We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Minotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Minotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Minotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 47: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2012

My wife and I spent 7 nights at this hotel in mid Jan 2012. Its a resonably low price hotel. No bells and whistles but you have all you need for a good night sleep. Clean spacious room and ensuite, hot shower and air conditioning. TV, Fridge and Safety box which we didn't feel the need to use. Complementary bottled...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Richard_and_Mabel
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive comments - Taxie and the team are very pleased to hear them. We try hard to keep the rooms clean and the towels and sheets in good condition. Just last week we had another supply of new towels, sheets and pillows - we know these are important to customers even in "budget" hotels....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, it was the second hotel we stayed at in Patong. It was a great place to stay, staff were very friendly, and the room was really clean. It was also quite a sizeable room. The location was really good as well, although a little noisy.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bec R
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive comments. Our front desk staff try hard to look after our guests - I am glad you found them friendly. We also have 3 cleaning staff for just 19 rooms in the peak season to try and make sure the rooms are all cleaned thoroughly in this busy period. Being an older hotel...

Panorama City CA USA
Reviewed 17 January 2012

This was my first trip to Patong beach. I was picked up from the airport and taken to Minotel . Very friendly (that why I picked this hotel )My luggage was in my room before I was done checking in !! Basic but comfortable accomodation ,everything I needed was ther including in room safe !! Perfect location , a view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hein G
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We very much appreciate your comments and are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The staff do try hard to look after our guests and this is why we are fortunate that so many of our guests return many times. To keep the prices to the lowest in that...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This was our 5th trip to Patong, we booked last minute, it was high season so we decided to book at a more affordable guesthouse rather than our usual resort. We booked The Minotel based on tripadvisor reviews, but upon arrival this place had a terrible feel to it, no-one at the reception desk to greet us, no-one to assist...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne T
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - I am obviously concerned that you had such a bad experience - as you stated the majority of the reviews on Trip Advisor are positive and thus it does upset us at the hotel when someone has a bad perception of the hotel. You said there was no one at reception - we are...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 5 January 2012

was visiting a friend staying at Minotel , which is right next to my hotel - Album. very basic hotel. 3rd floor no lift.big clean room with comp tea coffee. Decent house keeping. No breakfast included in the room rate. Location is great.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sbhatnagar
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - though it was a pity you could not stay with us to experience our service first hand. We do very much market ourselves as a budget hotel and our business model is geared around that. This is why our room rates are significantly cheaper than the hotels around us....

Manchester
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Stayed here last 5 days dec 2011 Dont expect a 5 star and you wont be disspointed, however the service is 5 star especially from taxi!(yes thats her name!) Rooms are clean and come with tv dvd and fridge and free wifi... Great location, 5 minutes to beach or to the nightlife. Taxi can arrange tours bikes (very cheap and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ikathrada
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. It means a lot to the staff to hear such positive comments. We are definitely not a five star hotel - we very much market ourselves as a budget hotel but with great service. A significant proportion of our customers return each...

Key West, Florida
Reviewed 8 December 2011

The minotel is a great location just off the main road and 3 blocks from the beach. The staff does not know English so it's good that we booked in advance. The rooms were good size and clean except for the bugs. We only saw bugs the first night but...who knows. Overall, it was okay for 2 nights but still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beelann
Peterbkk543, General Manager at The Minotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we appreciate receiving the feedback. As you say it is a great location. I am not sure what the definition of a block is - but I would say we are within 1 block of the beach as there are no roads to cross from our hotel until you...

Thailand
Reviewed 22 November 2011

There are many average places in Phuket, especially in this price range. This place offers friendly service, daily room cleaning, nice large rooms that are well decorated, a good location- a short walk to the beach. There's a restaurant under the hotel that serves good breakfast. I stayed here late October 2011. Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jay98
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Really cool place for a cheaper price in patong with a lovely people for the service!!you have to go here!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikachel
Herlev, Denmark
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I found this little hotel for 1 ½ years ago and has been here 4 times since, in total I've lived here ca. 8 months The staff is very friendly and helpful with most things, such arranging tours, and just outside the hotel there is a cozy restaurant. The rooms are large and clean, which is cleaned every day and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carsten_1966

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 km away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#61 of 319 in Patong
282 reviews
0.1 km away
Rayaburi Hotel Patong
Rayaburi Hotel Patong
#135 of 319 in Patong
511 reviews
0.4 km away
Safari Beach Hotel
Safari Beach Hotel
#151 of 319 in Patong
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
R Mar Resort and Spa
R Mar Resort and Spa
#62 of 319 in Patong
348 reviews
0.3 km away
BearPacker Patong Hostel
BearPacker Patong Hostel
#2 of 222 in Patong
51 reviews
0.4 km away
Lupta Hostel
Lupta Hostel
#4 of 222 in Patong
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Minotel is a boutique guest house offering 20 comfortable and individually air conditioned guest rooms in the centre of Patong. It is just 3 minutes walk to the beach (central area of beach), 5 minutes to Bangla entertainment area and the Jungcelyon shopping and restaurant complex and just 2 minutes to the gay Paradise entertainment area with its nightly cabaret shows.It has a street side restaurant and travel desk at the front of the hotel.It has very friendly staff that puts this hotel in the enviable position of having many repeat customers and long term stays. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Minotel

Address: 19 Sawasdirak Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Price Range: $22 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Minotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Minotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Minotel Hotel Patong
The Minotel Patong, Phuket
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Minotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a lower level room, the hike up to the 4th floor 3x daily gets old..”
dougoverly, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“exquisite location-short to the beach and the central.”
, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“no lift but we were on the second floor facing the rear no problem”
nuiEngland, 3 Feb 2014 | Read review
“There is no elevator.”
tungbeng, 23 Jan 2013 | Read review
“They have different rates for different seasons. Make sure you book early as they have limited rooms.”
Hiddyt, 18 Nov 2012 | Read review
5 of 5