We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Inn on the Vumba

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mutare
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Inn on the Vumba
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 29: English reviews
Harare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2016

I have stayed at Inn on the Vumba twice in the last few months as we are working in Mutare at present. The Inn is perfectly suited for our requirements. The rooms are a bit dated but understandable in the current environment. Wifi signal is very poor in the rooms and it would be a good idea to set up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ant K
GordonAddamsZW, Owner at Inn on the Vumba, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our country retreat , Inn on the Vumba and pleased you have enjoyed your stays with us . We will certainly look into have the Wifi improved as suggested . Thanks again for your support , Kind regards , Gordon Addams Inns of Zimbabwe More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

Lovely setting, wonderful staff. Clean rooms. Good food, excellent breakfast. However prices increased just because they offered 3 measly TV channels. I would rather the old price and no TV channels. No WiFi offered to guests and hotel has very poor cell phone signal from any of the local providers but Mozambican cell networks work well.

Helpful?
Thank Rachel Jennifer S
GordonAddamsZW, Owner at Inn on the Vumba, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our country retreat , Inn on the Vumba . Our tariffs have not been increased in more than two years and have specials on , too for guests of the SADC region . We have 4 tv channels available along with WiFi ( internet only available in the public area at present ) and... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2016

The location and views are fantastic :looking out from the mountain tops over Mozambique. The Inn on the Vumba is straight out of the colonial heritage with faithful retainers and solid and comfortable decor and furniture. Like a comfortable pair of slippers it is relaxing and homely. A great place to stay for a few days. We look forward to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tim12014
InnsofZimbabwe, Owner at Inn on the Vumba, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of our country retreat , Inn on the Vumba and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us . Thank you for your support and friendship of the Inn(s) , Kindest regards , Gordon Addams Inns of Zimbabwe More 

Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2016

The Inn on the Vumba is situated in the beautiful Bvumba Mountains and offers older style budget accommodation. For visitors in that market I would recommend it as a place to stay. It is very much of a 60s / 70s type of property and is quite tired and this is reflected in the furnishings. Having said that, you pay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sean K
InnsofZimbabwe, Owner at Inn on the Vumba, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our country retreat , Inn on the Vumba . We appreciate your support and valued observations of your stay and information provided herein as it will encourage more visitors to holiday in the Eastern Highlands . You will be pleased to note that the Bvumba road is under repair which will be welcomed by... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Inn on the Vumba for four days after hearing it was linked to Inn on the Rupara in Nyanga where we previously stayed & loved, and after reading some great reviews on here. Inn on the Vumba cost us just under $190 per night per room. The Inn has some positive aspects but is perhaps a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yemurai N
InnsofZimbabwe, Owner at Inn on the Vumba, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive comments on your recent stay at our country retreat , Inn on the Vumba and will surely take up the issues raised in our quest to maintain and improve standards of the Inn(s) . Here's wishing you a blessed Christmas and all the best for 2016 . Kind regards , Gordon Addams Inns of Zimbabwe More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

Such a lovely hotel, great staff going the extra mile!! Could not belive how reasonable the prices are and what you get for it!! The Road to Mutare is perfect and completely re done. For a city break I would suggest it with only a 3 hour drive. We will be back!!

Helpful?
Thank Alexandros Z
InnsofZimbabwe, Owner at Inn on the Vumba, responded to this review

Thank you for you lovely review our country retreat , Inn on the Vumba . The new road from Harare to Mutare makes such a difference to travelling time and has been welcomed by many motorists on this route . We look forward to your return in the near future , Kindest regards , Gordon Addams Inns of Zimbabwe More 

Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2015 via mobile

Stayed here over Valentine's weekend. It has old charm, the staff is friendly and attentive. The food is satisfactory. However, I think a bit of upgrading is needed. The carpets were musty and we had to move rooms. At night we could hear rats in the ceiling. I really think this otherwise very good hotel is being let down by... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MsTM199
InnsofZimbabwe, Owner at Inn on the Vumba, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued comments in respect to your recent stay with us at our country retreat , Inn on the Vumba . We thank you for your support and friendship of the Inn(s) . Kind regards , Gordon Addams Inns of Zimbabwe More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2015 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay there and their staff was kind enough to clean our place even though it was self catering. Enjoyed it and Vumba has fantastic must-see views of the mountains. Will definately return because i had a great time. The inn is as good as it looks on the pictures and the sraff is very friendly and helpful

Helpful?
1 Thank Ethel N
InnsofZimbabwe, Owner at Inn on the Vumba, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of our country retreat , Inn on the Vumba and delighted you had a happy stay in our self catering lodges and enjoyed the view . Thanks for your support , Kind regards , Gordon Addams Inns of Zimbabwe More 

Marondera, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2014

A wonderful hotel. set in the mystic Eastern Highlands. a place to be for your annual retreat. Stayed at the Hotel with a couple of friends and we really enjoyed our stay. Furnishings are classic English old antics that take you way back into time. The scenery is just wonderful

Helpful?
1 Thank Marve M
InnsofZimbabwe, Owner at Inn on the Vumba, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review of our country retreat , Inn on the Vumba and delighted your enjoyed your stay with friends and hope it won't be long before you return to the Inn(s) . We so appreciate your support and friendship of the Inn . Kind regards , Gordon Addams Inns of Zimbabwe More 

Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
201 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2014

Charming classic Old English feel. Managers Tony Will and Dawn Hamilton were warm, friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. Food and service excellent, staff wonderful. Whole hotel spotlessly clean. Hotel Cat there to welcome guests on arrival!

Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisW311
InnsofZimbabwe, Owner at Inn on the Vumba, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely note following your visit to our country retreat , Inn on the Vumba recently . We appreciate your support and friendship of the Inns . Kindest regards , Gordon More 

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mutare
0.0 km away
African Sun Amber Hotel Mutare
0.0 km away
Meikles Hotel
Meikles Hotel
#2 of 13 in Harare
423 reviews
0.0 km away
Eden Lodge Vumba
Eden Lodge Vumba
#2 of 8 in Mutare
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Musangano Lodge
Musangano Lodge
#1 of 9 in Mutare
150 reviews
0.0 km away
Troutbeck Resort
Troutbeck Resort
#1 of 5 in Nyanga
118 reviews
0.0 km away
Matobo Hills Lodge
Matobo Hills Lodge
#2 of 9 in Matobo National Park - The Matopos
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Inn on the Vumba is 8km out of Mutare on the Bvumba road overlooking the Mozambique border. Caters for the businessmen , holidaymakers and specially families as it has hotel rooms with bathroom en suite , 2 deluxe cottages sleep 4 and 2 self catering cottages , also sleep 4 in each . In close proximity to Leopard Rock Hotel and Golf course , Bvumba Botanical Gardens . ... more   less 

Additional Information about Inn on the Vumba

Address: | PO Box 524, Mutare, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Manicaland Province > Mutare
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Inn On The Vumba Zimbabwe/Mutare
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Inn on the Vumba staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Inn on the Vumba staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have a great view”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisW311, 23 Oct 2014 | Read review
“most rooms have the washbasin in the bedroom and carpeting on the bathroom floor. If you want to avoid this, ask to stay in either room 10 or 11.”
 of 5 bubbles sahsameer, 4 Nov 2013 | Read review
“We did not go into the rooms which all have a great view of Mocambique but stayed in one of the self-catering cottages which was perfectly adequate but did not have a view.”
 of 5 bubbles riverrat205, 29 Jun 2013 | Read review
“Facing the valley - Mozambique side”
 of 5 bubbles KwameMokopane, 3 Feb 2013 | Read review
“All rooms are good , comfy and homely well decorated, clean , sometimes you just cant help sitting on the lawns watching thew world go by . the rooms all over look the BVumba valey .”
 of 5 bubbles warwicktn, 31 Oct 2011 | Read review
5 of 5