2546
FHagan, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review

Hello dag2546, Whilst its a shame you couldn't experience the charm of Sandakan, thank you for choosing to stay with us. It is very kind of you to highlight Ashma in the Club Lounge, and the attention to detail of the team. This is great recognition for the team and I will ensure we celebrate your comments with them. I...

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This restaurant could not have a better location if you want to be in the city and have easy access to restaurants, markets etc. The rooms are very big and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. That said, this hotel is starting to show it's age and we did find a minor infestation of ants in our room on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank applega888
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed here on the first night of our Sabah trip to explore the KK city. The location is perfect as it is just next to a large shopping mall as well as the waterfront. It is also right opposite the markets. We also loved the view from our room where we could see the sunset over the waterfront. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iris L
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I have recently spent 12 days on business in KK and chose to stay in this hotel. It has a fabulous location looking on the see and the islands in the distance. Check in was a breeze and pleasantly handled in a lobby which has a pleasant scented air. I chose to upgrade myself to a club room which gives...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RalphSingapore66
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Have just spent two days (May 2013) in this Hotel in the centre of busy Kota Kinabalu. Two very big positives are the very friendly, genuinely helpful staff, and the great central city location - great for short walks to the markets, shops and many restaurants. The room was well appointed, clean and comfortable. They went out of their way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angus D
KL
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Stayed here a few weekends ago with my son , nephews and niece. We took 2 connecting rooms . Fortunately one of the room is actually a suite room with its own living room and adjoining bedroom. We have ample of space since I am with 5 kids. The living room is spacious , clean with cozy furnishing. The king...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gracefulgrace
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review

Dear Gracefulgrace, Thank you so much for the review, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with your family. I agree I think our Culinary team and Circle restuarant team really deliver a fantastic buffet with a lot of choices available. Thanks for the mention on the Illy coffee, you can always find Illy coffee when you stay...

Reviewed 13 May 2013

Just spent a week at Le Meridien, the staff were absolutely fantastic, very friendly, gave us lots of support when we had to arrange some business emails etc whilst we were staying there. The view from our room was amazing. Great location, you can walk all around the town and markets just across the road. I would stay there again....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Prue A
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review

Hello Prue A, Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Hotel and for your positive feedback. If you come back to KK again for another short break please be sure to let me know, we look forward to welcoming you back! Fiona Hagan General Manager

london
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Plus points: Centrally located Great buffet breakfast Nice bed room shower Good house keeping service Upgrade to the club level.-good value Nice bar and live band near lobby Negative My airport transfer i requested to pick me up at the hotel was not present. I was phoned at 11.30pm to tell me my neighbouring rooms could hear my tv ......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hitenvachhani
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review

Dear hitenvachani, Thank you for mentioning the plus points of your stay, particualry the mention the good value of the upgrade to Club level. This is a fantatsic facility, one of my favourite places in KK to enjoy a perfect sunset! Thank you on the comments related to the call you received re the TV volume, this is something that...

1,262 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1246)
Viewed
Room/Suite (294)
Viewed
View from Room (115)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (83)
Viewed
Dining (88)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (159)
Viewed
Bathroom (99)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (392)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
0.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,268 reviews
1.9 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.9 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 km away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,246 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,134 reviews
21.2 km away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu embraces the aesthetic and eclectic beauty of Sabah while showcasing superb views of the city, Mount Kinabalu, and the South China Sea. Located in downtown Kota Kinabalu, and within easy walking distance of local attractions, the commercial district, and retail and entertainment facilities, the hotel provides easy access to some of Malaysia’s finest beaches and golf courses. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $132 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA and Travelocity so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Sabah
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view is a must”
 of 5 bubbles GeoffW4, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best view, clean room, and very good service.”
  • View from room and swimming pool
 of 5 bubbles 452mukeshs, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 0620. It is smaller vista room with smaller window panel located at the corner”
 of 5 bubbles 801balqism, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for new refurbished rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles xinnocentdreamerxd, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“room facing the water”
 of 5 bubbles AubreyHongKong, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5