Bamboo House
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Bamboo House

5 Vietnam Road Tha Makham, Kanchanaburi 71000 Thailand
Traveller (219)
Room & Suite (420)
Bamboo House Restaurant at the Bamboo House
Dining (21)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, 8 June
AU$28
Fully refundable before Tue, 4 June
Get rewarded with One Key
AU$44
Fully refundable before Sat, 8 June
Multiple ways to pay
AU$22
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#8 of 68 hotels in Kanchanaburi
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value

See why so many travellers make Bamboo House their hotel of choice when visiting Kanchanaburi. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Close to some of Kanchanaburi's most popular landmarks, such as Kanchanaburi War Cemetery (1.3 mi) and Wat Thawornwararam (1.5 mi), Bamboo House Hotel is a great destination for tourists.

Rooms at Bamboo House Hotel provide air conditioning, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

In addition, while staying at Bamboo House guests have access to 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and 24 hour check-in. You can also enjoy an on-site restaurant. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at Bamboo House Hotel.

While visiting Kanchanaburi, you may want to try some ribs at one of the nearby restaurants, such as The Loft or Keeree Tara Restaurant.

At Bamboo House, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Kanchanaburi.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Coffee shop
Bicycle rental
Boating
Car hire
Massage
24-hour security
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
River View
Languages Spoken
English, Thai

Location

5 Vietnam Road Tha Makham, Kanchanaburi 71000 Thailand
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 85 out of 100
85
Bangkok Intl Airport
139.8 km
See all flights
209Reviews12Q+A28Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 55
  • 95
  • 40
  • 10
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lynne Hardinge wrote a review Mar 2020
16 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have recently stayed at Bamboo House for 2 nights. The site is lovely, quiet and very picturesque on the river, and easy walking distance to the Kwai Bridge.
I agree with the last reviewer re upgrade your room. We had booked to stay in the floating hut on the river but found it rather too basic with mattresses on the floor and a fan (although cheap!). We also felt rather sea sick when boats went past as the cabin rocked considerably. The hut walls were obviously very thin so it meant that you heard the considerable noise from the party boats going past in the evening.
The restaurant area was lovely, with good food and helful staff . The garden area was also very nice and quiet. I would recommend Bamboo House, just not staying in the floating hut!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Don't stay in basic river hut- go for land based upgraded room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlotte R wrote a review Feb 2020
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom30 contributions35 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a floating hut on the river with just a fan. For a better experience I strongly suggest you get a hut on land with aircon. The hut rocked constantly which made us sea sick!
The grounds it's self were really lovely and in a good location.
However, We did have to push for a new mosquito net as the one we had had huge holes in, but we did get one in the end which was definitely needed, especially bc we were on the water!
I would recommend but like I said, upgrade for a more comfortable room.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carsten G wrote a review Oct 2022
Melbourne, Australia40 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great for a night right on the river. Rooms was basic, mattress on the floor, side table & a fan. Internet was fast and service was very frindly. A great place to unwind, and within walking distance to the New Bridge over the river Kwai and resturants.
Heavy rain caused the river to rise (was the end of the monsoon season), so the walkway to the hut was a little flooded in the morning, but this just added to the charm.
For a inexpensive night on the river, I can highly recommend Bamboo House.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peekaboo wrote a review Feb 2020
457 contributions153 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 2 nights and it was fine. Cheap room on the river (mattress on the floor despite requesting the other type bed off the floor in the photos) with mosquito net, beautiful garden and surroundings. Boats on the river are very noisy and go up regularly late in the evening. I'd stay in a bungalow rather than the raft if visiting again. Ps view of the bridge and the sunrise is pretty cool.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
madeinguiri wrote a review Sept 2012
London, United Kingdom15 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We all loved it (my girlfriend, best friend and I). Definitely not for those like Maggie who want the high life. Large comfortable rooms with matresses but what do u expect for 200 Baht a room! Within walking distance to the bars. Actually on the river Kwai. Free WIFI. We are definitely staying for another few nights
Read more
Date of stay: September 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Call in advance. A bit far from the bus station.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lolaloo32 wrote a review Oct 2013
Bellingham, Washington7 contributions13 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this place in October 2013. The rooms were basic, but clean and a great location on the river, HOWEVER......

The rooms are not very secure, being that they are on a busy river, and there are holes in the screen windows and just a padlock on a very old rickety door. So we decided to leave our valuables (laptop, passports and money wallet) in the hotel safe.

We left the valuables on Sunday afternoon when we arrived and we organised a cheap bus for Tuesday at 1.30pm to take us to Bangkok. We asked for our valuables at about 12.45pm when we arrived back from lunch and they said they would bring them to us in the restaurant. We were checking emails on the internet, and then realised it was 1.20pm and we still hadn't got our valuables back. My friend went to check and they brought us the laptop case. We check that we had passports and money wallet (containing $1500 Canadian in $20). All looked to be accounted for.

I then decided to count the money and we were $400 short! I went straight up to reception to report this and ask the receptionist (who had checked us in 2 days before and spoke PERFECT english). She then claimed she didn't speak english, and called the boss, who I spoke to and said she would come over.

I went back to the restaurant and mysteriously the internet had stopped working, thus preventing me from getting the tourist police number or the number for my travel insurance. Suddenly our transport arrives, and I asked the driver if he spoke english, he was about to answer me and the receptionist says something to him in Thai and he says NO ENGLISH! but that we had to leave on the bus NOW or we would have to wait till tomorrow and lose our money.

I ended up contacting my travel insurance, and they said I was not covered for loss of money, but I emailed the hotel and they said the standard they were looking into it etc.

Great location but not worth $400!!!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cynthia K wrote a review Jan 2013
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania63 contributions24 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is farther up the main road and set on the river. It is nice to be away from the bars and tourist scene and even better to be near the water. The value is great and the staff were friendly and helpful, they will even arrange a tuk tuk to take you to the bus station. The room was okay. No bugs, but the bathroom was small and more grungy than other places I have stayed. But for the price and location I would definitely come back here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pugsandchimps wrote a review Nov 2011
Bristol52 contributions33 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I went to the bamboo house with my boyfriend wanting some peace and quiet after staying in Bangkok. And believe me I got it! Beware only stay at this place if you are a true nature lover and can handle sharing a bed with many creepy crawlies. I travelled Asia for 3 months and never got as many bites the whole time as I did the one night I spent at the bamboo house. The small huts looks quaint from the outside, but inside is very basic. Hard bed, one fan, very primitive toilet and shower covered in bugs, obviously no tv. The gardens are beautiful and it is right on the river which is also breath-taking. I don't want to say this place is the worst I just think people should consider carefully whether they will enjoy it. You would probably get less bites in a tent! Staff weren't too friendly and spoke basic english. It was very cheap to stay here so obviously price reflects accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2011
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gary T wrote a review Apr 2015
35 contributions16 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is horrible, we visited this place on April 2015, we was just checked in and then everyone went home, we went into the bamboo house and straight back out again to book elsewhere, lost our money as could not get refund . This place in my opinion is horrible a mattress on a raft with one fan and one electrical point . Horrible .
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bamb00h0use, Owner at Bamboo House
Responded 2 May 2015
We are very sorry , because you've booked through agoda ,so you have to read the detail of the room and the booking conditions before. Regards, Bamboo House.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TiedoS wrote a review Feb 2015
London, United Kingdom135 contributions50 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I'm a minimalist and I can really enjoy a very simple but clean place very much, specially when it has a nice design and is nicely located. This place looked a bit like one on the website.
You are on a floating hut on the River Kwai and have a very nice view to the bridge but that is all.
The place is rather filthy, you get a blanket without cover and you doubt if it has been washed.
The restaurant is dirty and everything a bit sticky. I'm an explicit dog and cat lover when the animals are well kept. The three dogs who roamed between the guests where rather a bit disgusting and looked unhealthy. Staying at the river you have to cope with disco and karaoke boats from approximately 6pm to 11 or 12pm about every 10 minutes for 10 minutes until they are far enough to ignore the hammering beats. ( not the fault of the hotel - they can't do anything about that )
I'm very often biased in my judgement when the location is fantastic and can forget about some downsides. In this case I wasn't - I wouldn't go there again
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pauladu asked a question Jan 2018
Ontario58 contributions40 helpful votes
which room would you recommend for a family with two young children?
Answer from Bamb00h0use
Kanchanaburi, Thailand8 contributions
Hello , We have the family raft room for 4persons with fan and share bathroom , but for the family with children we recommend the room in the building . This room for 2 persons and it’s possible to add the extra mattress for the children. Best Regards, Bamboo House.
mandy4press asked a question Oct 2016
New Orleans, Louisiana238 contributions21 helpful votes
are there outlets in each room?
Answer from Karen A
Huddersfield, United Kingdom18 contributions14 helpful votes
There was only one room with an adjoining wetroom so there were outlets in the main room, yes. Just to let you know it is very beautiful but authentic and there was no air conditioning, only fans, and the electricity did cut out while we were there. So don't expect luxury!
Stevie B asked a question Jan 2016
Songkhla35 contributions13 helpful votes
Can we bring our two small dogs?
Answer from Bamb00h0use
Kanchanaburi, Thailand8 contributions
Thank you so much , we look forward to seeing you then ;))
Lynne Hardinge wrote a tip Mar 2020
16 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay in basic river hut- go for land based upgraded room"
Read full review
747idletraveller wrote a tip Dec 2019
Hampshire, United Kingdom84 contributions62 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The solid built rooms had wifi (although you have to sign in each time!) whereas I believe the huts do not."
Read full review
UniquePerth wrote a tip Nov 2018
Australia310 contributions69 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Possibly a bungalow would be nice."
Read full review
Lior I wrote a tip July 2018
Tel Aviv, Israel26 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"raft house- by far"
Read full review
Chris318i wrote a tip Mar 2018
Regensburg, Germany423 contributions331 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The cheaper rooms on the river are quite loud, especially during the night, when the party boats are passing by."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kanchanaburi area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$18 - AU$29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bamboo house hotel kanchanaburi
LOCATION
ThailandKanchanaburi ProvinceKanchanaburi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BAMBOO HOUSE (AU$18): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Kanchanaburi, Thailand) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bamboo House
Which popular attractions are close to Bamboo House?
Nearby attractions include River Kwai (0.4 km), Bridge Over the River Kwai (0.2 km), and Sugar Member Bar (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bamboo House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Bamboo House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Bamboo House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bamboo House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kan Buri, Ban Suan Bua Restaurant, and By de River.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bamboo House?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bamboo House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Thai.
Are there any historical sites close to Bamboo House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wat Thawornwararam (2.4 km).
Does Bamboo House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
All Kanchanaburi HotelsKanchanaburi Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KanchanaburiHotels near Bamboo House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars