We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Topaz Beach Hotel

PricelineUSD 46*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 47*
USD 46*
USD 47*
USD 47*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Topaz Beach Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 169: English reviews
Start your review of Topaz Beach Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. Close to the airport but right on the sea. Clean and comfortable rooms. Great breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. If I go back to Sri Lanka I will definitely go there.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mauro M
Sassuolo, Italy
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Amazing experience. the hotel is near the airport (30 minutes) and it's in front of the beach. The staff is kind and the cleaness is avarage for the country. I would certainly recommend it to other people.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Flavia_Asti
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I made a reservation on B&B basis. Not only is it worth your money but the view is quite rewarding too. They had a small breakfast buffet and a small pool. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an affordable layover.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Buddhika W
Management response:

Thank you Buddhika for staying with us and for your nice recommendation.

Surrey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We used the hotel on our first two nights in Sri Lanka to recover from the flight and on the last night for ease of getting to the airport. This is probably as long as you would want to stay in Negombo and the hotel had a lot going for it with plenty of shady space to lounge in, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
Management response:

Thank you Phil for lovely clear review. Like the way how nicely you described our hotel and location. I would highlight that our location with airport & beach close by and also several useful shops nearby. As per your comment we have planned a refurbishment. See you again soon.

Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

After travelling the world for 8 months, we decided to spend our final week in Sri Lanka lazing by a pool/on the beach. We had a great time relaxing and I can't fault the hotel for meeting our needs. The pool is great and the views of the beach (which is very clean) were great, especially for the sunset. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jon_L_1986
Management response:

Jon - good positives and constructive feedback (will inform the management). Also I have passed your message to Prassad who is very happy about it. We are glad that you had a relaxing stay at our place.

Reviewed 21 March 2017

Beach area , Food , Service , Management & everything is perfect & very much worth for the price we are paying. Menu items are very good. I can recommend this place without any doubts for anyone who is planning..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank danushka s
Management response:

Danushka - it was a beautiful function hosted at our place. Thank you for choosing Topaz Beach Hotel.

Reviewed 17 March 2017

The Topaz Beach Hotel is a good value if you are looking for a place right on the beach. The hotel itself is an older structure and might be lacking in some amenities that international travelers may be used to. However, my room was clean, the wifi was good, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kyle G
Management response:

Thanks Kyle for staying with us and appreciate your feedback for highlighting our location (right on the beach), clean rooms with good wifi and good friendly staff. Sorry for the confusion about the Amex recently our machine is not working (in process to fix it). We are pleased that you rated our hotel as "Great Value"

Ruislip
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Ramesh and staff looked after us really well. Topaz Hotel organised a 10 day tour around Sri Lanka which I would thoroughly recommend for first time visitors to Sri Lanka. We gave Ramesh our budget and rough itinerary and he organised everything for us. We had our own personal driver Wasantha who was absolutely brilliant! He couldn't have looked after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
Management response:

Mark & Karen - we are glad that you had a great time in Sri Lanka. It was great that you enjoyed the diversity from beach, wildlife (elephants, whales...), waterfalls and lot more. I'll pass the credit to our hotel staff and your favourite driver/guide Wasanth. See you again soon. Regards. Ramesh

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

I am not one to go out of my way to complain or to write reviews on places visited however it is with much anger I felt it necessary to post this on TripAdvisor seeing as they so proudly advertised. My partner and I had booked to stay for 3 nights in a deluxe suite at 10,000rs pn.The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmmaAdair020790
Management response:

We have questioned the staff about this and it seems there were ants in the room because the welcome drink served in the room was not cleared. We will take action on this and make sure this does not happen again. Sorry about the bad experience you had.

Bridlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2017

This hotel could be a great place to stay but unfortunately the bedrooms are not very clean & at breakfast there were a lot of flies on uncovered food. The staff are very friendly & helpful, but it is the management that are at fault.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Audrey S
Management response:

We are sorry for your bad experience. I will report this to the management to take action.

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
1.2 km away
Beacon Beach Negombo
Beacon Beach Negombo
#17 of 41 in Negombo
67 reviews
1.5 km away
Sea Breeze Deluxe Inn
Sea Breeze Deluxe Inn
#19 of 41 in Negombo
16 reviews
0.8 km away
Paradise Holiday Village
Paradise Holiday Village
#30 of 41 in Negombo
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Camelot Beach Hotel
Camelot Beach Hotel
#12 of 41 in Negombo
560 reviews
1.2 km away
Catamaran Beach Hotel
Catamaran Beach Hotel
#33 of 41 in Negombo
244 reviews
3.4 km away
The Pearl
The Pearl
#24 of 41 in Negombo
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Topaz Beach Hotel in Sri Lanka......along the beautiful stretch of sandy beach in the Indian Ocean. If you like your holiday to be next to the Beach and Ocean, where you want to Rest under the Sun or Play in the Sand or Watch the beautiful Sunset or Sail in the Sea then you have come to the right place. Take a look at our PHOTOS and decide on the room you like. Find out our affordable prices which caters all budgets and book your dream holiday. All our comfortable rooms come with private balcony which offers supreme views of the ocean and this is the ideal place on the Negombo beach for those seeking serene and absolute peace. With fully trained staff working around the clock we make sure you receive the best service to fulfill your needs. Overall this is an excellent tropical place for both holidaymakers and honeymooners. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Topaz Beach Hotel

Address: 21 Poratota Road, Ettukala, Negombo 22100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Price Range: $53 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Topaz Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Topaz Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Topaz Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Topaz Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“quiet and clean”
225maurom, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a balcony. Beautiful view outside.”
buddhikaw2015, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have a sea view; west wing rooms are full on while south wing rooms are side view and shadier.”
315PhilC, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors with beach view”
87danushkas, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Right on Beach”
MarkP196, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
USD 46* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 47
Expedia.comUSD 47
TripAdvisorUSD 47
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates