We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arusha Planet Lodge

Traveller (195)
Room & Suite (50)
Traveller (195)
Room & Suite (50)
Pool & Beach (15)
Overview
Plot 2271, Moshono Village, Arusha Tanzania See on map
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
3 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
Description
Nestled in the heart of Arusha, Planet Lodge will captivate you with the natural beauty of the Tanzanian landscape. Our unique African village styled accommodations offers you a peaceful sanctuary where More you can unwind and connect with nature. Situated on 4.5 acres of lush gardens with views of Mount Meru, this African retreat places you in the center of that delicate balance where nature and casual living intersect. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Room Service
Free Internet
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Airport Transportation
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair Access
Beachfront
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Business
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Business
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
28
Price range
USD 85 - USD 152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 48 nearby hotels
Arusha Safari Lodge
138 reviews
2.27 km away
Masai Camp
29 reviews
3.33 km away
Kigongoni Lodge Arusha
150 reviews
4.20 km away
Impala Hotel
302 reviews
4.82 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 143 nearby restaurants
Themi Living Garden
6 reviews
3.09 km away
Chinese Whispers
378 reviews
3.85 km away
Picasso Cafe
209 reviews
4.87 km away
Onsea House Arusha
139 reviews
2.20 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 769 nearby attractions
Safaris-R-Us
158 reviews
.91 km away
Avocet Tanzania Safaris
51 reviews
1.21 km away
Team Kilimanjaro
65 reviews
1.43 km away
Expedition Africa
7 reviews
2.27 km away
Reviews & more
551Reviews
232Photos
15Q+A
70Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 220
  • 251
  • 69
  • 8
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
Very nice stay just outside of the downtown of Arusha city. It's quiet, comfortable and the property is absolutely gorgeous. Provides a relaxing stay and a great alternative to the hustle and bustle of Arusha. We flew into Kilimanjaro airport and the lodge arranged our shuttle ri
Read more
Response from PlanetLodges, Guest Relations Manager at Arusha Planet Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Jambo jonnydm, Thank you for choosing us for a stay before and after your safari honeymoon! Glad to know you found the property gorgeous, relaxing and the team accommodating. We appreciate you taking time to share your experience here and hope to see you again in the future. Asante sana! The Team @ Arusha Planet Lodge
Read more
We arrived late (10:00 PM), jet lagged and tired at this oasis in busy Arusha for a one-day stay prior to going on safari. The staff were most welcoming and insisted that we take a seat, have a beverage and cookies before the usual check-in paperwork. Once we completed it, they a
Read more
I stayed here on November 10th after returning from our safari. This hotel was recommended by my tour company, and they didn’t steer us wrong. This place was great! Unfortunately we only stayed one night so I didn’t get to hang out during the day, but from my experience this ho
Read more
Travelling on dusty roads and suddenly you enter this oasis behind the gates. Very nice and relaxing place with attentive staff, good food and nice rooms. The garden makes it a calm place, perfect place to start och end your adventures of trecking and/or safari. Also a giftshop w
Read more
The Planet Lodge in Arusha is a lodge hotel at the border of Arusha town. Rooms are decent, similar to what you will find in many other places. What disappointed us greatly, is their refusal to get us a local taxi. From the lodge to the main road it's a 150m walk, in the dark. S
Read more
Response from PlanetLodges, Manager at Arusha Planet Lodge
Responded 5 weeks ago
Hello SwederSchellens, Thanks for writing about your stay although I recall the incident fdifferently. As you might recall, when you went to reception to request a taxi on the spot, the Team told you of our flat rate of $9 per vehicle (sedan) one way. So Paul from Reception started by calling our van driver who was with other clients to see if he is nearby. Unfortunately, those clients had plans on the other side of town, so we only had a sedan available which cannot take 5 people. Next he called drivers with vans/bigger cars that park in nearby and later those parking at Clock Tower to get a car that can fit 5 pax comfortably. Four of our our usual backup drivers were either waiting to pick up other clients at JRO, out of town or unreachable. This is when Paul came to find me (Manager) for help. I called a van driver from Njiro but they wanted $ 15 each way since they would be coming from far. This is what I communicated to you so you can confirm for the driver to come. I advised that you would pay the driver directly $30 for the vehicle (to and from) before waiting charges, which you can discuss with him to wait or come back later and told you it will take him 20 to 30 more minutes to get to the Lodge. This is when you expressed that the main issue for dining out was high price of our dinner and promised a good bar tab on drinks... so I offered you a discount on BBQ dinner seeing it was getting late to go out. You seemed happy with the offer and I checked with you all again at breakfast where you expressed appreciation for the discount and wanted to know if I was also happy with your bar bill, which was impressive! As you know, we are not in the city center and although we have vehicles for transfers on demand plus several taxis on call, on this particular day we could not get anyone with a big vehicle to come despite trying for about 45 minutes. We cannot just call any taxi, instead we have drivers whom we know and also know their vehicles are good and licenced properly. When we cannot get those taxis, we ask one of the known taxi Drivers to refer someone with a similar vehicle, trustworthiness and language skills. Unfortunately for you, we could not deliver. However, I also want to assure you that we do not make excuses so clients can use our facilities. This is why I decided to discount your food as ideally, we should have provided a taxi timely so you can dine wherever you wish. Since most of our clients dine in, we always encourage clients who wish to go to town to book taxis/ transfers early to avoid disappointment. Clients can also book taxis through their local operators as part of their adventure package or at checkin at our front desk. I hope this is helpful but wish to apologise again for your misfortune. We hope to welcome you back sometime! Abuu, Arusha Planet Lodge
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Garden
Big Bed
The frontview of the rooms from outside
The view of the facilities available inside the room
Previous
We may stay for one night prior to safari. Can we store luggage we can’t take on safari even if not staying on return as we will be going to airport? If so what is cost?
0 Votes They do allow you to store your items if you are coming back to the same hotel. They might not charge you anything depending on how many you will store and for how long. It is best to talk to your travel Tour and have them arrange it for you. The managers are nice and flexible.
0 votes
How often is your shuttle service to/from Arusha? Is it free?
Sure Tamara, thank you for considering a stay with us! The shuttle service to Arusha is free for in house guests and it leaves the Lodge at 10 am and returns clients (pickup at Clock Tower) at 4 pm. You must sign up at Reception the night prior so we can schedule a vehicle appropriate for the number of people in your party. If no one signs up we do not prepare a driver/vehicle so we always encourage clients to sign up early and cancel if the must vs. signing up late. I trust this answers your question but feel free to drop us an email for further information. With best regards, Grace.
1 vote
Show all answers
How can I arrange for transportation from the Kilimanjaro airport to your hotel
Hello Stephanie, We can arrange to collect you from JRO by private vehicle. The charge is dependent on the the number of people as well as amount of luggage you will have. We can send a small sedans, SUVs, vans as well as buses for these purposes. Kindly email us directly via Bookings@Planet-Lodges/com to schedule your transfer and other activities. Karibu sana Arusha Planet Lodge!
0 votes
Show all answers
I am staying at your hotel in April 2018 and was hoping to get transportation from the airport in Kilimanjaro. My flight comes in late, around midnight. Do you provide transportation and if so could you tell me how much it would cost, there are 3 of us.
Sure Stephanie, We can arrange to collect you from JRO by private vehicle. The charge is dependent on the the number of people as well as amount of luggage you will have. We can send a small sedans, SUVs, vans as well as buses for these purposes. Kindly email us directly via Bookings@Planet-Lodges/com to schedule your transfer and other activities. Karibu sana Arusha Planet Lodge!
0 votes
Show all answers
Are there rooms with two beds?
Yes, some of the rooms have 2 beds, and some even have 3 twins. You just need to be clear when making the reservation what you want.
1 vote
Show all answers
Previous
"nice 1 room bungalos"
"All nice rooms"
"We stayed in room #2 the last two nights... had a small refrigerator."
"Choose another lodge or hotel"
"Large rooms, clean and everything works good."
Previous
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing