We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,039: English reviews
Start your review of Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
 Click to rate
Sidoarjo, Indonesia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

3rd time i stayed here.. but now i'm slightly dissapointed.. our Pillows have yellow colour, bed sheet has red mark (menstruation mark maybe), too much ants and we feel itchy every single nights. The positive points are Very Friendly Hotel Staffs and very Responsive with our request. The Hotel location is perfect : Hawker Food around, near main attraction of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JimmyZeng
WahEngHong, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear JimmyZeng, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. Regrettably, our standards for your recent stay fell short of your expectations. Please be assured that we will engage our housekeeping to remind and re-train them on our service and housekeeping standards. We take a serious view of these service lapses and corrective...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I understand it's a budget hotel. However it could improve with age of furniture and also the cleanliness and lighting at the lobby and all walking areas. Furniture in my room was either almost broken or just hanging in there. It should already be replaced before it became a hazard. Also the safe box in my room is not working....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malvin808
WahEngHong, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Malvin808, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to provide valuable feedback. I must apologize for the shortfalls you encountered during your stay with us and I offer no excuses by my utmost sincere apologies for the inconvenience and frustrations. Rest assured that I am personally addressing these matters with my team to...

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed on two separate occasions within the last while. Both times the staff on reception have been extremely helpful and friendly. Price: excellent Shower: excellent Location: great (über so cheep to get around) Improvements: wifi weak and slow, our last room 329 was damp which we mention to the lady on check out, who said they would look...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatherineTravellingG
WahEngHong, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear KatherineTravellingG, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us again. It’s a delight to know that the location and team left a positive imprint on you. Your comments have been shared with the teams and I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement as we strive to continuously improve our quality of our services. I...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have chosen to stay a slight better room with window as I'm afraid of suffocation. Unfortunately, there was some cigarette smell when I first come in. (now I know what the windows are for) I can hear the water heater, the dogs barking at the street, the vehicles.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
WahEngHong, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Dave L, We strive to provide a warm and comfortable experience for all our guests and it is regretful to hear of the unpleasant experiences that you have encountered. Please allow me to assure you that your feedback has been taken very seriously and we are reviewing all the areas that you have highlighted. It is our sincere hope...

Klang
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Parking- in website mentioned provided (But in actual, very limited to less than 10, once full, you need to park next door which quite costly). Highly not recommended if you drive Staff- Attended by an intern, quite rude in assisting customer request Room- Expected to be basic since is budget. But ceiling is dusty, bed sheets look yellowish, aircond is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sylvestersw_89
WahEngHong, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear sylvestersw_89, Thank you for the time you have taken to share your feedback. We regret to note the issues you encountered with us and would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. The shortfalls mentioned in your review are of great concern to us. We will follow through on the areas of concern and corrective measures will be...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As a local chain hotel, mother company Air Asia among the best in the world, the service during check in i would say was disappointing. No smile from staf even got 3 of them and to many unnecessary questions asked even its already 12 midnite. Once entered the room, the keycard was unable to activate the electric supply in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sliceofhate
WahEngHong, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear sliceofhate, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are regret to hear that your recent stay did not meet your expectation and we would like to express our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. It is glad to receive such constructive feedback from you which it will be brought up as concerns...

Phuket, Thailand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was impressed by very friendly staffs; Putasnen & Hamdee. When I asked to borrow two adapters for two rooms, Putasnen were willing to lend me his personal adapter. The check-in process went very quickly and efficiently. They were also very helpful providing information. Thank you very much to taking care of my stay. The room is cozy, clean though...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yuisie
WahEngHong, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Yuisie, It is wonderful to receive your review! We are excited to learn that our colleagues Putasnen & Hamdee has made your experience a great one. Please be assured that your kind words will be shared with the team and they be recognized with the compliments as well. We are delighted you found our room is cozy and clean....

Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

But the staff is so warm and helpful you would overlook everything else. Room comes with fan and air conditioning option. While we were there, there seem to have a problem with water which was probably why the air conditioner doesn't work that well. But there was no disruption in water supply. Despite the size, room was clean to satisfactory....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angel O
WahEngHong, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Angel O, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us. We are delighted you found our room is clean and staffs are warm and helpful. Your comments related to the air conditioner been shared with the relevant Departmental for their necessary action. We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused. Meanwhile, we will all...

Reviewed 23 February 2017

I have been here twice.This time We got a bigger room, bigger bed with a big window.The room was quite small but it was worth the price. เคยไปพักสองครั้ง ครั้งนี้ได้ห้องใหญ่กว่า มีหน้าต่างด้วย สะอาด คุ้มกับราคาที่จ่ายไป แต่ตอนไปครั้งแรกเมื่อปี2012 ได้ห้องเล็กที่ไม่มีหน้าต่าง พออยู่ได้ แต่รู้สึกอึดอัดนิดนึง

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suwajee M
WahEngHong, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Suwajee M, Thank you for your kind feedback and repeated patronage to our hotel. I am very happy to know that you had a pleasant experience during your stay at the hotel Thank you once again for taking the time to share with us your feedback. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Best Regards, Wah Eng Hong...

Reviewed 15 February 2017

Unless you are on a shoe string budget. Please don't waste your time in this hotel! This hotel is not suitable for families! The rooms are EXTREMELY small. This so called Tune hotel requires ALOT of tuning. We stayed in a queen size bed room. The room is VERY SMALL. Just a queen bed, barely have enough rooms for our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael D
WahEngHong, Manager at Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Michael D, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience with us. Do rest assured that your feedback have been looked into and addressed with our team for future improvements. Nonetheless, we appreciate your feedback. We very much hope to have the chance to...

640 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (489)
Viewed
Room/Suite (119)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (245)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (142)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Double Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Single Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 km away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#28 of 84 in George Town
214 reviews
0.4 km away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#30 of 84 in George Town
349 reviews
0.9 km away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#33 of 84 in George Town
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ink Hotel
Ink Hotel
#43 of 84 in George Town
68 reviews
1.0 km away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 84 in George Town
533 reviews
0.7 km away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#34 of 84 in George Town
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Staying true to our unique no frills concept, we provide you a good night's sleep at outstanding value. Our hotels come with high quality beds, power showers, 24-hour security system, and are conveniently located near transportation hubs and popular local attractions. Unnecessary costs are kept at bay by eliminating facilities that you might not need such as swimming pools, gyms, spa rooms etc. Stay within walking distance to the famous dining places of George Town like the famous Lorong Selamat Char Koay Teow. Penang's most famous beach, Batu Ferringhi, is half an hour's drive away from our hotel. The famous hawker centre along Gurney Drive is a must try, and so is the New World Park located right next door to us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang

Address: 100 Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Price Range: $25 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 405, 408 has city view”
Yuisie, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room with a window is better. สอบถามห้องที่มีหน้าต่างดีกว่าค่ะ”
suwajeem, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do your homework and go somewhere else”
DurbanCurry, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Maybe pick the 8th floor. The room I slept in faces Komtar”
  • Sunrise view
Wolver1nc, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“just look for other better hotel”
Fird4us_Zakaria, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5