We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

406 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 327: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I travelled to Kota Kinabalu with my groups. I booked for 27rooms, stayed for 2 night and did new year's dinner at their function rooms. Mr Roslan from Ming Garden is sooo helpful and understand what we need. The reservation process done smoothly. We got special price and special treatment. Everybody in my group were happy stayed in this hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YaniKY
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A good hotel with a lot of potential but lacking in quality management and leadership. The hotel is popular with tourist from China and Korea, wiith bus loads checking in/checking out almost 2-3 times a day so you can imagine how noisy and a little bit chaotic things can be in the lobby area. Rooms are poorly maintained and cleaned...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diving-Addiction00
Ajman
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed 4 nights. The first look you feel it is nice hotel, but later you find negative points. The cleanliness is questionable. The pillow cases were clean, but the pillows were dirty and stained, and the bed comforter also was stained. We requested to be changed which took time to be done. The room WiFi was good, the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Klaithem S
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Klaithem S, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback, in regards to your recent stay at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences. From reading your review I understand we were unable to meet your expectations as a 4-star hotel in regards to the level of service and personal attendance. We are sorry to have not lived...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

mid range hotel, rooms are clean but dated and almost every room has cigarette smell even on non smoking floors (mainly due to Chinese tourists who don't care and simply light up inside). service is slow, while the workers are polite and nice, they take a very long time to get anything done or answered which is quite annoying. location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean L
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Sean L., Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, Kota Kinabalu! Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback of your recent stay. On behalf of the entire team I would like to apologize that your experience was not all that it could have been. We try very hard to ensure guest comfort and appreciate valuable feedback...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

There are lots facilities inside the room, including big refrigerator, iron, hairdryer, and most important free wifi, convenient, the bed and shower is good, foods is delicious, . I like the interior design of that hotels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Azura
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Miss_Azura, Warm greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, Kota Kinabalu! I am delighted to know how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us and sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your experience. We are delighted to read that you are overall impressed with the quality of our hotel and services. We continue...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here twice in October/November. First time in a suite - spacious and fairly well appointed. Bed linen - acceptable - didn't smell the freshest, with some small holes in the linen. Breakfast - best avoided - not the highest of quality. Hotel bombarded by coach tours - large coach tours. Corridors are shabby and scuffed, can be noisy at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mcgmjp
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Mcgmjp, Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, Kota Kinabalu! First of all we would like to thank you for being a loyal patron of our hotel, it is indeed an honor to have serve you twice in a year. We, at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, Kota Kinabalu ensures that all valued guests received uninterrupted and impeccable service...

Miri, Malaysia
Reviewed 17 December 2016

This is one of the best hotel in KK. It is very close to airport. Rooms are very well maintained. Very good interior of the room. Staff is very good. Service is also prompt. Excellent place to stay in KK.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mukesh70
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Mukesh70, Warm greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, Kota Kinabalu! Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback. I am very happy that you had a great overall experience with us, finding our location to have been convenient for your needs and I am very proud to read that you have described our family members...

Shah Alam, Malaysia
Reviewed 14 December 2016

This hotel is superb. At least the bed size, ambiance and the pool. Yes, kids love the pool. The breakfast was nice but they cater towards Chinese and Japanese tourist so the taste-bud not to my liking but its not bad. The only complain is during breakfast especially around 6:30 to 7:00 am, there is no waiter to clean up....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobot2002
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear bobot2002, Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, Kota Kinabalu! I am delighted to know how much you enjoyed your recent holiday with us and sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your experience. We are delighted to read that you are overall impressed with the quality of our hotel facilities and services, especially the...

Medan
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Stayed at Ming Garden Residences for 3 night and for the hotel for 1 night. It locates at centre busy district of Kota Kinabalu. Easy to find and has great staff from front door, bell boy, front desk, lounge, and house keeping. Complete team that really friendly and willing to help. Tried the daily soup, garden salad, pizza, and fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 134evatan
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear 134evatan, It was a pleasure having you with us and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our facilities, as well as the services provided by our dedicated team members. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to...

Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Luggage delivery service was slow upon arrivals. So not to have it delayed upon check out i did it by myself (no issues for me carrying). Rude night duty manager - i stood infront of his counter facing him where i was the only guest at 0400am and he didnt even bothered to look at me. Anyways i was there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ali R
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Ali R, Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences. I was very disappointed to read that a valued guest has left our hotel describing their negative experiences, please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused in...

226 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (207)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.5 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
2.7 km away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 90 in Kota Kinabalu
1,121 reviews
1.0 km away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#16 of 90 in Kota Kinabalu
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 90 in Kota Kinabalu
579 reviews
1.7 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 90 in Kota Kinabalu
1,940 reviews
2.1 km away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#6 of 90 in Kota Kinabalu
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences welcomes you with warm Sabahan hospitality. Situated near the junction of several thoroughfares, our strategic location along the Coastal Highway allows fast access to Kota Kinabalu's central business, commercial and places of interest. Located within minutes from the airport, main bus terminal and jetty, this hotel is indeed the ideal choice of accommodation for business and leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Address: Lorong Ming | Jalan Costal, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $72 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ming Garden Hotel & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Ming Garden Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for 7th floor for direct access to the pool”
 of 5 bubbles bobot2002, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor to see the view surrounding hotel Check some website before book, different website has different promo (Traveloka, Agoda, etc)”
 of 5 bubbles 134evatan, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Premier experience highly recommended”
 of 5 bubbles 205ar, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Junior suite is a better size.”
 of 5 bubbles debwhatley, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the 10th floor, which is the club floor and it was worth the extra few dollars.”
 of 5 bubbles Richie1010, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay