We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royale Chulan Penang

Save
Share
No 1 & 2 Pengkalan Weld, George Town, Penang Island 10300 Malaysia
Lowest prices for your stay
USD 121
View deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (906)
360
Panoramas (33)
Room & Suite (597)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#24 of 129 hotels in George Town
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Royal Chulan Penang in Penang brings sparkle to the core zone of the UNESCO Heritage site in George Town. Travellers to Penang can look forward to staying at this new heritage property. Located at Weld Quay area, the Royale Chulan Penang is a blend of classic period charm with the very best in contemporary comforts. Close to commercial district area and the historic port which helped Penang to flourish in the 18th Century, Royale Chulan Penang is a great place to explore a city full of history and culture. Part of the hotel housed beautifully restored and lavishly refurbished building where it is within easy reach to all major historic sites along the Heritage Trail of Penang. Guests can experience the glamour, contemporary luxury and an uncompromising service. Complemented by the existing colonial architecture, the hotel brings you back in time. The hotel The Hotel offers a full range of luxury services and amenities, from tastefully appointed restaurants and generous meeting facilities.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Classic
Languages Spoken
Malay
1208Reviews35Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 508
  • 490
  • 138
  • 32
  • 40
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Andy Z wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
Arrival was welcomed by the staff. Staff very friendly. Room was good & tidy. Breakfast sent to the room during RMCO. Breakfast very tasty. Room service very punctual. Toiletries given was satisfied. Room cleaned. Room rate during RMCO fair & affordable compared other hotel in Georgetown.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Best hotel to stay in Georgetown Penang.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Royale Chulan Penang, Other at Royale Chulan Penang
Responded 22 Jul 2021
Dear Andy, Greetings to you from all of us at Royale Chulan Penang! Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We are honoured to have been able to make your stay here a pleasant one and appreciate all the nice remarks you have for our hotel and staff. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Royale Chulan Penang. Kind regards, Dennis Lee Resident Manager
Read more
Thee Mc wrote a review Mar 2021
2 contributions
All the while stay this hotel during business trip. Services is great and the value for money. But this round the room is lot dust. Even giving chance to do 1 round room service and did Change the room but also same.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Royale Chulan Penang, Other at Royale Chulan Penang
Responded 22 Mar 2021
Dear Thee, Greetings to you from all of us at Royale Chulan Penang! Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We have highlighted your comment to our Housekeeping team for their further attention. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Royale Chulan Penang. Kind regards, Dennis Lee Resident Manager
Read more
gavinxyz wrote a review Feb 2021
Penang Island, Malaysia463 contributions75 helpful votes
+1
Good to stay for a weekend during MCO period. Room is nice size. The view is city view and not really good view at 5th floor. Room is consider still new and well-kept. Bed is nice and comfortable. Below the power plugs at the writing desk, there is a line of wood decoration and it is block my Mac adaptor to use it and not able to plug in. I need to charge my Macbook at other power plug when the battery is low. I hope it can be more user friendly at the writing desk. There is food court, eating places and convenience shops in walking distance. However, night time is a bit quiet. Parking in multi storey car park and it is free for in-house guests. The food is not wow but not bad too. Restaurant staffs are polite and provide good and fast services. Only downside is the pool is closed during this period. When enquire over the email, the staff told us it is open. But, when check in, we were told it is closed. A bit disappointed over the inaccurate information provided as we were planning to spend some times in the pool for relaxing time on this staycation.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Royale Chulan Penang, Other at Royale Chulan Penang
Responded 4 Mar 2021
Dear Gavinxyz, Greetings to you from all of us at Royale Chulan Penang! Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We do apologise for the miscommunication regarding the operation of the Pool. During the Movement Control Order (MCO) period, as per the MKN SOP guidelines, we were unable to open the pool for the usage of our guests. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Royale Chulan Penang. Kind regards, Dennis Lee Resident Manager
Read more
Fiqri H wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
Staff are great & professional and especially Nurul, I did a late check out and she was very considerate in allowing us some flexibility to check out. Hotel room is nice, very spacious despite it being old, very well maintained!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Royale Chulan Penang, Other at Royale Chulan Penang
Responded 5 Jan 2021
Dear Fiqri H, Greetings to you from all of us at Royale Chulan Penang! Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We appreciate all the nice remarks you have for our hotel and staff. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Royale Chulan Penang. Kind regards, Dennis Lee Resident Manager
Read more
AliAzzam wrote a review Dec 2020
Shah Alam, Malaysia376 contributions276 helpful votes
I love the Royale Chulan brand name...(all of them). The appearances from the lobby till you walk in their rooms does not dampened your spirit. Their receptionist is highly trained to serve royalties ..meaning they're very professional. For those who insist that a Hotel must have a wall to wall carpet ,this is the Hotel you should be staying in. However this time around and especially for the one in Penang, I am a bit disappointed on these matters. Firstly I booked 3 rooms and end up 2 rooms does not have towels. What really hurt my feelings is that the housekeeping handed us with a pool towels. Mr Manager ,correct me if I am wrong...the blue and white stripe towels are meant for your pools...right ? And that's not all ,it smell really bad. Do not know whether it has been send to the laundry or not. Secondly, the breakfast is not up to par. No proper salad bar and salad only served in one very tiny bowl. You must be joking and call yourself Royale Chulan. So does the fruits...no proper fruits corners.. how humiliating. Other than that ,it just perfect, the room is clean with a very comfy bed and pillows...and shower and toilets arrangements is luxurious.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Royale Chulan Penang, Other at Royale Chulan Penang
Responded 5 Jan 2021
Dear AliAzzam, Greetings to you from all of us at Royale Chulan Penang! Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We are truly sorry to hear about your experience during your stay with us recently. Feedback given on our shortcomings are very important especially from our guests which can only help us to improve and do better when it comes to service. We have taken note on your comments about our breakfast presentation which was taken into consideration and we have further brought this matter up to our Sous Chef for his immediate attention. Your comments about the Housekeeping have also been seriously looked into. Please be rest assured that necessary steps have been take to ensure that such situations do not recur. We hope this bad experience will not mar your impression of Royale Chulan Penang as a whole. Thank you in advance once again for your kind understanding and I hope that the forthcoming visit will be more pleasant than anticipated. Kind regards, Dennis Lee Resident Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 40 - USD 82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Royale Bintang Penang
LOCATION
MalaysiaPenangPenang IslandGeorge Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
180
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royale Chulan Penang
Which popular attractions are close to Royale Chulan Penang?
Nearby attractions include Pinang Peranakan Mansion (0.3 km), Wonderfood Museum Penang (0.3 km), and Penang 3D Trick Art Museum (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Royale Chulan Penang?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Royale Chulan Penang?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Royale Chulan Penang?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Royale Chulan Penang?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royale Chulan Penang?
Conveniently located restaurants include Two Frenchies Cafe Bistrot, Bistro Tang, and Kota Dine & Coffee.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royale Chulan Penang?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royale Chulan Penang?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Royale Chulan Penang offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Royale Chulan Penang?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Armenian Street (0.8 km), George Town (0.7 km), and Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion (1.1 km).
Is Royale Chulan Penang accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.