We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Driftwood Beach Club

Jumia TravelUSD 126*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
01/07/2017 02/07/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 166*
USD 126*
Great Deal
USD 166*
USD 166*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Driftwood Beach Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 207: English reviews
Start your review of Driftwood Beach Club
 Click to rate
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 1 week ago

hospitality at its best. extremely good service excellent food the staff were always doing their best to make sure your stay was without any problems. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and just what one requires at the beach

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ceverard
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from my latest stay at the Driftwood.........been here so many times in the last 25 years I've lost count!! From the moment you arrive at the reception desk, you are met with smiles, karibus, lovely to see you again and a refreshing cold fruit juice. And the view of the ocean is amazing. The rooms are clean, comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendisb
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Driftwood for 4 nights in May 2017 and could not have picked a more perfect place for our beach holiday. The place had a laid back vibe and the staff were excellent - very friendly and attentive. The food was absolutely delicious! Well located in Malindi and you are literally steps from the beach. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shannoncolbyburke
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned from our seventh stay at the Driftwood and are busy planning our return! A beautiful space in the most gorgeous setting. The views out on to the Indian Ocean are incredible. Roger and his staff are such great hosts and make you feel at home as soon as you arrive. The cabins are very relaxing and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SarahArts
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was in Driftwood with friends for dinner. I was told there was a grill at a fixed price. But it was not at fixed price, the grill wasn't bad at all, but nothing else to eat, just few types of salad and a little choice of desserts. Eating on the beach was quite cold, and the light was so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank erosdream
DodgeNairobi, Owner at Driftwood Beach Club, responded to this review

Hi Erosdream thanks for this feed back. I presume you came on a Friday when we have our club night round the swimming pool. Yes the wind can make it quite cool. On the grill we have, every week, calamari, pork chops, steak, chicken, prawns, garlic bread, roast potatoes and fresh vegetables. We have 3 desserts and 4 different types...

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

We were staying in a house locally in Malindi but went along to the Driftwood for lunch and a step back in time into childhood memories of happy days at the coast. The bar area remains gorgeous with a view of the beautiful beach and pool area. Everything is clean and well maintained, the staff are attentive and friendly. All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnny A
Reviewed 11 April 2017

It's not 5* but it's a wonderful chilled vibe on the Kenya coast, with a pretty beach and superbly comfy beds. Oh, and wonderful seafood! Having stayed before, we were prepared for somewhat laid back service attitude for food and drinks. We were pleasantly surprised to have an alert young waiter take us under his wing, and bring us menus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki F
Arusha
Reviewed 7 April 2017

If you are looking for a 5 star deluxe beach hotel with all the bells and whistles then Driftwood Beach Club is not for you! If however you are looking for a traditional Kenyan beach hotel oozing with character and charm then read on. The rooms are clean, air conditioned and very comfortable. The bar and lounge are thatched, open...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank intimateplaces
DodgeNairobi, Owner at Driftwood Beach Club, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and many thanks for these kind words. We look forward to seeing you back here at some stage. Hope you had a safe trip back. Kindest regards...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Having stayed in Driftwood before, I was looking forward to returning. Unfortunately, this will likely be the last time I stay at Driftwood. The rooms we were allocated have not been touched in the best part of 10 years (despite management protestations to the contrary on tripadvisor). Of the 6 rooms our party took, 4 had some sort of plumbing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom N
DodgeNairobi, Owner at Driftwood Beach Club, responded to this review

Hi Tom, thanks for the feed back from your trip in December 2016. We can't seem to find your booking in our system so would ask if you can give us the dates you were here. Concerning your comments; drinking water is supplied in thermos flasks in the bedrooms. Its boiled fresh, safe drinking water. We use an external company...

Reviewed 13 March 2017

One of the most charming hotels on the Kenyan coast. Great thatched cottages 100m from the coral sand beach, sea view and a cooling gentle breeze. Staff very helpful and friendly. Food was excellent, a great variety of fresh local produce; great quality fruit, fish and vegetables.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vincent B

158 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
3:31
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (13)
01/07/2017 02/07/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malindi
19.8 km away
Che Shale
Che Shale
#1 of 3 in Mambrui
181 reviews
14.6 km away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
15.2 km away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Diamonds Dream of Africa
0.3 km away
Sandies Tropical Village
1.2 km away
Scorpio Villas
Scorpio Villas
#2 of 27 in Malindi
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Everyone will enjoy Driftwood Malindi for it’s barefoot, relaxed and informal style. We cater to families, couples or groups and can host small conferences or large wedding ceremonies. This charming hotel is situated on Silversands beach. With reef protected, balmy water’s at the doorstep, this unique experience combines casual accommodation with excellent food and warm, friendly banter. The hotel is just a short 10 minute drive from the Malindi International airport and promises the wary traveller refuge from their daily grind. With easy access to the pristine beach, you can take your morning stroll at the water’s edge before breakfast, have a stress-relieving massage at our Spa and then settle in with a good book around the swimming pool to laze away the day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Driftwood Beach Club

Address: Silversands Road | PO Box 63, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Price Range: $150 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Driftwood Beach Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jovago.com so you can book your Driftwood Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Beach Club Hotel Malindi
Driftwood Beach Hotel
Driftwood Beach Malindi
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Malindi
#3 Family Hotel in Malindi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Driftwood Beach Club staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Driftwood Beach Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are separate units faceing the sea but I prefer the rooms to the north side of the property”
ceverard, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view rooms are lovely........all rooms are quiet”
wendisb, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“We found room numbers 3A and 3B to be ideal for families.”
intimateplaces, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try and get one of the rooms that's been updated”
826tomn, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Cottages No. 1 and No. 2 has the shortest distance to the pool.”
dajda, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Jumia Travel
USD 126* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 166
Hotwire.comUSD 166
TravelocityUSD 166
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates