We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sunbird Livingstonia Beach

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Sunbird Livingstonia Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sunbird Livingstonia Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 99: English reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Only in Africa one could be treated to a pleasurable Beach resort experience at a Lake shore, and the mighty LAKE MALAWI is no expception! This property is an attestation to that. It boasts a sandy beach, pleasant waves and a cozy cove bookended by greenery patched rocky hills. Thanks to the location you can never escape from stunning views...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prasanna V
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Dear Prasanna, Thank you for your wonderful and detailed review of Sunbird Livingstonia Beach!! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your liking. We have taken note of the issues you have mentioned in your review and will take steps to making changes so that you have a better experience the...

Kenya
Reviewed 28 August 2016

The position on the hotel on the beach of Lake Malawi is superb, lovely grounds and very good food. It's an old hotel and the rooms are tired and in need of a revamp but the staff are very friendly and competent and the situation when the stars are out and the waves are lapping on the beach makes up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Dear Andy, Thank you for your review, and for the feedback. We greatly appreciate the time that you have taken to review us. Kind regards.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Very nice rooms on the beach of Lake Malawi. Breakfast is very good. Location is easy from Zambia and Lilongwe. Staff are very pleasant and helpful. Beautiful pool and pub area overlooking the lake. The lake water is clear and beautiful and it is close enough to the local village to experience the local environment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny i
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Dear Jenny, Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, and we hope that you visit us again very soon to enjoy the beach and the warmth of the people. Kind regards.

Lilongwe
Reviewed 8 June 2016

This is a lovely hotel with a spectacular view of Lake Malawi. Great for a holiday, nice beach, good swimming pool and an average gym. Staff are quite courteous and professional. You will get value for your money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamesoW1628HO
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Dear James, Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Sunbird Livingstonia Beach. We really appreciate your feedback, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come again soon!!! Kind regards.

India
Reviewed 19 April 2016

We stayed at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach for almost a week in early April. It is a most wonderful hotel. Lovely service, the rooms overlooking the Lake Malawi are amazing. The beach is clean and well maintained. The entire hotel staff looked after us very well. The room I had was spacious - bigger than some NYC apartments! Really. I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LRa0
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relation at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review of Sunbird Livingstonia Beach. It brings us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we do hope that we are fortunate enough to have you come back to Salima and stay with us. We are looking at solutions to the ant problem that we are having, and...

Tacoma, Washington
Reviewed 10 March 2016

Not much has changed in 20 years (the last time I stayed here), which is good and bad. The good is that the charm is still there. It's in a beautiful location and the staff really go above and beyond when it comes to friendliness (speed is another thing, but friendliness is top notch). The hotel pool is just steps...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Melssel
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit (including the food and the service), despite the mishap during check in. We sincerely apologize for this, and we are glad it didn't put a dent in your stay. We are in the process of switching internet service providers, and as a result, we are facing...

Dehradun, India
Reviewed 24 February 2016

We went for lunch at this place. The view is amazing. They have their own private beach. Really amazing ambience. Food - not so much. The staff said there was no electricity, so if we order food it would take more than an hour. Our only option was the overpriced buffet. For vegetarians, there werent many options, and the price...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PradWestside
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our deepest apologies in regards to the food. We hope that you have a better experience should you visit us again. Your feedback is much appreciated, and we hope you come back to enjoy the views and the lake.

Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

I heard this would be the best and most exclusive hotel in Malawi. And it probably is. Good value for money, although the hotel is old and the rooms are basic but spacious and clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good food and nice swimming pool. Right next on the beach with a stunning view. Small gym facilities.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karin K
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you come again soon.

Narre Warren, Australia
Reviewed 3 February 2016

We finally arrived here after staying in a couple of other not-so-nice places. I was tired of living with heat, no power, terrible quality food and dirty bathrooms (which is what we found in many other places where we had stayed). Finally........something better. Excellent, even! Everything about the place tells you it's nice. The clean uniforms of all the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mishelle P
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We are glad you were satisfied with the service you got and that you were happy with the environment and staff. We strive to serve you better, and we are very happy that you had a good time while you stayed with us (we hope your children enjoyed it as much as you did...

Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 17 November 2015

We only spent a very short time here, but I felt like I was transported to another world. The beach was clean and I enjoyed my time by the beach. The rondavels are so rustic but sunbird brings a level of quality to the hotel. I would come back here on holiday.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SZavahir

135 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salima
0.0 km away
Blue Waters by Serendib
0.0 km away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
68 reviews
0.0 km away
Pacific Hotel
Pacific Hotel
#9 of 12 in Lilongwe
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
18.9 km away
Blue Zebra Island Lodge
Blue Zebra Island Lodge
#1 of 1 in Maleri Island
84 reviews
163.3 km away
Ngala Beach Lodge
Ngala Beach Lodge
#1 of 7 in Nkhata Bay
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Sunbird Livingstonia Beach

Top-rated Restaurants Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Sunbird Livingstonia Beach

Address: Senga Bay, Salima, Malawi (Formerly Le Meridien Livingstonia Beach)
Region: Malawi > Central Region > Salima
Price Range: $301 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunbird Livingstonia Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Sunbird Livingstonia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbird Livingstonia Beach Hotel Salima
Sunbird Livingstonia Beach Salima
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunbird Livingstonia Beach staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sunbird Livingstonia Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room with a lake view”
 of 5 bubbles , 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 220 is the jackpot.”
 of 5 bubbles VictoriaN116, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't heavily rely on using you Visa/Master cards as the machines due to connectivity”
 of 5 bubbles jamesoW1628HO, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the large deluxe rooms overlooking the Lake.”
 of 5 bubbles LRa0, 19 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The one on each extremes of the Hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles sadson, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay