We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shangri-Lanka Villa

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shangri-Lanka Villa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

466 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Shangri-Lanka Villa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 422: English reviews
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2014

What a jewell of a place, secluded within a lush setting and only a short stroll to a gorgeous beach. We could not have asked for a better way to kick off our Sri Lankan odyssey than our four night stay at the Shangri Lanka Villas! The wonderful owners and every one of the professional, friendly, and super helpful staff...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank csulik
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We have just returned from honeymoon and travelled from Colombo to galle and finally bentota. Karen's lovely home has 5 enormous rooms and we think we had the best one, room 5. The bedroom was enormous with polished concrete everywhere and a private balcony overlooking the rice paddies and also the pool. The staff here go to all sorts of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ecb186338
bedfordshire
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here and first impressions were great the rooms spacious and very clean, very nicely decorated with lots of attention to detail. A notebook to use with free WiFi nice little touch. The gardens well maintained and very relaxing great pool and plenty sun beds. The staff were all very good and spoke great English the chef is excellent...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jodave186
Cheshire
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed there with friends for 5 nights from 5th Jan 2014. This place is impeccably run and is very clean and well cared for throughout. 3 Course Breakfast included in price - nice choice and something for everyone. 5/6 accommodations beautifully appointed with huge bathrooms/wet-rooms and a laptop (with WiFi) if you don't have your own device to hand Ate...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeskipb
Shipley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed at shangri lanka villa for 3 days while visiting Sri Lanka and what a wonderfull place. It was a late booking but we were made so welcome by Rohan and Karen. Nothing was too much trouble. I’m quite fussy about eating curry and spicy foods, but wow the food was soo good. The chef (also called Rohan) was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy F
Crewkerne
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Having travelled around Sri Lanka for 2 1/2 weeks we experienced some super guest houses and hosts/staff. We always hoped that we had made the right choice at Shangri Lanka for our final "chill out" week. Within minutes of arriving we had no worries. We were given a lovely welcome by Raymond and his team and although we were early...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stopped for two nights at Shangri-Lanka villa on 27 and 28 December 2013. Our driver had problems finding the place, but if you have Google maps, its on there! (Buy an Etisalat sim upon arrival at the airport just as you leave the terminal - 300Rupees or £1.50 for 1GB of data!!). We used it as a base to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank renegadesi
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Overpriced in all areas. Food was terrible and we were charged $45 for 10 burnt prawns supposed to weigh 500grams, oh and a tomato. We should have checked the menu before agreeing to their proposal on the first morning, if we wanted to try the jumbo prawns for dinner. They were far from jumbo. We argued the costs when presented...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
shangrilanka, Owner at Shangri-Lanka Villa, responded to this review

Sorry my husband and I were on holiday during your 2 night stay. We do take holidays but it does not alter anything here either way Raymond is sorry to have disappointed you with your bill but was at a loss as to what you were complaining bout apart fro you not wanting to pay it We are very open...

Hounslow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Karen and her husband could/would not be bothered to say hello to us.The room we stayed in had no internet reception, see-through curtains, bathroom doors that locked from outside and not inside, the bathroom windows with easy access to peeping-toms, the kitchens with dogs walking in and out all the time, the swimming pool with no life saving equipment, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashwinshah
shangrilanka, Owner at Shangri-Lanka Villa, responded to this review

We are so sorry for your mis-understanding regarding your stay in October at our boutique guesthouse and are glad of the opportunity to explain As you booked your tour with Aitken Spence we had no control of your expectation of a large resort hotel with eat as much as you like buffet food like the other hotels on your tour....

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2013

A great find. Wonderful food and great service. We enjoyed our stay very much and would certainly recommend to others. The villa offers comfort, hospitality and also great valid for money. Thanks to Karen and her team.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 231jane

442 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (381)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (135)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.7 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
3.9 km away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.1 km away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#9 of 29 in Bentota
755 reviews
0.3 km away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
0.2 km away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Unique boutique guesthouse situated in the heart of a traditional Sri Lankan village. Surrounded by nature yet only minutes from the magnificent Bentota beach. We offer a holiday experience with a difference. No hotel receptions, standard packages, crowds, time restrictions. Just great hospitality and a genuinely personal service, with all the facilities you need. Experience the culture of authentic Sri Lankan village life where ancient customs and traditions blend with modern amenities and services. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shangri-Lanka Villa

Address: 23 De Alwis Road | Horanduwa, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Price Range: $170 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Shangri-Lanka Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-Lanka Villa Boutique Guest House Hotel Bentota
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shangri-Lanka Villa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Shangri-Lanka Villa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“At Bentota room 5 has wonderful early morning views across the rear gardens to the massage building. We also stayed in Room 2, and as it has a bath, it was our favourite. Nothing to differentiate between the Tissa accommodation, all 3 were excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles M6451SMpetera, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top rooms have sunset views”
 of 5 bubbles lorriemarc, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“They are all good.”
 of 5 bubbles SUNOMA, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“They are all lovely. Only 5 in total.”
 of 5 bubbles Nikola180, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Be aware that there are no TVs in the villas or coffee/tea making facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles TonyGlenWoods, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5