We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tropica Resort and Restaurant

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Tropica Resort and Restaurant
Tropica Resort and Restaurant
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tropica Resort and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Showing 125: English reviews
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewed 20 August 2015

I loved this boutique hotel. Comfortable, clean rooms. Very pleasant staff. Small pool that is a perfect place to unwind in the evening after a long day of diving. And when you exit, you are on Beach Road in Patong, right next to Bangla Road and all the action. One can hear the noise from Bangla at night, but I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael_Lieberman
Tropica B, Owner at Tropica Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear MichaelLieberman, Thank you for your review and appreciation of what the resort has to offer. We try our best to limit the noise and to create a location where you can relax as much as possible and make the most of the nearby amenities that make Patong a fun place to visit. We are glad you that you enjoyed...

Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

right in the middle of patong situated / the houses a about 30 years old and wasted (the delux ones got nice bathrooms). It has an nice garden. But in the evening the discos, bars and clubs just several meter away starting to be realy loud !! i got no sleep without my oropax / and you can not relax...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Georg H
Tropica B, Owner at Tropica Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Georg H, We appreciate your review and comments and recently undertook a renovation to improve both the facilities and maximise the convenience of the location. Other guests appreciate the fact that they are able to relax but we do understand that being more noise sensitive can make a difference to your stay. We do, however, offer rooms that are...

Changsha, China
Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

1970s throwback.... Useless staff. Bad decor. Dirty pool. I booked several nights here and as soon as I walked in the room I wanted to kick myself. I would rather have not come. Yes it's close to the bars and party's but at 4am I can still hear the bass from my "bungalow". Cold shower. No temperature control at all....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wanderingfatguy
Tropica B, Owner at Tropica Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear wanderingfatguy, Further to your review, we would like to answer as follows. We have undertaken renovations in most of the rooms to improve the rooms. The pool is cleaned regularly and our staff are on hand 24 hours a day if there is an issue – say with the temperature control of the shower – that may need fixing....

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

Planning our last nights dinner in Patong 19/7/2015 we choose the Tropica for something nice. Arrived 7.15 slow to take drinks order then serve them. 7.45 ordered entree to be told they had sold out, 2nd choice spring rolls, quiet greasy and oily. My husband ordered Filet Mignon and I morrocan chicken. The filet mignon arrived 3 very small pieces...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria Tia S
Tropica B, Owner at Tropica Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Maria Tia S, Further to your feedback, we would like to address your points as follows. On occasion, more popular entrees do run out. Filet mignon is not necessarily always cooked or served with bacon – this does depend on the chef’s preference. We agree that the staff may not have known about the bacon request being locals and...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 5 July 2015

Met by some lovely ladies at check in and was in my room in no time. The room itself was actually a bungalow and it was very nice. The bed was huge and comfortable but i did have an issue with the weak flow of water in the shower, not a big deal for me but might be for others...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ilovetha
Tropica B, Owner at Tropica Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear ilovetha, Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us, We are glad that you enjoyed your room and, though we do try to maintain a constant water flow, this is also due to provision by the local authorities. We have noted your comments regarding breakfast but were pleased to read that overall, your stay was...

Bogota, Colombia
Reviewed 11 April 2015 via mobile

This is a review for the restaurant. The menu is big and filled with a lot of choices to pick from. The food was good. Service was a bit slow, the place was packed full!!! So that might have been the reason. It's filled with ceiling fans making you experience even better. Location is the best thing, it's right on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aje302
Tropica B, Owner at Tropica Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear aje302, Thank you for your review. Yes, the restaurant is very popular at times so we hope that the slightly slower service did not spoil your meal too much. We hope that we can welcome you back perhaps to discover some of the rooms, garden and pool that lie just behind and make this a hidden gem right in...

Muscat Governorate, Oman
Reviewed 2 April 2015 via mobile

The resort is all about location location location.. Right in the heart of all the excitement in Phuket.. Clean rooms, good service, reception staff were very helpful... Worth staying 2 days if you are in Phuket for a week.. 100 meters from the beach and Bangla Road... Room size is a little small though...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank VikramBhatia
Tropica B, Owner at Tropica Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear VikramBhatia, We so agree about location and this is the perfect place if you want to make the most of being right in the heart of it all and not have too far to go home after a fun night out. We do have various styles of room so, on your next visit, let us know and we will...

Kent
Reviewed 19 March 2015

We are in our last few days of our 2 week stay at Tropica Bungalows. The rooms are lovely the breakfast is great and the pool area is clean, tidy and very peaceful. You really wouldn't realise you are just around the corner from Bangla Road with all its hustle and bustle. It is a great location if you want...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CaroldKent
Tropica B, Owner at Tropica Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear CaroldKent, It was really nice to read how good a time you had and that you were able to make the most of the daytime relaxation and nighttime activities within such easy walking distance. This is what makes the hotel so popular. We very much hope that we will be welcoming you back and let us know in advance...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2015

We visited the Restaurant on a 2 day stop over in Patong, we ordered a bottle of wine it was one of the 2 bottles advertised as wine of the month (we usually have 1 or 2 bottles with a meal) the wine was undrinkable. we asked to try the other wine of month, and was told if they opened...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John P
Tropica B, Owner at Tropica Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear John P, We are sorry to hear that your experience was not a good one and will ensure that this is not repeated. Please accept our apologies and we hope that this did not spoil your holiday. Team Tropica

Swanage
Reviewed 3 January 2015

Staff in reception were always smiling and were incredibly friendly and helpful. Free Breakfast was good and we were given a 20% off food and a 10% off drink voucher to use in the restaurant throughout our stay, which was a nice gesture and saved us a couple of Baht. The room was great, the WiFi always worked, the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlie H
Tropica B, Owner at Tropica Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Charlie H, Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your comments regarding the helpful staff as well as the facilities which we will pass on. We understand that with the beach across the road the pool was not needed but it is a great place to relax and chill so hopefully you can make the...

233 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (42)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (101)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (23)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Room (19)
Viewed
Superior Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 km away
Sai Rougn Residence
Sai Rougn Residence
#93 of 309 in Patong
138 reviews
0.1 km away
Safari Beach Hotel
Safari Beach Hotel
#160 of 309 in Patong
253 reviews
0.3 km away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
La Flora Resort Patong
La Flora Resort Patong
#42 of 309 in Patong
668 reviews
0.2 km away
Rico's Hotel
Rico's Hotel
#128 of 309 in Patong
85 reviews
0.2 km away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#25 of 309 in Patong
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tropica Hotel & Restaurant is located just a few meters from the beach in Patong. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tropica Resort and Restaurant

Address: 132 Thaweewong Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Price Range: $56 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropica Resort and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Tropica Resort and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropica Hotel Patong
Tropica Resort And Restaurant Patong, Phuket
Hotel Style:
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tropica Resort and Restaurant staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Tropica Resort and Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get a room far away on the southern side from Bungla road!”
 of 5 bubbles bretts702, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Near pool area”
 of 5 bubbles trishducat, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you stay out all night, then this is your place, if you get a early night, bring ear plugs.”
 of 5 bubbles RedRiverSix, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Honeymoon Suite is the hit!”
 of 5 bubbles 676vadimk, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room away from the noise of Bangala road for a good nights sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles allishae02, 22 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay