We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ryokan Meiryu

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Ryokan Meiryu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 19: English reviews
Linkoping, Sweden
Reviewed 7 October 2016

I wanted to stay in a traditional hostel during my first trip to Japan. Meiryu is a nice place to stay, very close to the Kamimaezu subway station. The room was very comfortable and the staff is very friendly (although only one of them peaks English). Bathrooms are nice and clean, and the experience of communal showers was quite special...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank samedu
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 8 July 2015

First of all the staff, while only one speaks English, are extremely polite and helpful to travelers. I had planned to visit the Toyota Museum and already had a map, but one of the staff did their best to elaborate my long route to the museum, for example. The bath is very nice, If you don't mind shared ofuros. Meals...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gdub504
seattle
Reviewed 13 June 2015

I stayed here for 5 days in November 2014. Yamada san and family were especially helpful when i had to navigate the city with minimal Japanese. Yamada san would print out the directions with appropriate bus/train schedules and with time saving suggestions. The neighborhood was quite, clean and with plenty of services namely ATM, Metro, cafes, small grocery store, take...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank leokirkland
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 18 February 2015

My stay was thoroughly enjoyable here. The inn is located just a block from the subway station, the room was very comfortable, the staff was very helpful, and the bathroom was clean with a wonderful hot tub.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Hayley B
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 16 February 2015

I loved this Ryokan. Very comfortable double matting (for those who are used to sleeping on ground only when camping) large bath with plenty of showers and very cozy room. The red carpet is not as attractive as some redesigned ryokans, but to me gave it a more authentic feel. The thing that makes this property 5 stars instead of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RQTraveler
New York City, New York
Reviewed 12 October 2014

I booked this place at the last minute. It had been a long day, and I was quite tired when I arrived. This Ryokan doesn't look like much in the lobby, as it and the stairwell are a bit dingy. But, once I entered my room, I felt like I was in a different place. The room was nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mclassic
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 15 September 2014

Extremely good price for location for the budget traveller who is looking for the tatami-futon japanese ryokan experience. It is family owned and the son speaks excellent english. The rooms are clean, and the very japanese feel really adds on to the experience. It even has a small onsen in the hotel! Location wise it's impeccable; walking distance to kamimaezu...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank swong1603
Reviewed 7 September 2014 via mobile

Very helpful staff, not a bad place after all, decent, but wouldn't be my first choice as I stayed in another Ryokan in the same city which was 10 times better. Close to a metro station and some shops and restaurants. I suggest you call or try to book by internet in advance as rooms might get booked quickly.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Abdulla A
yamashin, マネージャー at Ryokan Meiryu, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay in Ryokan Meiryu. Also thanks for your comment and I am glad you had stayed here comfortably. Many facilities have different tastes, location and budgets and many find them in different ways however, your comment gave me a relief. That shows what we are doing goes well with the majority of guests. Also...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2014

the outside of this place looked a little run down and the inside wasnt much better but the the staff were incredibly friendly, and spoke pretty good english. there was also free wifi in the rooms which was a bonus. the room itself was a little small but just enough for sleeping in. there didnt seem to be many toilets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirsteen j
yamashin, マネージャー at Ryokan Meiryu, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay in Ryokan Meiryu. Also thank you for your comment. We are a bit surprised with your report about the waterline problems. The water line is newly built and we didn't think that could happen. The only thing we could imagine is, we have recently called the plumber for the line work, which possibly...

Piaseczno
Reviewed 28 June 2013

First feeling about this hotel from outside isn't good, because from outside it looks liek nothing special. But inside there is different world comparing to outside. Service speak in communicative english without problems. Laundry is avaible also typical japanese meals are served.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Unforgiven11
yamashin, マネージャー at Ryokan Meiryu, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay here and for your comment. We hope your stay was pleasant and comfortable. We are just a basic small ryokan but we do (or at least try to) our best of what we can. Again, thank you for your comment. We look forward to hearing from you again!

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
New Shochikubai
#68 of 166 in Nagoya
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Station
Silk Tree Hotel
Silk Tree Hotel
#77 of 166 in Nagoya
148 reviews
Kanayama / Atsuta / Mizuho
Hotel Kiyoshi Nagoya
Hotel Kiyoshi Nagoya
#144 of 166 in Nagoya
29 reviews
Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
the b nagoya
the b nagoya
#9 of 166 in Nagoya
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Ryokan Meiryu

Address: 2-4-21 Nakaku Kamimaezu, Nagoya 460-0013, Aichi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Kanayama / Atsuta / Mizuho
Price Range: $56 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ryokan Meiryu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Meiryu Hotel Nagoya
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nagoya
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ryokan Meiryu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“make your request and Yamada san will try his best”
 of 5 bubbles leokirkland, 12 Jun 2015 | Read review
1 of 1
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay