We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Planet Lodge

Show Prices
#3 of 39 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Planet Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

364 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Planet Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 274: English reviews
Manchester, New Hampshire
Reviewed 9 March 2016

Planet Lodge is an inviting atmosphere with friendly, knowledgeable staff. The food is excellent! It certainly is a place to relax and get to know some of the native people and people from other countries. Wonderful experience!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jbrooney48
PlanetLodger, Front Office Manager at Planet Lodge, responded to this review

Dear jbrooney48, Thank you for you kind words. I am happy to know you found our food "is excellent!" We hope to see you again when you are in Arusha. Warm regards, Joyce for PL Team

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here before and after safari and despite being 10 mins outside of town it is superb! Food is very good from the restaurant, the rooms are spacious, clean and have massive comfy beds with mozzy nets round them. Pool facilities are excellent and the staff can't do enough to help. Sooooo glad we stayed here based on other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robandlea
PlanetLodger, Front Office Manager at Planet Lodge, responded to this review

Hello robandlea, We appreciate you taking time to share your experience at Planet Lodge. Yes, we are always glad to assist and we are equally glad you chose to stay here! Asante! Joyce for PL Team

Reviewed 8 March 2016

Overall, the hotel was excellent and just what we were expecting. The staff in particular were so friendly, which made our stay so welcoming. We stayed for 3 separate nights- on arrival to Arusha before our safari, on returning from safari and after climbing Kilimanjaro. The rooms are large, clean, comfortable with air conditioning (which worked well) set in very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iceman789
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Planet Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Iceman789, Thank you for your kind words. It was our pleasure to have all of you stay with us. Yes, the road is not the best but after following us with the municipality we were promised that it will be fixed in the very near future. We appreciate you choosing us and hope the rest of your vacation was...

Reviewed 7 March 2016

We traveled from the USA to Arusha for an 8 day safari. Planet Lodge was where we stayed our first and last night of our trip. We had no idea what to expect of our accommodations in Tanzania. We were pleasantly surprised at how lovely the grounds, lobby, restaurant and rooms were. The rooms were large and comfortable. The grounds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David K
PlanetLodger, Front Office Manager at Planet Lodge, responded to this review

Hi David K, Thank you for choosing us and sharing some thoughts on TA. We are encouraged by your kind words on how friendly and helpful we are... yes, we want you to enjoy your time with us and when you allow us to do so, we find our work much more satisfying! We look forward to seeing you again...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 March 2016

I stayed here twice before and after climbing Mt Kilimanjaro in a twin share room. I loved the grounds and the whole place was very clean with a lovely swimming pool. The first bungalow we had was in nice location and it was enjoyable to sit on the balcony. The second time we stayed we had a bungalow that was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle V
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Planet Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Michelle V, Thank you for choosing us and taking time to share your thoughts here. Your feedback on the menu is well taken although we do have some African meals including Nyama choma sampler and Swahili dish of fish served with rice, ugali or chapati on there. We also offer local meals in most of our buffets and set...

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Over the course of our 20 day stay in Tanzania, we stayed 5 nights at the Planet Lodge. Our stay there was organized by Serengeti Pride Safaris - the best people to get you up Kilimanjaro! The accommodations were great, the grounds were very pretty, the food was outstanding, and, best of all, the staff was very welcoming. I did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tucs0nhiker
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 6 February 2016

What a great place. We each get a whole bungalow. Place is very clean. Bed is comfortable. Landscaping is amazing in the whole area. Security is very high. The only complain is the pricing of their food is outrageous. Don't eat there. Find a local place. You'll eat better for way less.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raymond C
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Planet Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Raymond C, Thank you for you kind words and taking the time to share your experience here. Yes, we work very hard to make the Lodge great and when you agree, we are very encouraged. We however, respectfully disagree with your thoughts on food prices here and the recommendation for people to eat elsewhere. I must say food preparation...

Ocean City
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Nice lodge for where its located. We enjoyed the property a lot and the rooms were very nice. The staff was very friendly. We only had problems with the internet, slow and not working properly. and there was some noise at night being in town

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie M
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Planet Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Anne-Marie M, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I am glad to know you enjoyed your stay and thought we are very friendly. Yes, the internet is seemingly a pain point for most customers used to faster service but also unaware of the cost for internet in our part of the...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 22 January 2016

We stayed at Planet Lodge on the first night we arrived in Arusha before heading out on safari. It was a unique hotel with two rooms per round pod. The rooms were very comfortable, fairly large space and a private balcony. Electricity is shut off during the day but was turned on in the evening for air conditioning if desired....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brittany M
Reviewed 21 January 2016

We stayed here at the beginning and the end of our safari. The little houses are very nice, clean and well mantained, the rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are clean. The staff is friendly, the food quite average. Overall, it was a nice experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elena G

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
0:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
5.1 km away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 39 in Arusha
818 reviews
14.1 km away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 39 in Arusha
366 reviews
5.8 km away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 39 in Arusha
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#8 of 39 in Arusha
75 reviews
4.2 km away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#9 of 39 in Arusha
126 reviews
14.2 km away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the heart of Arusha, Planet Lodge will captivate you with the natural beauty of the Tanzanian landscape. Our unique African village styled accommodations offers you a peaceful sanctuary where you can unwind and connect with nature. Situated on 4.5 acres of lush gardens with views of Mount Meru, this African retreat places you in the center of that delicate balance where nature and casual living intersect. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Planet Lodge

Address: Plot 2271, Moshono Village, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Price Range: $119 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Planet Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Planet Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Arusha
#5 Business Hotel in Arusha
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Planet Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Planet Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No idea on pricing since this was a package put together by our travel agent.”
 of 5 bubbles hkillary, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we were in an outside bungalow and certainly never heard any noise.”
  • We stayed in Unit 28 which was clean, comfortable and close to the pool.
 of 5 bubbles LornePark, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms look similar. Lower numbers nearer restaurant and reception.”
 of 5 bubbles ElizabethH326, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are in Lodges which are Semi Detached”
 of 5 bubbles bucko1989, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Over all good place for short stays. It will be more interesting if more variation is offered at Breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles rrdamle, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay