We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,001: English reviews
Central Melaka District, Malaysia
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Comfortable refurbished deluxe room but let down by old wornout smelly towels...should be replaced to maintain image...xtra towel(1) cost rm2...overall good location n view...friendly front desk n would come again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank myrfnd
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear myrfnd, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you for your review and for complementing on our newly refreshed Deluxe room, the nice view & great location. I will look into your feedback on the towels and get my housekeeping to double check on all our bath towels. Thank you. Kind regards Lawrence Perera Hotel Manager

Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Everything is Good, except check-in Time 3pm too late. Normally hotel is 2pm but Bayview set to 3pm. Hotel should speed up cleaning process and NOT ask customer to wait. I register at 1.50pm and had to wait at Hotel Kopitiam till 3pm, and nobody call to collect the key even staff already commit will call once room is ready.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T_HK88
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear T_HK88, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. I have taken note of your comments and we honestly do try our level best to release rooms as fast as we can. The cleaning process does takes time as we have to ensure that everything is in order to maintain a set standard. I agree with you that my staff should...

Ampang
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Distance from airport: The hotel is approx 30-40 minutes from the airport. Location: Near the central area Food joints are just 1 block away from the hotel i.e. 5 minutes walk Maybank is just next door Taxi can be arranged at concierge or at the taxi stand just opposite the hotel Facilities: Gym, swimming pool, massage centre, tailor shop Room:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nazzerooney
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear nazzerooney, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you very much for your in depth and positive review of the hotel. I am glad that everything went well with your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Lawrence Perera Hotel Manager

Selangor, Malaysia
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stay in superior room for two nights. We request for king size bedroom but the reception said all superior room only have two single bed. I doubt about it as I notice that only standard room is smoking and single bed. Hence I book superior that have king size bed and non smoking room. So, I question that and pointed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tan K
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Tan K, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Please accept my apologies for the poor service rendered during check-in. I would sincerely appreciate it if you could message me your room number so that I can further investigate and re-training be provided to the staff concern. For your further information, all our Deluxe room and above categories have already...

Singapore
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Good location, walking distance to the old colonial center of Georgetown and lots of restaurants close by. Rooms are a bit dated, most noticeable the bathroom needs a serious upgrade. Swimming pool and rooftop bar are nice add ons, as well as the free wifi. Breakfast had a good variety. On the flipside, the staff wasn't overly friendly. Needed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StevenB81
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear StevenB81, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us and for endorsing on our good location right in the heart of Heritage Georgetown, the many attractions and food. We are in the midst of refreshing all our Standard & Superior rooms and I am sure that once this exercise is...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. I requested for a high floor non smoking room and I got exactly that. Service is very good. Although the building is old the maintenance is also good. So no complaints about that. The breakfast menu is very limited with not much edible items (to my taste). Overall I am happy with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank From_Melbourne_2014
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear From_Melbourne_2014, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you for your nice review and I am glad that your request was well met and that you had a good experience staying with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Lawrence Perera Hotel Manager

Chiang Mai
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The staff at the hotel were very helpful and attentive. The rooms were clean and smart with a good view. In the room we had free WiFi that worked perfectly for the duration of our stay. The breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of food including, European, Malaysian, Indian and Chinese. The pool area however is a bit dated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank devasurfer
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear devasurfer, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you very much for your lovely review and for giving us a 5/5 score. I am glad that you had a wonderful experience in our newly refreshed clean rooms with good Wi-Fi, It also good to note that you had enjoyed our buffet breakfast served daily. I have taken note of...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed on the older part of the building, room was big but unfortunately a number of let downs, the carpet and colour scheme looked dated. The TV reception was poor, good sea view, and a view of the pool below. Right behind is the bar street, but weekdays its quite quiet. Which is good for this hotel as its location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kwok C
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear kwokieuk, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. I regret that you had a "poor" experience staying with us recently. I have taken note of your comments and all the issues that you have raised will be addressed in our room refreshment program that is being progressively done and I am sure that once this exercise is completed, you will...

Worcester UK
Reviewed 6 March 2014

big hotel at a good rate from agoda. room was spacious and a good view to the sea (except the building works across the road). up on the 8th floor so quiet and comfortable. our room felt in need of refurbishment and the bathroom needed a good clean - expected better after the impression from the reception area. did not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank berni109
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear berni109, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay with us and for endorsing our our spacious, quiet room with a good view to the sea and for our excellent location. We are in the midst of "upgrading" our rooms progressively and I am sure that you...

Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

When we booked bayview we did tons of research. We expected the hotel room to be nice w. Decent sheets and decor. The bedding was poorest quality paper thin The room smelled horrible when entering. Ok we went to Penang for the food and that part was sweet. But after a few hrs of walking in the heat and humidity...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Daniel M, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Please allow me to apologize for the poor experience that you had encountered during your stay with us. I am not sure of the room category that you had booked ranging from the Standard right to our Premier Grand Deluxe. I am surprised on your comments on the bedsheet as we...

928 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (503)
Viewed
Room/Suite (96)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (85)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
View from Room (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (158)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (415)
Viewed
Amenities (63)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (40)
Viewed
Family Room (49)
Viewed
Grand Deluxe Room (40)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
Superior Room (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
1.4 km away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.4 km away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#20 of 82 in George Town
1,028 reviews
1.0 km away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 82 in George Town
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 82 in George Town
996 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
10.3 km away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An award winning hotel for business or leisure. Hotel accommodation, food & beverage services, meeting facilities, banquet function. BAYVIEW HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG actively pursues opportunities to provide customer with creative, flexible and value-added promotions which meet your evolving needs in today's travel budget. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Address: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 25A Lebuh Farquhar, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Price Range: $56 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in George Town
#11 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you tell the hotel if you want a smoking or non smoking room”
 of 5 bubbles 490marke, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Either rooms with a sea view or City Heritage View.12th Floor and above gives a good view.”
 of 5 bubbles barryw857, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Perfectly happy with floor five hill view.”
 of 5 bubbles GeoffS612, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“groups of 4 can choose connecting rooms, so as to not be affected by others.”
 of 5 bubbles SweeChing, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the front”
 of 5 bubbles hopkinstownboy, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5