Hoi An Historic Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hoi An Historic Hotel

Traveller (1248)
Junior Suite
Room & Suite (345)
Pool & Beach (144)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Mon, 3 June
Breakfast included
AU$78
Fully refundable before Wed, 5 June
Breakfast included
No booking fees
AU$64
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#107 of 392 hotels in Hoi An
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Hoi An Historic Hotel occupies lush and spacious grounds in the heart of the old town. It is the ideal place to stay for anyone who comes to visit Hoi An and its surrounding attractions which include the area's other World Heritage sites.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Vietnamese

Location

10 Tran Hung Dao St, Hoi An 51000 Vietnam
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Da Nang Airport
22.6 km
See all flights
Chulai Airport
64.8 km
See all flights
2,206Reviews46Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,013
  • 881
  • 216
  • 71
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
foodieforlife79 wrote a review July 2023
Deganwy, United Kingdom138 contributions53 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my fiancé stayed here for 3 nights whilst in Hoi An. The hotel is in a great location and has free bicycles for you to cycle around Hoi An. The breakfast selection was exceptional, both western and Asian choices. Our room was very comfortable and had a lovely garden and pool view. The staff are all lovely and a very special thanks to Quynh who was so kind and helpful to us when my fiancé lost her mobile phone in the town. We also booked our day trip to Ban Na hill through the hotel which was great. A very enjoyable few days.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
linnie13413 wrote a review Jan 2020
Dundee, United Kingdom38 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We found this to be a lovely oasis just a short stroll from the nearby streets which were full of scooters surrounding the local market (traffic noise NOT heard in rooms or pool area).
The room was very large, as was the bathroom and very comfortable bed. Blackout curtains were a welcome bonus as was the little balcony which overlooked the pool and surrounding area.
The immaculate gardens and hotel surroundings along with it being a low rise building all added to it being the best hotel we stayed in during our time in Vietnam and Cambodia.
Food and drink was very reasonably priced and whilst the service was a tad slow at times, staff were very friendly.
We used the free shuttle service to visit their sister hotel located at the nearby beach. This was very tranquil (minus the ubiquitous scooters) and was in a beautiful location.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Diana D, Guest Relations Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel
Responded 21 Jan 2020
Dear linnie13413, Thank you very much for choosing The Hoi An Historic Hotel Managed by Melia Hotels International as well as for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor. It's our everyday goal to make sure that all our guests had a marvelous journey with us and we are proud to know we were able to reach it with you. However we are sorry if the service at our restaurant did not meet your expectations because of its slowness at times. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel if the travels bring you back to this lovely city! With kind regards, Diana Delgado Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
496choice wrote a review Feb 2020
Kendal, United Kingdom67 contributions34 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is in a fabulous location just outside the old town of Hoi An & that’s its primary selling point. You can drift out of the front gates & quickly access the bars, restaurants, tourist attractions etc without the need for a taxi. It is nicely laid out, breakfast is buffet style with lots of variety and the staff are incredibly helpful. However, the rooms could do with a face lift as they are looking a bit battered & the ergonomics are awful e.g. the wardrobe won’t shut as the set of drawers inside jam the sliding doors, there is only one bedside cabinet & nowhere to place your empty luggage. These minor annoyances could easily be remedied & are not detracting from a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Diana D, Guest Relations Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel
Responded 3 Feb 2020
Dear 496choice, Thank you very much for choosing The Hoi An Historic Hotel Managed by Melia Hotels International and for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know that you had a nice journey with us however we are sorry it the room did not meet your expectations. We would like to inform you that a renovation of the hotel is going to be carried out this year and we will take into consideration your comments. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the future after the renovation. Best regards, Diana Delgado Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matt B wrote a review Jan 2020
Indianapolis, Indiana388 contributions232 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
While you cannot beat the location, the hotel is very quirky on many levels. The rooms were either freezing or boiling as we had two rooms and both were the same. The pool area is very worn and is in need of a refresh as chair pads are ripped and furniture is worn. Breakfast was among the worst of the buffets we had on our trip as many of the hot items were cold. The showers were very weird as you had to climb a step stool to get into them and it was very slippery. Finally, the beds were very uncomfortable and it was not a good sleep for any of us in our group. Definitely not a five star property.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Diana D, Guest Relations Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel
Responded 4 Jan 2020
Dear mattbU2202RF, Thank you very much for choosing The Hoi An Historic Hotel Managed by Melia Hotels International as well as for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We are very sorry to read that we have not covered your expectations. We would like to inform you that a hotel renovation will take place this year and for sure we will take into account all the points mentioned in your rating. In regards to the breakfast, we have shared your words with our Executive Chef. Thank you for bringing your valuable opinion to our attention. Please accept our since apologies for all inconveniences you suffered. I have shared your feedback with the Hotel Management Team and actions will be taken. Even you would not recommend our hotel, we do hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future and provide you an enhanced experience. Best regards, Diana Delgado Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angela S wrote a review Jan 2020
Cavendish, United Kingdom51 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great stay at the Hoi An Historic Hotel during our tour of Vietnam. The hotel is located only a 5 minute walk from all of the main attractions of Hoi An but despite being in the centre of town, it is very peaceful. The grounds and swimming pool are lovely, and the rooms comfortable and large, with a good shower. Our room overlooked the garden so there was no night time noise, which meant we slept really well. I would recommend asking for a garden view room because of this. Breakfast was varied and good. The Western Cafe serves drinks and various hot and cold snacks - again all very tasty. The hotel staff were friendly and efficient. We are happy to recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Diana D, Guest Relations Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel
Responded 30 Jan 2020
Dear angelasT4274PI, We do appreciate your choice to stay with us and your great feedback regarding your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know that you had a nice journey with us and enjoyed our comfortably equipped room, our great selection of our breakfast buffet and the location. Kindly be assured that I will share your comment with the whole team as it will serve as a great encouragement for them to deliver excellent services to all our guests. The Hoi An Historic Hotel Managed by Melia Hotels International team is looking forward to welcome you back for one more memorable stay. Warm regards, Diana Delgado Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robyn wrote a review Mar 2024
Melbourne, Australia5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We gratefully returned to HoiAn Historic Hotel after an absence of 5 years and were not disappointed.
The location is secluded amongst large trees where we ate our breakfast, and protected from the traffic noise of horns and scooters, but close enough to wander leisurely into the old town.
We had a grand suite, which gave us space; a lounge area, a large bathroom, a wardrobe area, an entry vestibule, and a large balcony that overlooked the pool area.
The staff were always helpful and courteous, remembering the drinks we preferred, and the breakfast menu was a fusion of Asian and Western.

Morning Glory restaurant was our favourite place to dine in the colourful central part of Old Town, and Madam Khanh was our go-to for BahMi.

An Bang Beach was a short taxi ride away, although many cycled, whilst not as good as some of our Aussie beaches, it has started to return to its former glory prior to storm ravages
You could 'buy' a lounge for 3 hours, but we were pestered by sellers of trinkets who were very persistent.

We bargained for the silks and pashminas, visited the "Reach Out" tea house, a not for profit organisation employing disadvantaged people helping them to gain Independance and self worth..we strongly recommend a visit there.

We took away with us lovely memories and wishing we had stayed longer than 7 days.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hiten Shah wrote a review Dec 2023
Perth, Australia38 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Hoi An Historic Hotel and it was a pleasant experience starting from the check-in to check out, we were well looked after.

Special credit goes to Tuan who looked after us daily at breakfast. We explained about our dietary requirements, and he made sure every day we would get something vegan to eat. Thank you to the entire breakfast team including the chefs who made us the yummy meals.

Can’t forget the room service team who would come and make our room daily, they were just so humble and interacted with us.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trek607707 wrote a review Jan 2020
Sydney, Australia2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 4 nights and enjoyed our time immensely. Very convenient to the old town and the staff were warm, friendly and helpful with restaurant bookings and organising Bamboo theatre tickets also.
We regretted dinner in the restaurant, food very ordinary and drinks not cold.
Beware mosquitoes.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All seemed pretty quiet.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Diana D, Guest Relations Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel
Responded 7 Jan 2020
Dear Trek607707, Thank you very much for choosing The Hoi An Historic Hotel Managed by Melia Hotels International and for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff provided you with such a warm service. We are sorry if the food at the restaurant did not meet your expectations, rest assured we have shared your feedback with our Chef. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are looking forward to welcome you in the near future, With kind regards, Diana Delgado Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephen wrote a review May 2022
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam137 contributions118 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
On a recent business trip to Hoi An I was booked in for 3 nights at Hoi An Historic Hotel and I wasn't disappointed, the hotel itself is situated in the heart of the Ancient town and if you're a tourist you will have everything you need within walking distance to enjoy your visit.
The Hotel is quiet and peaceful with attentive and pleasant staff, I stayed in Room 216 which overlooked the swimming pool area, the room was clean, quiet and comfortable. the Hotel swimming pool set in a tropical garden, the Hotel also as a small gym and a Spa ..
I did eat breakfast at the hotel restaurant, the choice was varied and very nice especially the local dishes, there are plenty of bars, restaurants and cafes in the town and especially near the river where there is a vibrant night life of both tourists and locals.. it was great to see tourists finally back in Hoi An and in Vietnam in general after such a long time ... all in all I had a great stay at the Historic Hotel and will definitely stay there again on my next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nguyen Thi Anh Ecommerce Manager, General Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel
Responded 5 May 2022
Dear Mr Stephen, Thank you for trusting and taking your time writing this amazing review to Hoi An Historic Hotel. All the team are very happy to know that you have an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future, then we will ensure your stay with our double effort. Best of wishes, The Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
john d wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is amazing. I stayed here as part of a professional school trip. My room was perfect. The grounds were beautiful and the staff was friendly. The breakfast was incredible.
I was fortunate enough to meet Veronique, the general manager, who made us feel welcomed, as well as Ms. Delgado who took time to show us around the hotel and personally visit with everyone in our party while providing recommendations regarding where to go around town for food as well as great places to take photos. I definitely recommend to anyone they stay here!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Diana D, Guest Relations Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel
Responded 28 Feb 2020
Dear johndM532ML, Thank you very much for choosing The Hoi An Historic Hotel Managed by Melia Hotels International as well as for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor. It is our everyday goal to make sure that all our guests had a marvelous journey with us and we are proud to know we were able to reach it with you. The whole team of The Hoi An Historic Hotel is touched up by your warm words regarding our hotel facilities and service. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to your "Home away from home" in Hoi An! Kind regards, Diana Delgado Guest Experience Manager .
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rob asked a question Apr 2020
33 contributions1 helpful vote
Can you advise what the half board rate includes
Answer from natka2016
Ljubljana, Slovenia225 contributions55 helpful votes
I dont think they have half board option. There is an a la carte menu in the hotel restaurant though. But there is a plenty if wonderful restaurants near so I realy suggest to try the food there. It is excellent.
jeanne j asked a question Feb 2020
Aberdare, United Kingdom51 contributions
Does the hotel supply pool towels? Thanks
Answer from Dawn A
Kitchener, Canada18 contributions8 helpful votes
Yes they have a booth by the pool you take a towel and return to the laundry bin when finished. They are Large soft pool towels that are great on the sun loungers.
Answer from Dawn A
Kitchener, Canada18 contributions8 helpful votes
I requested the shuttle via Expedia when I booked the rooms. The front desk responded with an email. You could contact the hotel via email and they will respond back to you. Hope this helps and is not too late.
Answer from Dawn A
Kitchener, Canada18 contributions8 helpful votes
Hello I’m just seeing your question now. The cooking classes vary in cost. We considered doing one offered by an excellent restaurant in town. We had an amazing meal and spoke directly with the chef. It was about $60US a person and included shopping for the food at the market before preparing and eating. We felt we didn’t have enough time to do it as we only had 3 days in HoiAn. The shuttle from the hotel was 580,000 vdong. For 4 people. This is a set fee for the van I believe. The beds can be separated in some rooms but we had a king. You can ask the hotel directly by sending an email to them. I’m not sure about the beach shuttle costs. It rained and we did not get to the beach. I would recommend BeBe tailors at the main shop ask for Uyen to assist you. She is excellent. Also try the banh mi around the corner fromBeBe it is Anthony Bourdain approved. Overall this is a comfortable hotel for your family. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the pool was terrific after being out in town all day. Enjoy your time away.
Answer from 255100Alan
Melbourne, Australia27 contributions54 helpful votes
It was only about A$20 one way.
Anita B wrote a tip Apr 2024
London, United Kingdom13 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book car/driver at Reception. Great rates! Visit My Son temples with an early start - driver through hotel for round trip!"
Read full review
Georgina B wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Give yourself a day or two by the pool "
Read full review
John J wrote a tip Apr 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The bed can be a little hard for some, but just inform the front desk and they will take care of it"
Read full review
Liza H wrote a tip Mar 2024
Tombstone, Arizona8 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"HoiAn Historic Hotel is fantastic. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, especially Phat and Chinh in the restaurant. Food fantasti"
Read full review
Robert L wrote a tip Feb 2024
Sydney, Australia12 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nothing"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hoi An area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$66 - AU$86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
VietnamQuang Nam ProvinceHoi An
NUMBER OF ROOMS
150
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOI AN HISTORIC HOTEL (AU$66): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Vietnam) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hoi An Historic Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Hoi An Historic Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Thanh Design (0.3 km), Peace Tailor in Hoi An (0.3 km), and Two Ladies Tailor (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hoi An Historic Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hoi An Historic Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hoi An Historic Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hoi An Historic Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hoi An Historic Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Olivier Coffee, Paddy Field Restaurant, and Cua Dai Central Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hoi An Historic Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Hoi An Historic Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Hoi An Historic Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hoi An Historic Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Hoi An.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hoi An Historic Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hoi An Historic Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Hoi An HotelsHoi An Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Hoi AnHotels near Hoi An Historic Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars