We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Amangalla

Travellers' Choice award winner
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Amangalla
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

429 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 365: English reviews
Start your review of Amangalla
 Click to rate
New York
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Fabulous hotel in the old Dutch Fort area of Galle. It is adjacent to the old Dutch Church in itself a marvel of history. The hotel is of course completely up to Aman standard, meaning at or beyond international 5 stars.We had a room whose style and fit out was mood setting for this historic property. Of note is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Getitright212
Victoria
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our three night stay was a delight in every way. We moved from downstairs (view from window to renovation works next door disappointing) to a fourth floor spacious room, with long and airy verandah area and a view from our window to a gorgeous tree with peahens on the branches. There was no problem with the move, every staff member...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaneVictoria
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A must do when one visits the Galle fort is to have high tea at Amangalla. A beautifully renovated property that is well maintained and exudes an old world charm. Their scones and selection of teas were wonderful. We appreciated the fact that the chef was quick to cook up some vegetarian alternatives for us on short notice.Hope to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nandita T
Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Home away from home, wether you are a couple or come as single- this place is a very sophisticated, lovingly and perfectly kept hotel. Old Dutch interior tastefully mixed with modern local designs and materials make this place a local experience though matching highest international standarts. The mindfulness of the staff is heartwarming, their smile make ones day smiling. food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JairaiKaur
New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

LOCATION The hotel is located inside the fort walls and was easy to walk around inside the walls. ROOMS The rooms are beautiful. We weren’t sure what to expect because it doesn’t seem like a “typical” Aman hotel, but they did such a great job restoring the look from the New Orient Hotel. SERVICE The service was great at this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deborahanne312
Charlotte, NC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent a few nights in this hotel as part of a tour of Sri Lanka. It is a beautiful and elegant place which preserves the Colonial air of a grand hotel. Our Chamber Room was spacious and nicely decorated, with a large bathroom. The common areas were beautiful. Service was lovely. Sleep quality was excellent, with good bedding and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PoisonPrincess
Port Campbell, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food here was fantastic. So was the service. Its what you expect from an Aman property. The location is beautiful and a walk from some stunning restaurants and bars in the Galle Fort. If your visiting Galle, stay here !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allan_z_w
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Being the 5th Aman I have stayed at, I have a very high bar set for Amangalla; and I would hate to have long complaint list on this hotel, as it is such a gorgeous colonial building which have been tastefully renovated and re-fitted out. Fortunately, Amangalla exceeded expectation in many ways. My favourite part of the stay was just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reginald P S
Aman_PR_Team, General Manager at Amangalla, responded to this review

Dear Reginald P S, We are very grateful for the time taken to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear of your adoration for Amangalla, that you found the colonial building to be tastefully renovated and that we were able to exceed your expectations. I would like to discuss your concerns with you and would be grateful...

Düsseldorf
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A lovely property, very well maintained, excellent throughout...service and food very good. The atmosphere and setting is spectacularly charming, the garden and pool a little paradise..we were sad to leave..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OKD63
Boston
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at the Amangalla for a night while in Sri Lanka for a family wedding earlier this month. We had a wonderful experience -- the staff and level of service are both excellent. Very old world colonial feel, beautiful facilities. Our butler took us on an informative tour of Galle and brought us up to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gonzy31

335 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (314)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
2:38
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (135)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
13.1 km away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,360 reviews
0.4 km away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#19 of 60 in Galle
474 reviews
2.9 km away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#11 of 60 in Galle
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 km away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
345 reviews
2.7 km away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
2.9 km away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the historic port of Galle, Amangalla sits within the ramparts of the 17th-century Galle Fort, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Named after the Sanskrit word for 'peace' and galla, the Sinhalese word for the town of Galle, the resort reveals the Fort's daily activities and its rich legacy. Offering views of the resort's 200-year-old gardens and of the Fort and harbour beyond, Amangalla provides for the leisurely exploration of this historic trading port and the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amangalla

Address: 10 Church Street | Inside the Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Price Range: $880 - $1,359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amangalla 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Amangalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amangalla Hotel Galle
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#8 Spa Hotel in Galle
#11 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#13 Family Hotel in Galle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amangalla staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
Bedford, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Amangalla staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A room overlooking the pool was fabulous. The upstairs rooms on the 4th floor were great too but note, no lift.”
 of 5 bubbles JaneVictoria, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles gonzy31, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Quiet rooms at the back in the garden area”
 of 5 bubbles davidtuffley, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms that front on the main street have a bit more city noise.”
 of 5 bubbles RGGB, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Loved our quiet garden room #31 on the first floor near the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles RoiFritz, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
SmithHotels.com
USD 1,026*
View Deal
AMOMAUSD 1,848
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates