We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Surf Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

699 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 518: English reviews
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed today NEW via mobile

This hotel has been treating us in an amazing way... starting with the room; its very well organized, safe and clean... this resort offers a private seating by the sea (unlike others we have seen on the beach) and offers mattresses and towels for free... Service is amazing; they can serve you day and night (and i mean 24 hours)...... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tarek E
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Amazing beach property with a fabulous beach stretch. The view from the room - beautiful and the beach just beckons you again and again. The rooms are good sized but I do wish they would provide a shelf in the shower section to hold bathing essentials. The food was good though I did expect more seafood items on the buffet... More 

Helpful?
Thank pradeep49
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went to surf hotel for 2 week holiday 8th to 22nd november..fantastic hotel. Staff were brilliant. Nothing to much trouble. Food was excellent. Hotel beautifully situated right on the beach. Large rooms, clean with everything you need. Thanks foraking it a holiday to remember. Will definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank montybooze1
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Its a beautiful Hotel with location being its strongest asset - All rooms over look the Blue Ocean and is just meters away beckoning you. Clean,Cosy, tidy rooms and a beautiful lawn adjacent to two huge pools almost 50 meters length , what more can you expect ?. The location is the king though I was not happy with their... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sudhir667
Asela K, General Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from The Surf Hotel - Bentota. Thank you very much for the review. It’s a pleasure to note that you have enjoyed the our hotel location, clean rooms, swimming pool and breakfast buffet. All the other contents of the review is noted and will be cascaded to relevant departments. We hope you had a wonderful and... More 

Kelaniya, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's a beautiful and a compact hotel with people serving you with smile, always! Nice and tidy rooms. Well maintained green gardens and 2 huge pools! Food is delicious, large buffet and lovely ala carte menu! The chef comes to you to check your satisfaction on food and collects comments, something very rare in this part of the world... Specially... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dilupa P
Asela K, General Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Dilupa P, Greetings from The Surf Hotel - Bentota. Thank you very much for the review. It’s a pleasure to note that you have enjoyed the our hotel location, breakfast buffet, tidy rooms, well maintained garden and lovely commendation of our associates. We will indeed share your kind words with them. We hope you had a wonderful and... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I being a tour manager along with a group of 59 guest had an awesome experience when we entered the surf bentota. we got all our rooms between 12 pm to 13.45 pm , i know it was a difficult task but the reception staff Ms Dushanti single handedly managed the whole process with a SMILE & CONFIDENCE and Ms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nilesh R
Asela K, General Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from The Surf Hotel - Bentota. Thank you very much for the review. It’s a pleasure to note that you had a awesome stay with us. As well as we are glad to know that you have enjoyed our services, professional customer service and super friendly staff. We will indeed share your kind words with them.... More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a great day outing at The Surf Bentota with my friends and the staff was very friendly, polite and helpful. The food was great and enjoyed the buffet very well. Has two great pools which is very relaxing, plus enjoyed the beach as well. Good enormous garden space facing the beach to roam around and the main restaurant has... More 

Helpful?
Thank mariodez777
Asela K, General Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from The Surf Hotel - Bentota. Thank you very much for the review. It’s a pleasure to note that you have enjoyed the our hotel location, lunch buffet, swimming pools and super friendly staff. We will indeed share your kind words with them. We hope you had a wonderful and memorable day outing with us. Thank... More 

Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent service. Clean rooms. Fortunate to have a ground floor room with the pool right outside the back sliding door. Big bathroom and shower. Breakfast had a good variety of dishes and was lovely sitting outside right next to the beach. Nice omelettes. Wish we could stay longer.

Helpful?
Thank bthomas_11
Asela K, General Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from The Surf Hotel - Bentota. Thank you very much for the review. It’s a pleasure to note that you have enjoyed the our hotel location and breakfast buffet. We hope you had a wonderful and memorable stay with us. Thank you once again for taking your time to write a review on our hotel. Looking... More 

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My only advice to avoid this place at all cost. I know this sounds funny but we fought with our travel agent to get this hotel, after we had read great reviews and saw the photos. We, a group of 5 friends, stayed here for 2 nights (11th and 12th Nov) in rooms 137 and 138. Here is a summary... More 

Helpful?
Thank sohams87
Asela K, General Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from The Surf Hotel - Bentota. Thank you very much for the review. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience and discomfort you may have experienced. We will take necessary measures to ensure that such situations will not recur in the future. We hope this circumstance will not abstain you from residing with us again.... More 

Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fabulous location and good services and amenities. The dinner buffet was very good The staff were very polite and friendly Comfortable rooms that overlooked the beach The weather was really nice Breakfast buffet had a great spread too Check in was easy and hassle free Welcome drink was great too!

Helpful?
Thank Mona2561
Asela K, General Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from The Surf Hotel - Bentota. Thank you very much for the review. It’s a pleasure to note that you have enjoyed the our hotel fabulous location, food, comfortable rooms, welcome drink and super friendly staff. We will indeed share your kind words with them. Looking forward to welcome you again at the surf hotel. Take... More 

1,307 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (976)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (229)
Viewed
View from Room (73)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (208)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (342)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (272)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Beach (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (49)
Viewed
Gamburu Deep Pool (26)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Superior Room (39)
Viewed
Swimming Pool (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.1 km away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.8 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.3 km away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
4.6 km away
Whispering Palms Hotel
Whispering Palms Hotel
#2 of 9 in Induruwa
164 reviews
3.7 km away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 9 in Beruwala
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about The Surf Hotel

Address: Beach Road, Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Lihiniya Surf Hotel)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Price Range: $170 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Bentota Hotel Bentota
Lihiniya Surf Bentota
Hotel Lihiniya Surf
Lihiniya Surf Hotel
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#7 Family Hotel in Bentota
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Surf Hotel staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question
Hitchin, England, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from The Surf Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Was informed all rooms are sea facing. Mine was.”
 of 5 bubbles pradeep49, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms on the ground floor - this directly leads you to the lawn and the beach.”
  • Blue Ocen
 of 5 bubbles Sudhir667, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Leave it up to the reception they will give u the best room.”
 of 5 bubbles 671nileshr, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Excellent for a beach holiday!”
 of 5 bubbles mariodez777, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are sea facing . we had 2 rooms away from the pool area which was good coz we had our privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles 155seema, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay