We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Surf Hotel

Hotels.comUSD 77*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

811 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Surf Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 604: English reviews
Mumbai
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

I dont know how to explain the situation. Literally stupid people with poor knowledge about how things work. Rude staff, no shame, they abuse you in their own language. Poor service, horrible condition of rooms and accessories.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BhatiaA
Asela K, General Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Bhatiya, The comments made by you will be seriously taken up with the team to understand as to what has taken place during your stay. However, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking some time to review us. Good luck and all the best.

Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Amazing staff ..so helpful. ..146 pool view room is so nice.. but the lunch and the dinner buffet didn't have much varieties. ..we took fb but they had only fish .for dinner had calamari with chopsuey...that was so disappointing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zainab m
Asela K, General Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest, Thank you for taking time to review us. your comments are very well noted. That will help us improving our services further. We wish you all the best.

Brisbane, Qld
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

The location was right on the beach with great views and direct access to the surf. The issues we had were many. The lights were not working and the towels and bathroom accessories had not been replenished. There was no hot water and we could not turn off the light on the balcony. The safe was not operational and light...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sailguy99
Asela K, General Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Sailguy, We highly value your comments and we will include your suggestions in our future development plans. It's glad to here that the staff has done their best which is also our strength. We will definitely share your thoughts with our staff. Good luck and all the best.

Bangalore
Reviewed 19 October 2016

One of the best beach resorts we have stayed in..... All rooms are sea facing...the beach is clean and easily accessible The buffet spread during dinner and breakfast was phenomenal with plenty of vegetarian options... Very polite, helpful and well mannered staff made the stay memorable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KalpanaPradeep
Asela K, General Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Pradeep, we are glad to here that you have really enjoyed our food and other services which has met your expectations. We would like to welcome you back at The Surf -Bentota. Cheers!

Bangalore
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

The sound of the waves and the view of the sunset from the room- breathtaking! Excellent place to unwind oneself as the beach is just a few yards from the resort. Had a wonderful time at the beach with my family and 3 yr old kid. As far the resort is concerned, it was good. They looked quite concerned about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 10,472,455
Asela K, General Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest, Thank you so much for the useful review. Your mixed comments will be carefully looked into with relevant departmental staff. Hope , Children left Bentota with happy memories. Wish all the best and good luck to you and your family.

Reviewed 14 October 2016

Hotel is situated near the railroad so periodically you will hear sound of trains movement. The view from the room is very beautiful especially at sunset. I took Delux room (150) and I do not found there any problem. Bathroom was big and clean, bedroom also was shiny and decorated with LED light strips which at evening looks nice. Long...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jmen T
Asela K, General Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr/Mrs.Jmen, It's so glad to know that you have had a wonderful time at The Surf, during your recent holiday. Also it is glad to hear that our Guest Relations Executive Malindu has done his best to meet your expectations. I will certainly share your comments with him. However the comments made with regards to safe and the minibar...

Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

The location of the hotel is great but the staff are ill mannered and rude. The bathroom is awful with no place in the shower to keep your soap and towel and is flooded with water. Rooms are not cleaned ,crockery is not cleaned or changed. And above all I repeat I have not come across such rude hotel staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sutapa70
Asela K, General Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest, Your comments are well noted.please accept my apology for not meeting with your expected service standards by our staff during your stay with us. However, we will take your comments seriously and include in our training for the staff to understand as how to act in difficult situations. Thank you so much for reviewing us. Good luck.

Newcastle
Reviewed 13 October 2016

This hotel was clean with a nice view over the pool and beach however we found reception staff to be off hand and unhelpful. Before we left Australia we had emailed regarding a late checkout and on arrival we asked again as there had been no reply from numerous requests during our journey. We were promised contact with the manager.....we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank asiantraveller50
Asela K, General Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, your valuable comments are very much appreciated. We would certainly look into your concern with regards to communication. Thank you and all the very best.

Reviewed 12 October 2016

The Superior rooms are just the basic ones,The bathrooms lack basic things . Only a hand shower is provided.There is no place to place the soap gel/shampoo etc in shower area. The Bfast buffet is horrible.Dosas and Idlis were dry and stale.They served complimentary hair with Dosa..IKKS.......!!! Staff is too arrogant ,had to plead the waiters to get the desired...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Prajakta D
Asela K, General Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Prajakta, Thank you for the useful comments. We will for sure look into the concerns, highlighted which will help us to improve our services . Thank you and good luck.

Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Basic rooms (although advertised as "superior"). Does not look like it has been cleaned properly for quite some time. Even the inside of the safe was dirty (room 137). A shower in the bathroom will wet the whole space including the toilet, so make sure you order extra floor mats. Buffet food average. Ambience not so good - people pushing-in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Letetia G
Asela K, General Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from The Surf Hotel - Bentota. Thank you very much for the review. The contents are well noted and will be cascaded to relevant departments. Looking forward to welcome you again at the surf hotel. Take care and good luck.

1,413 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1082)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (230)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
View from Room (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (246)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (396)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (272)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Beach (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (49)
Viewed
Gamburu Deep Pool (26)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Superior Room (39)
Viewed
Swimming Pool (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (8)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.4 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.4 km away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.5 km away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
4.7 km away
Pandanus Beach Resort & Spa
1.0 km away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about The Surf Hotel

Address: Beach Road, Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Lihiniya Surf Hotel)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Price Range: $97 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Bentota Hotel Bentota
Lihiniya Surf Bentota
Hotel Lihiniya Surf
Lihiniya Surf Hotel
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#5 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#6 Family Hotel in Bentota
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Surf Hotel staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from The Surf Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lunch - have it outside as they have limited spread”
srinathiyengar, 28 May 2017 | Read review
“if you're doing excursions ask hotel for a breakfast travel box which will be provided free”
Nov1273, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“Sea food restaurant is horrible. Better you go to the buffet restaurant.”
bibinjac, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“i recommend the Dlx rooms since its more private”
AndyMartenstyn, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Avoid 239 it's next to the karaoke bar”
Ade_and_Jessica, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 77* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUSD 175
PricelineUSD 90
TravelocityUSD 85
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates