We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
106A St. Mary's Road, Negombo 11540 Sri Lanka
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Free 10 minute boat tour
Official Site
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (364)
Room & Suite (151)
Videos (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 01/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Waterland
Updated 01/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#1 of 162 hotels in Negombo
Travellers' Choice
Uniquely situated between a river, a canal, and a coconut plantation, Waterland is a tropical oasis of towering coconut trees, flowering birds of paradise, and fragrant frangipani. Custom design, extensive use of teak and mahogany, and regional artwork give each villa a warm, unique character. With only 5 villas, Waterland is exclusive and intimate. Each villa has extensive indoor and outdoor living space and a private infinity-edge plunge pool that provides a refreshing sanctuary to cool off in the tropical climate. Our floating spa gently rocks with the flow of the river Our dining barge allows guests not simply to dine by the water, but on the water. Guest activities include cooking classes, garden tours, bicycling around the neighborhood, boat safaris, boules, billiards, yoga, and spa treatments. Come experience why Trip Advisor has named Waterland 1 of the 25 best Small Hotels in Sri Lanka.
Read more
Room & Suite (151)151
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Airport transportation
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Plunge pool
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Game room
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Neck massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Seating area
Separate dining area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
River View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Sinhala
Hotel links
Special Offer:Free 10 minute boat tour
274Reviews10Q+A42Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 231
  • 33
  • 6
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jet782811 wrote a review 7 Apr
1 contribution
Nice place recommended to couples & family. Enjoyed very well. Well maintained. Good hospitality. Near to Colombo just 30 min ride. Enjoyed a lot. Charming place Food is okay not as expected Worth for money
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Mark Newmark, Owner at Waterland
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for choosing to stay and for taking the time to review your stay. Thanks too for commenting on different aspects of your stay including the villa, the maintenance, the convenience, the charm, the food, the service, and the value for money. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. As you know, Sri Lanka was closed to foreign tourists for about a year. Our focus became serving Sri Lankans and we adjusted the menu accordingly, offering much simpler traditional dishes at lower prices. We understand that for some this is not what they expected. The number of foreign tourists coming to Sri Lanka is still very small. When that number increases significantly, we will transition back to offering our full international menu. We apologize for the limited menu and any disappointment caused. To ensure that we are serving out guests well, on 11 April we will begin serving a limited international menu as well as the menu more tailored to Sri Lankans. We look forward to welcoming you again and to offering you a fuller, more cosmopolitan dining experience that will better match and hopefully exceed your expectations.
Read more
Laura wrote a review Feb 2020
Guildford, United Kingdom12 contributions11 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Probably the best place to stay in Negombo, we chose it for the last night of our honeymoon and it was just AMAZING, from the staff so attentive, polite and looking after you, friendly and calm at all times, to the lovely food during the barbecue dinner and breakfast, the fantastic massages at Waterland Spa and the private infinite pool. Cannot thank them enough for making us feel so welcome and happy during our stay. Totally recommended, we would have loved to stay a few more days!! Laura and Phillip, we stayed at the beautiful Peacock Villa.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All the villas are charming and beautiful, extremely clean, but probably the best would be the...
See more room tips
Response from Mark N, Owner at Waterland
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Honeymoons are seminal events. We are honored that more and more travelers are choosing to spend part of their honeymoons at Waterland. We understand that with this privileges comes an added responsibility to ensure that our guests have a magical experience. We are delighted that you had an amazing stay and enjoyed the beauty, the villa, the pool, the massages, the meals, and the service. Thank you for taking the time to write about these many aspects of your stay. Thanks too for acknowledging the outstanding staff. I am fortunate to work with such a dedicated team. We wish the two of you a lifetime of happiness together!
Read more
Anjali C wrote a review Feb 2021
Colombo, Sri Lanka17 contributions6 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed at Waterland for our anniversary celebration. We wanted a private pool due to the prevailing COVID situation in the country and waterland is the ideal location for that as its all villas have private pools. We selected Elephant Villa, which is facing the lagoon as we usually prefer locations with a nice view ; the rest are in complete privacy. They take all the safety precautions against COVID 19 and provided a great service. Food is also good. Charming and tranquil atmosphere.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Room Tip: Rooms are spacious and with unique classic designs
See more room tips
Response from Mark Newmark, Owner at Waterland
Responded 1 Mar 2021
Thank you so much for choosing to celebrate your anniversary at Waterland We're delighted you had an excellent stay and enjoyed the privacy, safety, charm, and tranquility. Thank you for the highlighting the quality of the food and the service. We are fortunate to have such a dedicated and talented team. Thanks too for noting the precautions we take to keep our guests safe against COVID. We wish you many more years of happiness together!
Read more
Paul wrote a review Jan 2021
Colombo, Sri Lanka52 contributions3 helpful votes
I stayed at the Lotus Villa for 1 night on my wife's birthday. I even couldn't believe how beautiful and peaceful the villa is. It's just 20 min away from my home (Negombo) so this is definitely not my last stay. And 1 night stay is definitely not enough and not recommended. I would suggest atleast 2 nights. I myself a person from tourism industry, the appearance of the hotel should receive a kudos. The villa surroundings are filled with vegetables and coconut trees addition to the flower trees. They have sign boards for each and every plants. The way they work towards to have a eco friendly atmosphere is really appreciated. The best villa is of course depends on the person but I believe Lotus villa is more private than any other villas including the bigger peacock villa. Amazing private pool. Love it. I asked them to do a small deco and a birthday cake, and they've done a job more than I expected at a very reasonable price. Thank you so much. Staffs are really nice and very attentive. Whenever I need anything from the day I inquire to the day I check out, they were amazing. Did a great job. So 10/10. Food. This is where I wish to comment something different. Unfortunately we were the only occupied villa at that time, so they cooked only for us. This is kinda disadvantage because the food was amazing. It's tasty, well presented. But the quantity of the food and the number of options available/ varieties are limited. But I really don't think this as a complaint since I do understand being the only occupied villa, I also don't wish to throw away foods. So that's okay. But should visit during a peak time to see the food varieties. Over all a 9/10, wish to give a 10/10 if the food options were there. But let's try next time and see. Thank you for making our stay and my wife's birthday a memorable one.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Mark N, Owner at Waterland
Responded 7 Feb 2021
Thank you for choosing Waterland as the place to celebrate your wife's birthday. We are glad we could help make her birthday a special one. Thank you too for taking so much time and care to write about different aspects of your stay. Reviews help people make informed choices about their accommodation and are extremely important for small boutique hotels such as Waterland. In previous years, the vast majority of our guests were from abroad. While the decline in foreign tourists has been devastating for the country's economy, it has allowed us to welcome many more Sri Lankan guests. This has been immensely satisfying as many of those guests are coming to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, honeymoons, and other special occasions. I think part of the charm of Waterland is that its beauty and tranquility is so unexpected. Although we are the top-rated hotel on TripAdvisor in Negombo, the approach to Waterland makes it feel like a hidden gem as you have so aptly described it. We're delighted that you and your wife had such an enjoyable stay and that you enjoyed the beauty of the property, the gardens, the setting, the villa, the plunge pool, the privacy, the value, and the quality of the food. Thank you for highlighting the excellence of the staff and their attentiveness. Their professionalism, warmth, and dedication make the difference between a good stay and a great stay. Your comments about the meal offerings are astute. The lack of foreign tourists indeed caused us to dramatically limit our menu options. As foreign tourists return, we will expand our menu options. We apologize for any inconvenience or disappointment caused by the limited menu. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Read more
Prasad nilanka wrote a review Dec 2020
4 contributions
We stayed 2 nights in lotus villa,waterland negombo.. it's such a wonderful experience. Everything is perfect. Villa is amazing and higly privacy . Bed is so cool and the pool is amazing . Food is very good and tasty. Specially staff is very helpful. We wil definitely come back again.thank you waterland ❤️😀
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Mark Newmark, Owner at Waterland
Responded 28 Dec 2020
Thank you very much for choosing Waterland for your honeymoon and for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review of your stay. It gives us immensely pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful experience at Waterland and that everything was perfect. Thank you for noting the beauty of the villas, the privacy, the pool, the bed, and the meals. It's lovely of you to especially recognize the excellence of the staff. I used to think that it was the beauty of the setting that distinguishes Waterland. While the site and architecture are magnificent, I increasingly appreciate that it is the skill and dedication of the staff that creates a truly magical guest experience. We wish you two a lifetime of happiness together and look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
USD 113 - USD 172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Sri LankaWestern ProvinceNegombo
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Waterland
Which popular attractions are close to Waterland?
Nearby attractions include St. Mary's Church (6.6 km), Main Fish Market (7.0 km), and Angurukaramulla Temple (6.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Waterland?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Waterland?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Waterland?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Waterland?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Waterland?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Enviro, Queen's Restaurant, and The Container beach restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Waterland?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Waterland have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Waterland offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Waterland?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Sinhala.
Does Waterland have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.