We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Udon Backpacker

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Udon Thani
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Udon Backpacker
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 12: English reviews
Start your review of Udon Backpacker
 Click to rate
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

Good backpacker place, very close to the Centre and bus station. We only stayed for one night, they only had a single room for 2 so it's a good job we didn't mind sharing the single bed. They give you a key for the exterior as the close the gate at night times. Wifi is ok, didn't reach to our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim F
Reviewed 19 February 2015

Very Near of the bus station no need tuktuk or taxi only walking distance and many activity around I really like this hotel and the staff very friendly The room are simple but clean I will return there sure

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gaétan P
Chris T, Manager at Udon Backpacker, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us we do hope to see you back here in the future and our other hostels in Pattaya and Koh Chang

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 December 2014 via mobile

Its an old story.. You get what you pay for and 300bt isn't a lot. Fan room with cold water but what surprised me was the lack of a hand basin. A few untidy wires hanging around wouldn't take much to tidy up. Was a bit concerned about a some in the bathroom where maybe a water heater was. Found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
Chris T, Owner at Udon Backpacker, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us and appreciating that 'you get what you paid for' that's why we provide 4 different options from basic fan room to apartments. If we had known you were prepared to pay more for better amenities we would have gladly offered you other choices. May the staff and I wish you a safe...

Reviewed 23 November 2014

Stayed in Udon Backpaker just one night on the way from Laos. Cheap price and very good location, walking distance from bus station (do not believe tuk tuk drivers:) Rooms basic but clean, good internet access, computers avaliable in the lobby. Staff friendly and, the most importantly, very helpful and honest! Left my wallet in the room with money and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Justyna G
Chris T, Owner at Udon Backpacker, responded to this review

We were glad we were able to find your belongings and return them to you. We do hope we will see you again sometime in the not too distant future and the English weather is good to you. From us all here thanks for taking the time to review us.

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 5 September 2014

I really can give exellent referrenses of this hotel. Everything is very near and there was unforgetable spirit. Crew is more than friendly. Beautiful colours in rooms and stairs. If i have to say something bad of this place, i can not.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vesanen
Chris T, Owner at Udon Backpacker, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us from all the staff we wish you a safe journey where ever the road takes you.

pattaya
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Great place to stay ,centrally located and fast wifi. Clean secure and met some good people there, Close to main shopping and entertainment districts. Can also arrange tours and excursions, Udon Thani as a lot to offer the backpacker.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank emily b
Chris T, Owner at Udon Backpacker, responded to this review

Thanks for being our first review under our new management and after the full refurbishment, we hope you find happiness where ever you go.

bangkok
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Very cheap, clean rooms in a great location in town. Right around the corner from tons of food, bars, and live music. Staff are so nice and helpful! I've stayed there many times passing through to Laos!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevbud7
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I had booked a room with HostelBookers, involving a 10% advance payment to the agent totalling apr. 0.60 USD. Upon arrival, it took a long time for someone to attend the place. When a young boy eventuallly did attend, he understood no English and kept insisting on the highest price listed on the blackboard. Showing the confirmation email didn't change...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DonPedros
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Fantastic backpacker wallet-friendly place for anyone passing through or stopping in Udon Thani. Clean spacious ensuite room w/ tv and English channels(!). Staff are welcoming and helpful. Wifi works throughout building. Only downside is it's a bit noisy at night as it's just off the main road. Bring earplugs!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ronronronni
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Great place to stay. Cheapest in Udon Thani. Rooms are all really nice, clean and comfortable. Great central location, less than five minutes walk to the central bus station or train station. Great atmosphere and the best thing about the place is the bubbly owner. Very relaxed and highly recommended for any traveller.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank oconnot5

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udon Thani hotels
1.6 km away
Le' Luxe Residence
Le' Luxe Residence
#16 of 53 in Udon Thani
13 reviews
0.1 km away
City Inn
City Inn
#5 of 85 in Udon Thani
21 reviews
0.1 km away
Kavinburi Green Hotel
Kavinburi Green Hotel
#1 of 74 in Udon Thani
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
P&Mo Guesthouse
P&Mo Guesthouse
#15 of 85 in Udon Thani
6 reviews
0.3 km away
Irish Clock Guest House
Irish Clock Guest House
#8 of 85 in Udon Thani
79 reviews
0.2 km away
BE BACK Hostel
BE BACK Hostel
#21 of 74 in Udon Thani
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Udon Backpasker is is the perfect choice for visitors to visit Udon Thani. Right in the centre of Udon Thani and within 5 minutes walk to the main bus station and train stations. Close to the main shopping area, nightlife area. Our goal is to make your stay in Thailand the most memorable vacation you ever had. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Udon Backpacker

Address: 299/5 Prajaksinlapacom Road | Mak Khaeng, Udon Thani 41000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Udon Thani Province > Udon Thani
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Udon Backpacker staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Every rooms are different and exellent. You just have to decide which is the best to your budget.”
 of 5 bubbles Vesanen, 5 Sep 2014 | Read review
“All great and comfy”
 of 5 bubbles oconnot5, 4 Aug 2011 | Read review
“They are all good.”
 of 5 bubbles m_deville, 4 Aug 2011 | Read review
3 of 3