We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

656 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 603: English reviews
London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We got to to Banjaran nearly 2pm. We felt grimy and wanted to change into lighter clothing and go out for lunch. However they can't give us our rooms as check in is 3pm. Instead we had to change in the spa. Whilst that's fine, I can't believe and am disappointed with the 3pm rule. It's outrageous. Whilst it's nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PrimroseHill219
Raymond-KIpoh, Director of Operations at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review

Dear PromroseHill219, Salam Sejahtera and thank you for your feed back. We are sorry that you had to wait for your villas for check in before 3pm, due to the back to back situation that we had on your arrival day, nevertheless we are glad that we had sorted out when we met up with you before you departed. We...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff gave a warmth welcome and friendly. Villa was clean and comfortable. Crystal cave was a pleasant peaceful place to do meditation. Hotsprings facilities was great. Jeff's Cellar done a superb quality food and it was a wonderful fine dining experience.The fish spa is very clean even with in nature surrounding. It's a really excellent place to relax peacefully, to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lurvly
Raymond-KIpoh, Director of Operations at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Lurvly, Salam Sejahtera and thank you for your review in our Tripadvisor page. We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay in our villa, our facilities and restaurant. We will be looking forward to serving you again in the near future. Thank you and Best Regards, Raymond Koh Director of Operations

Flic En Flac
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I just stayed 2 Nights at this amazing resort with my wife, and were very much surprised by the gorgeous nature surrounding the resort but most importantly how they built their resort to be so integrated into the decor. Staff is very helpful and complex provides free VIP shuttle to the Lost World Theme park just next to it. A...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank shaneramnarain
Raymond-KIpoh, Director of Operations at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review

Dear shaneramnarain, Salam Sejahtera and thank you for sharing your review with us. We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay, our services provided by our team, the facilities and the dining experience in Jeff's Cellar. We will be looking forward for your return in the near future. Thank you and Best Regards, Raymond Koh Director of Operations

Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewed 13 February 2017

The building of a resort around the hot spring is a spark of genius. It's a very classy combination of nature and concrete. The whole experience with the staff was also amazing. Right from when we arrived to check out. We were taken on a tour of all the activities. There are a few places to check out but you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Azkaban10000
Raymond-KIpoh, Director of Operations at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Azkaban10000, Salam Sejahtera and thank you for sharing your review with us. It is a pleasure to have you here, we are glad to hear about your pleasant stay and will pass down your compliments to Roy. We will be looking forward to welcome you back to our Retreat soon. Thank you and Best Regards, Raymond Koh Director of...

Simsbury, Connecticut
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Banjaran is so beautiful and tranquil with stunning scenery around it. It is definitely a wonderful destination for relaxation and retreat. We enjoyed the natural hot spring, the steam cave, the beautiful grounds. The staffs were very helpful. We had our best meal inside the cave at the Jeff Cellar. It was so beautiful and romantic. Our garden villa was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hellokitty987456
Raymond-KIpoh, Director of Operations at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review

Dear hellokitty987456, Salam Sejahtera and thank you for your review in our Tripadvisor page. We are glad that you had a pleasant relaxing stay.On the other note, we are sorry to hear about the mosquitoes comment , however since we are based in a natural surroundings , we are only able to minimise the issue even with preventive measures in...

Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

I heard and read mix reviews about Banjaran but most were very positive. During the Chinese new year holidays I decided to take a short trip to Ipoh so I thought I should experience this resort on my own. When I arrived at the entrance, access was restricted to staying guest as they checked and matched your identification before opening...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jerome H
Raymond-KIpoh, Director of Operations at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Jerome H, Salam Sejahtera and thank you for your review in our Tripadvisor page. We are glad to hear that you had been taken good care by our Team and you have the pleasure to meet our General Manager, Mr Alex. We will be looking forward to welcome you back to our Retreat in the near future. Thank you...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 4 February 2017

We arrived to a very pleasant greeting, refreshing drink and cold towel to perk our spirits. Striking the gong to provide good luck certainly paid off for the next 24 hours.Service was impeccable, the villa was fabulous and the grounds are beautiful and serene. Dinner in the cave was an even more awesome experience. The food & service were excellent,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank grleduc
Raymond-KIpoh, Director of Operations at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review

Dear grleduc, Salam Sejahtera and thank you for your review in our Tripadvisor page. We are glad that you had a great stay with us and we will be looking forward to welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards, Raymond Koh Director of Operations

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

I booked for a 2 nights stay with a close friend n mum, but extend another night as noticed it was too short for us to explore all Caves n facilities...Jeff's Cave & Meditation Cave are so beautiful & special, the Dr fish pond is fun and interesting too, the Spa treatment was extra ordinary ...despite the expensive bill, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia L
Raymond-KIpoh, Director of Operations at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Sylvia L, Salam Sejahtera and thank you for your review in our Tripadvisor page. We are glad to hear about your wonderful stay and we look forward to seeing you again. Best Regards, Raymond Koh Director of Operations

Reviewed 2 February 2017

For those seeking a quiet and refreshing sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle of a hectic lifestyle, ‘The Banjaran’ would be the answer! A spectacular ‘haven’ tucked away in the midst of serene green landscape, natural hot dipping pots and sauna would restore the many stresses one encounters in our hurly-burly lifestyles. Block your calendars and visit this splendid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manogari R
Raymond-KIpoh, Director of Operations at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Manogari R, Salam Sejahtera and thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear about your memorable great stay and it is a pleasure to have you. We look forward to serving you again. Thank you and Best Regards, Raymond Koh Director of Operations

Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Great stay, even if for a night. The service was spectacular, they went above and beyond with minimal intrusion. Wasnt expecting them to ask us whether there's anything we wanted to change (towels, etc.) but that made us feel surprised with delight. The view is amazing, go check out "The Balcony", the hot springs were nice, the caves a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YJ T
Raymond-KIpoh, Director of Operations at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review

Dear YJ T, Salam Sejahtera and thank you for choosing to stay in our Retreat. It is our pleasure to serve you and glad to hear that you had a great stay. We look forward to serving you again. Thank you and Best Regards, Raymond Koh Director of Operations

1,416 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1010)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (132)
Viewed
Dining (65)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (211)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (493)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (367)
Viewed
Amenities (66)
Viewed
Garden Villa (79)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (74)
Viewed
Water Villa (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.9 km away
The Haven Resort Hotel, Ipoh – All Suites
8.9 km away
Ipoh French Hotel
Ipoh French Hotel
#3 of 60 in Ipoh
576 reviews
0.7 km away
Lost World Hotel
Lost World Hotel
#15 of 60 in Ipoh
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh
13.2 km away
M Boutique Station 18
8.3 km away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#6 of 60 in Ipoh
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Pomelo - The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat
The Pomelo - The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat
Cuisines: Malaysian, International, Asian, Healthy
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat is an integrated luxury wellness and spa retreat in Ipoh. The 5-star retreat is situated on a 16.19 Acre valley nestled within a cluster of towering limestone hills and features a combination of natural caves, pristine jungle, waterfalls and geothermal hot springs. It is a self-contained sanctuary consisting of 25 luxury villas offering holistic wellness and spa experiences inspired by authentic Malaysian practices. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat

Address: 1 Persiaran Lagun Sunway 3 | Sunway City Ipoh, Ipoh 31150, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Price Range: $407 - $704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat Hotel Ipoh
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ipoh
#1 Spa Hotel in Ipoh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the Garden Villa over the Water Villa for the following reasons: bigger room, bigger pool, an outdoor jacuzzi, and more privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles nadiamasood, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“should not be next to the construction site.”
 of 5 bubbles reshveenb, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Both the Garden Villas and the Water Villas are equally beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles nivatc, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There's water stations around the resort, this is very conveniently placed near the Steam and Crystal caves.”
 of 5 bubbles gowria858, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Fine dining experience in Jeff's Cellar is a must!”
 of 5 bubbles Lurvly, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5