We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Royal Penang

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Royal Penang
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

514 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 436: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Royal Penang
 Click to rate
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While in retrospect we wish we would've stayed closer to the water, we did appreciate the location of Royal Penang - near food options, a grocery store, and a buses. The hotel itself was dated - not super clean, ash trays in our "non-smoking" room, etc, but certainly not bad enough to cause us to leave (we stayed our full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 13shannon
HotelRoyalPen, Manager at Hotel Royal Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First and foremost, we are pleased to note that you have chosen to stay with us at Hotel Royal Penang during your recent trip to Penang in March 2017. We have taken note of your compliments and comments pertaining to our product quality and services rendered by our staffs, and wish to assure you that our top priority...

cha-am, thailand
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Everything was old, dreary and dirty, very disappointing Staff not pleasant Should not even have 2 stars Way overated, price wise Very depressing hotel, for a 9 year old hotel it is shameful Definitely not recommended

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joelle c
HotelRoyalPen, Manager at Hotel Royal Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First and foremost, thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Royal Penang during your recent trip to Penang. We regret to note that you have had an unpleasant stay with us. We have taken note of your comments pertaining to our product quality and services rendered by our staffs, and assure you that we will...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 13 March 2017

My title said it - short and simple. We did not utilise much on the facilities provided but I can summarize that our weekend-stay was just what we needed. Location was great (close to town) and it is good that you have your own vehicle so you can be mobile to go to the other places of interest in Penang....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zati_dy
HotelRoyalPen, Manager at Hotel Royal Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First and foremost, thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Royal Penang during your recent trip to Penang in March 2017. We have taken note of the points highlighted by you pertaining to our product quality and services rendered by our staffs, and wish to assure you that our top priority is to accord the...

United States
Reviewed 6 March 2017

As i write this the morning of my departure i'm actually sad to leave. I stayed almost two weeks and I cannot stress enough how wonderful the staff was. EVERYBODY at the hotel was super nice. Especially the manager Zahari. The Buffet breakfast has a wide range of great food, 5 different breads, 5 different cereals, Eggs made to your...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thetraveler731
HotelRoyalPen, Manager at Hotel Royal Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are most pleased to note that you have had a wonderful stay with us at the Hotel Royal Penang during your recent trip to Penang. We have taken note of your compliments and comments pertaining to our product quality and services rendered by our staffs, and assure you that one of our main priorities is to ensure...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Basic clean hotel but that's all about the good things. I spent time at the pool with my boyfriend and caught two staff members filming me in bikinis through the darkened gym window. As I was very unhappy with the situation I left a feedback to the receptionist where I told them that I am thinking of writing to Trip...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liidialaa
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

I when for dinner at the spice and was terrible experience in the f & b industry in my 20years. The main couse takes almost one hours and the salmon was not cook at all is raw and the lamb so so, disappointment at the and.........

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mahendran M
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We stayed for two nights.The staff was very friendly and helpful.there is no lift to the basement garage,so you have to walk the 2 flights of stairs.We had a nice evening meal in the restaurant and a glas of wine that was affordeble.The breakfast was totaly Oriental orientatet.Direct next to the hotel is a supermarket that is exceseble from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wouter V
HotelRoyalPen, Manager at Hotel Royal Penang, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Firstly, thank you for your compliments and comments on the quality of our products and services. We assure you that we have taken note of all the points highlighted and areas to be improved, in order to provide the best services and comfort to all our valued guests. Should you plan another trip to Penang in the near...

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

We had to book this as a last minute stay because our preferred hotel dropped out. It wasn't a disappointment. It has an excellent location next to Nagore Square which is well worth exploring in its own right and it's only a 5min drive to Gurney Drive or the centre of Georgetown. The staff, as stated in the title, were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
HotelRoyalPen, Manager at Hotel Royal Penang, responded to this review

Dear Madam, First and foremost, thank you for your compliments and comments on our product quality and services rendered by our staffs. We have taken note of your constructive feedback on our dated products and we wish to inform you that the hotel is currently undergoing some refurbishment in its rooms on a staggered basis, in order to provide the...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Everything previous reviews have said about how dated and tired this hotel is is true. The entire property is in dire need of a makeover and refresh.. not just a renovation but a full gut and refurb. The pros however are the friendly and obliging staff and the excellent service. Room service is particularly fast and friendly as is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lgerc1
HotelRoyalPen, Manager at Hotel Royal Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly, thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Penang during your last trip to Penang. Just a brief, the hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment of its rooms on staggered basis. This is to ensure that we provide only the best comfort to all our valued guests at all times. Should you have plans to visit...

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 2 January 2017

The hotel is in desperate need of renovation and clean-up: the wallpaper in the halls and paint in the bathrooms is peeling off, the carpeting in the rooms is all wrinkled, and to top it off, we saw a couple of huge (luckily dead) cockroaches on the floor in the hall. Location is not bad, and you can walk into...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelGal_Munich
HotelRoyalPen, Manager at Hotel Royal Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly, thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Penang during your last trip to Penang, but we regret that your stay with us was somewhat an unpleasant one. Rest assured that we have taken note of all your constructive comments pertaining to our product quality and corrective measures have been initiated to rectify those problems immediately....

282 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (262)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
1.2 km away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.2 km away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#23 of 84 in George Town
1,011 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Sentral Georgetown
Hotel Sentral Georgetown
#37 of 84 in George Town
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#21 of 84 in George Town
788 reviews
0.7 km away
Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang
Deluxcious Heritage Hotel Penang
#47 of 84 in George Town
35 reviews
1.1 km away
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Royal Penang is a 4-star hotel, strategically located in the historical enclave of Georgetown and within minutes away from the financial district and other prominent locations. The Hotel is also encased with a diversity of contemporary and culture attractions allowing guests to explore Penang’s rich historic sights which make Penang a UNESCO World Heritage site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Penang

Address: No. 3 Jalan Larut, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Price Range: $44 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Royal Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Penang George Town
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Royal Penang staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Royal Penang staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“be extra specific if you are looking for a non-smoking room”
13shannon, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our hotel room overlooked the city and we could also see the coast.”
zati_dy, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The laundry is expensive, you can find one down the road.”
thetraveler731, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“good to have high floor and you will have a sea view”
Transformer16, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“harbour view is possible”
vanessakoh, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5