We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sunbird Livingstonia Beach

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunbird Livingstonia Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sunbird Livingstonia Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 93: English reviews
Dehradun, India
Level Contributor
124 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2016

We went for lunch at this place. The view is amazing. They have their own private beach. Really amazing ambience. Food - not so much. The staff said there was no electricity, so if we order food it would take more than an hour. Our only option was the overpriced buffet. For vegetarians, there werent many options, and the price... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank PradWestside
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our deepest apologies in regards to the food. We hope that you have a better experience should you visit us again. Your feedback is much appreciated, and we hope you come back to enjoy the views and the lake. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

I heard this would be the best and most exclusive hotel in Malawi. And it probably is. Good value for money, although the hotel is old and the rooms are basic but spacious and clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good food and nice swimming pool. Right next on the beach with a stunning view. Small gym facilities.

Helpful?
1 Thank Karin K
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you come again soon. More 

Narre Warren, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2016

We finally arrived here after staying in a couple of other not-so-nice places. I was tired of living with heat, no power, terrible quality food and dirty bathrooms (which is what we found in many other places where we had stayed). Finally........something better. Excellent, even! Everything about the place tells you it's nice. The clean uniforms of all the staff... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mishelle P
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We are glad you were satisfied with the service you got and that you were happy with the environment and staff. We strive to serve you better, and we are very happy that you had a good time while you stayed with us (we hope your children enjoyed it as much as you did... More 

Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
244 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2015

We only spent a very short time here, but I felt like I was transported to another world. The beach was clean and I enjoyed my time by the beach. The rondavels are so rustic but sunbird brings a level of quality to the hotel. I would come back here on holiday.

Helpful?
1 Thank SZavahir
Malawi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

Beautiful location, well presented, clean rooms, very friendly staff an ideal place to relax. Air con and fridge in the room. Swimming pool or Lake for swimming. Fabulous breakfast! No electricity, no problem there's a generator

Helpful?
1 Thank JintyC44
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2015

Paid for a single day visit with a group of friends. They put pressure on us to order from the buffet but the food was often left uncovered by guests and the waiters just waved multiple flies away as they walked past instead of recovering it. So we ordered from the menu and the food took at least an hour... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank laura1044
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2015 via mobile

Had a great time at this location on the mountain. It was cool in the evening so they came and build a fire in our room every night. Also, the food at the restaurant was good. The staff was friendly and very helpful. There was also a nice place to buy souvenirs right outside the gate

Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan N Tanya H
Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2015 via mobile

I was going to give a 5 star review, after all we have been here for 3 days at the Steps campsite, part of the hotel. The reason I am changing it to 1 star is because of the hotels total disregard for campers. On our last night, after the campers were already sleeping, the security guards let in 2... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PenKem
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2015 via mobile

I am a professional person and will only give the true review ! I visited the place for two days ! I had booked two deluxe rooms and upon arrival they only had one ! The guy says take the family room and we went to see it - disgusting is all I can say ....We had to stand at... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Shezy1
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

Henry, our driver, told us that you haven't really been to Malawi until you've been to the lake and he was right! This Sunbird is right on its shores and is a tropical oasis in an otherwise brown countryside (at this time of the year before the rains start). The buildings are bright white and meals are set up outside... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan P

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salima
0.0 km away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
63 reviews
0.0 km away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
18.9 km away
Blue Zebra Island Lodge
Blue Zebra Island Lodge
#1 of 1 in Maleri Island
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ngala Beach Lodge
Ngala Beach Lodge
#1 of 7 in Nkhata Bay
81 reviews
0.0 km away
Safari Beach Lodge
Safari Beach Lodge
#4 of 25 in Salima
85 reviews
0.0 km away
Kumbali Country Lodge
Kumbali Country Lodge
#1 of 44 in Lilongwe
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Sunbird Livingstonia Beach

Top-rated Restaurants Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Sunbird Livingstonia Beach

Address: Senga Bay, Salima, Malawi (Formerly Le Meridien Livingstonia Beach)
Region: Malawi > Central Region > Salima
Price Range: $286 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunbird Livingstonia Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sunbird Livingstonia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbird Livingstonia Beach Hotel Salima
Sunbird Livingstonia Beach Salima
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunbird Livingstonia Beach staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sunbird Livingstonia Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 220 is the jackpot.”
 of 5 bubbles VictoriaN116, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't heavily rely on using you Visa/Master cards as the machines due to connectivity”
 of 5 bubbles jamesoW1628HO, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the large deluxe rooms overlooking the Lake.”
 of 5 bubbles LRa0, 19 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The one on each extremes of the Hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles sadson, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Best place to relax or write a book or to have fun with family”
 of 5 bubbles mariarosac166, 17 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay