We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thistle Johor Bahru

Traveller (1215)
Room & Suite (823)
Dining (142)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Thistle Johor Bahru has 381 well-appointed rooms and suites with breath taking view of the Straits of Johor or the city’s skyline. This splendid property is strategically located within easy access to the city’s business hub, commercial centres and shopping sensations. The Senai and Changi International Airport is about 40-minute and 90-minute drive away respectively. Johor Premium Outlets and theme parks are about 40-minute drive away. Appetizing eats are featured from alluring ala carte specials, sumptuous dinner and hi-tea buffets to indulging in a romantic candlelight dinner with someone special. The Hotel's ballroom can cater for up to 1,000 guests in theatre-style seating and 600 guests for sit-down dinner including weddings. Guests’ facilities include complimentary WIFI, an outdoor pool with relaxing garden view, Executive Lounge, valet, laundry & dry-cleaning service, gym and pre-scheduled shuttle to selective shopping centres.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room Service
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free Parking
Restaurant
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wheelchair Access
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Shuttle Bus Service
Spa
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Hot Tub
Tennis Court
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Outdoor pool
Show more
Room features
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Smoking rooms available
Accessible rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Safe
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
1,487Reviews
1,873Photos
51Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 358
  • 530
  • 373
  • 127
  • 99
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
When we step in the lobby, there was a kind of smell that lingers, i guess probably because the hotel is old, for the price and and the room size was ok however the furniture in the room is old, many are chipped such as the bathtub, basin and the window near the bathtub couldn't
Read more
Response from JIvanChin, General Manager at Thistle Johor Bahru
Responded 2 days ago
Dear guest, Thank you for your recent stay with us. We regret to learn of the shortfalls that you have experienced and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused. Meanwhile, we will continue to improve on our services to meet guest’s expectations and we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Please keep in contact with us should you require any further assistance. Kind regards.
Read more
Awesome and warm services especially from the Manager on duty i.e. En Khairul. For info, the stay to Thistle JB is our twice a year event as we really love the location and the hospitality of the manager and the staff. We may suggest for a little upgrade of the room and facilitie
Read more
Response from JIvanChin, General Manager at Thistle Johor Bahru
Responded 3 days ago
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing us as your preferred hotel and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. Your positive comments are much appreciated and we will continue to improve on certain areas to meet guest’s expectations. Meanwhile, we shall look forward to welcome you back soon. Kind regards - Ivan Chin, General Manager
Read more
The bed and room was comfortable and the location was good. However, there were a few aspects of our stay which were disappointing.

- When we inquired about the turn down service, the front desk staff called the housekeeping department to confirm that such service was offered b
Read more
Response from JIvanChin, General Manager at Thistle Johor Bahru
Responded 3 days ago
Dear guest, Thank you for your recent stay with us. We regret to learn of your disappointment and will continue to improve on our services to meet guest’s expectations. It is always our highest priority to ensure that our guests leave the hotel happy and satisfied at all times. Once again, I do sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Kind regards.
Read more
The hotel itself is amazing but there’s slight hiccup with our room which we booked via Agoda. The front desk who attended to us is Syam. He is very professional & great service! Firstly the hotel lobby is amazing! You can see the pool directly from the lobby and reception counte
Read more
Response from JIvanChin, General Manager at Thistle Johor Bahru
Responded 3 days ago
Dear guest, Thank you so much for this great 5-star review. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we sincerely appreciate you helping to share positive feedback with fellow travellers. Meanwhile, we will continue to improve on certain areas to meet guest’s expectations and we shall look forward to welcome you back soon. Kind regards.
Read more
Mr Syam, what happen with the turndown service? Hmmm...
Strange procedure, we had back to back reservations, front desk still need asking us to coming back to register, what kind processor it's this? Such inconvenience and not knowledgeable at all.
Read more
Response from JIvanChin, General Manager at Thistle Johor Bahru
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest, Thank you for your recent stay with us. We regret to learn of the shortfalls that you have experienced and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused. Meanwhile, we will continue to improve on our services to meet guest’s expectations and we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Please keep in contact with us should you require any further assistance. Kind regards.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Room 1615
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThistle Johor Bahru
The King Apartment with Terrace at the Thistle Johor Bahru
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThistle Johor Bahru
The King Apartment at the Thistle Johor Bahru
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThistle Johor Bahru
The Executive Straits View King Room at the Thistle Johor Bahru
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThistle Johor Bahru
The Executive City View King Room at the Thistle Johor Bahru
Previous
Does this hotel serves 'sahur' & 'iftar' for hotel guests in the month of Ramadhan?
Most of the hotel serves Sahur & iftar should they have room service or f&b outlets Yes they do serve it.daily
1 vote
Show all answers
Hello, does anyone know which rooms has a bathtub included?
Rooms here mostly have bathtubs.
0 votes
Show all answers
How far is legoland and premium outlets from the hotel. Pls share shuttle service schedule if provided to hotel guests to and from both places.
All within half an hour
2 votes
Could this hotel keep our luggages in advance in the morning before we check in? Is there any Pasar Malam (Night Food Market) in walking distance around this this hotel?
The Nearest Pasar Malam is in Nong Chik, about 2km from the hotel (every Saturday)
0 votes
How much is the extra bed for the third person including breakfast buffet?
Previous
"Go for higher floor to enjoy the seaview."
"Great Rooms and awesome executive Lounge"
"Avoid this hotel altogether, you'll thank me later"
"higher floors offer better views and corner room is larger with a large shower stall but does not have a bathtub"
"Pay more for Sea View, if your pockets allow.."
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 47 - USD 98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
thistle johor bahru hotel johor bahru
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hyatt Regency
LOCATION
MalaysiaJohorJohor Bahru DistrictJohor Bahru
NUMBER OF ROOMS
381
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing