We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

La Vela Khao Lak

Save
Share
98/9 Moo 5 Khuk Khak, Takuapa, Khao Lak 82220 Thailand
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
FindHotel
USD 48
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/06/22
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1848)
Pool & Beach (369)
Room & Suite (216)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 19/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from La Vela Khao Lak
Updated 19/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#18 of 82 hotels in Khao Lak
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
SUBLIME COMFORT, RUSTIC FEEL Inspired by verdant tropical nature, a shimmering ocean, and rich cultural heritage of the ancient Takola seaport. This modern resort with its rustic charm welcomes visitors from around the world with a glowing hospitality, bringing back the beautiful traditions of the local people during the maritime trade era. Discover a haven of exquisite beachfront comfort, immerse yourself in our stunningly huge free-form swimming pool, dine with your loved one by candle light at our beach club, and awaken your spirit at our spa – what better way to spend a vacation in this beautiful destination?
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Snorkelling
Fishing
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Laptop safe
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, German, Thai
860Reviews119Q+A94Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 647
  • 148
  • 36
  • 21
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Au Aomduan wrote a review 12 Jan
11 contributions
+1
My room type is Deluxe pool access. It's beautiful, clean, there are full amenities. The hotel is in good location. It's next to the beach, landscape is good. Hotel staff are very nice. Food are excellent. We love here . See you next time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
RRetiredCentralCoast wrote a review Dec 2021
Central Coast187 contributions98 helpful votes
Most unprofessional Reception staff.This modern hotel has so many negative points and very few positive.To say 3 star standard is being generous.Very modern hotel which is not being maintained. Pool access room is very spacious but you must be prepared to accept a mouldy shower and gritty floors, a very dirty pool with green slimy access steps, no access is easy for anyone with limited mobility even to go down the numerous stairs to breakfast which while very extensive is not aimed at attracting Westerners. The whole hotel is aimed at the young Asian market, not us Ferang who have been annual Visitors to Thailand for 20 years.The late night music may not be to everyone's taste if you wish to sleep.No comfortable seating in your room, not even one chair, just an uncomfortable sofa and a more uncomfortable one on the decking.We had a private hot tub buy noted that it was never cleaned during a 7 night stay so best to give it a miss.This is a very modern hotel which will not stand the test of time due to lack of maintenance and improper construction finish as concrete exterior not sealed properly so leaching salt.Location is great.Fantastic restaurants in town.Hotel taxi to airport is twice the price of one you can privately book.Happy to pay top dollar for cleanliness and good service but this is not what you will get at this hotel.Give it a wide berth.Plenty of magnificent hotels and resorts in Khao lak.Three star is being very generous.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Avoid using hotel taxis.Don't go to this resort expecting 5 star treatment.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Vannyda Chhan Nin, Guest Services / Front Office at La Vela Khao Lak
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear RRetiredCentralCoast, Warm greetings from La Vela Khao Lak, We are very pleased that you have written a detailed review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sad and apologetic to hear that you have encountered multiple inconveniences during your stay. Your comments regarding the unprofessional reception staff and the cleanliness of the room will be taken seriously and we will take prompt action. Trainings will be scheduled for our Front Office Staff. The cleanliness of the rooms will be in serious discussion with our Housekeeping department. As a hotel we will try our best to improve the standards and services based on your comments . We hope to have the opportunity again to welcome you back with our improved hotel services and standards. With best regards, Vannyda C Guest Service Manager
Read more
D&D_Holiday_feedback wrote a review Dec 2021
Wokingham, United Kingdom127 contributions194 helpful votes
We previously stayed at this hotel 3 years ago and came back with family in a delayed trip from 2020 Arrival We arrived to a rather wet Khao Lak and were greeted by the hotel staff. Check in was a little slow as the staff didn’t seem too sure what they needed to take from us in terms of Thai passes etc. We were taken to our rooms and luggage arrived promptly Room We had 2 rooms, a grand poolside room and a poolside room. Both are quite far from each other so if travelling in a party try to book the same rooms. Rooms are comfortable with good Wi-fi and air con. Rooms seemed in good condition so no issues there. There is a large fridge so good for snacks and drinks. Our issue was the location as we were based right opposite the bar so limited privacy. A curtain or something around the Bath on the balcony would be good. We also previously had foot stalls on the balcony - it was impossible to relax on the balcony on a sofa for 2 people - I’d prefer either loungers or for them to reinstate the foot stools so you can at least both recline and relax. When you book a pool access room it’s normally so you can relax without having to go to a communal area so a little disappointing. Food Breakfast was very good. A good choice of cuisines. Would be good if hot drinks & waters were brought to the table to save more trips to the buffet Facilities My mum and partner had great massages. Pools were clean and large - upper ones were a little chilly but we had quite a bit of rain. The beach was great. Water sports are available and since we last visited they have added a skate park. Sunbeds are comfy. The hotel isn’t really suitable for this with limited mobility as there are hills / steps to the beach from the rooms Covid All staff were wearing masks at all times and there was sanitizer in all public areas. Gloves were required in the buffet (provided). The staff seemed to still be getting to grips with the Covid rules for non residents, for example we provided some paper work on arrival but then a couple of days later was asked for more details. Also no clear view from the staff on what we did with the lateral flows on day 5. Suspect the more visitors will make this smoother Local area The local economy was just starting to open up. We had great meals at the Taj Mahal, Siam, Thai life and Nut at Give me five looked after us for many meals. We also had local massages and visited Khao Lak elephant sanctuary. Spending money in the community was very important to us as they started to open back up post Covid. The issue The hotel has obviously had to change their business model and now seem to be targeting 20 something locals. As a result some areas get busy with people ‘living their best life’ taking pictures for instragram. And the weekends are party city - the first Friday the music went on till 2.30am and only really stopped when we called as old people to complain. Completely understand that the hotel needs to make money but Khao Lak sells itself as a family resort and this at the weekend the hotel is more like Ibiza with grown adults spending the day going down the kids slides. The hotel once we complained did more us to a room further away from the noise but it was a downgraded room (they gave us massages to compensate) but it was disappointing that somewhere we had been able to relax before had become somewhere we couldn’t relax all the time. Overall Still a lovely hotel but will be interested to see how it evolves over time. The local area is lovely, as is the beach so worth visiting the area
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Vannyda Chhan Nin, Guest Services / Front Office at La Vela Khao Lak
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear D_DHolidayFeedback, Warm greetings from La Vela Khao Lak, We are very grateful that you took the time to write a detailed review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are truly apologetic and feel very sad that we did not meet your expectations. We will note all the comments and we will try our best to improve our hotel services and standards based on your review. There will be trainings scheduled for our staff in order to make the check in process more smooth. Once again we are very sorry for not being able to meet your expectations you had when you visited our hotel 3 years ago. We hope to welcome you once again in the near future with an improved hotel services and standards. With best regards, Vannyda C. Guest Service Manager
Read more
Win Natthawat wrote a review Oct 2021
Bangkok, Bangkok, Thailand4 contributions
The first experience here happened in La Vela was that no one directed me where to park the car however it was fine as there was a free area beside the road. The check in process took long time, maybe this impacted from Covid. Good point was that I saw them try their best to look after everyone. When I was in my room, the staff took me there and guided me every parts in the room. However when I asked of towel, the staff went into the bathroom and touched those towels so I decided to leave towels on floor. Remember the hygiene is very important. I joined dinner at Kokulo beach club and waited for a while to have someone welcomed me. The first one welcomed me and forwarded to the second one and the second forwarded to the third staff and unbelievable they three all asked me whether I have reserved the table or not. I am fine to answer their questions but not three time. When I asked for a bill, the staff asked me to pay at cashier. Would it be better to bring the bill to customers? Those above are all I think they could do it better. All others are good, Room is good and well designed. Breakfast is also nice.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Srivika Boonga, ผู้จัดการโรงแรม at La Vela Khao Lak
Responded 30 Oct 2021
Dear Winn_NatSu Thank you very much for your kindly comments and sharing your experiences while stayed with us, We terribly sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our services We will immediately improve for all matter you have mentioned. The check in process take longer time than normal situation due to covid but we will try to make it faster. Currently we have some trainee working with us which not get train properly but we will fix this part and will not let it effect to our guest vacation. please accepted our sincere apologize for the inconvenience and please rest assure that we will improve promptly. With best regards Srivika B Room Divisions Manager
Read more
Bank K wrote a review Oct 2021
Phuket, Thailand1 contribution
A well designed hotel suitable for family and couple. The room was clean and comfortable. Very nice swimming pool, we really enjoyed the kids pool. Staff were nice and friendly. Some were very attentive while some could use a bit more training but all was forgiven since most of them have just come back to work after a long leave due to the pandemic. Decent food, reasonably priced and great view of the sunset. The MAJOR setback for our experience was the Skating Competition held at the hotel. The event dragged on to finish at around 2 am. The sound from the event was consistently loud throughout the night as we tried to get some sleep. This was a huge let down for us as we received no warning about the event finishing so late. The hotel management should have been more considerate and respect other guests who did not have any interest in the event. There were no formal apologies from the hotel the following morning, which was terrible. Overall, we did enjoy the hotel and its facilities but the management was so poor that we do not consider coming back and would not recommend anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Srivika Boonga, ผู้จัดการโรงแรม at La Vela Khao Lak
Responded 25 Oct 2021
Dear 441 bankk First of all I'd like to take this opportunity to say " Thank you very much " for your kind selected La Vela Khaolak for your holiday in Khaolak - Thailand We delighted that you were satisfy with our food and have enjoyed the sunset view. We noted that our staffs need to be trained and the schedule of training is already submit in our training program. The most important thing that we must say “We do apologize that the skate competition were finish late and disturb you sleeping time” It was our mistake that the competition was delay from the day time because of rain but we will take this issue to improve immediately. And all of your comments had already bring up in the management team and please ensure that the step of improvement is already on process. Please kindly accept our sincere apologize and if I can be any further assistance please contact my direct email at rdm@lavelakhaolak.com Your comments are truly appreciated and guide us to the point of improvement. We certainly hope to welcome you back again. With our best regards Srivika B. Room Divisions Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 59 - USD 208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ThailandPhang Nga ProvinceTakua PaKhao Lak
NUMBER OF ROOMS
181
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about La Vela Khao Lak
Which popular attractions are close to La Vela Khao Lak?
Nearby attractions include Tsunami Tailor (1.0 km), Mr Tailor Khao Lak (0.8 km), and Mr. Chay Bar (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at La Vela Khao Lak?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at La Vela Khao Lak?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at La Vela Khao Lak?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at La Vela Khao Lak?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Vela Khao Lak?
Conveniently located restaurants include Na Suang, Ben's Restaurant, and Little Marghe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at La Vela Khao Lak?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does La Vela Khao Lak have an airport shuttle?
Yes, La Vela Khao Lak offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does La Vela Khao Lak have airport transportation?
Yes, La Vela Khao Lak offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at La Vela Khao Lak?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does La Vela Khao Lak offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.