We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,032: English reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Last month 11th checked in room 226 as honeymoon couple . Mr sumal was very helpful and show us all the things in the hotel. He was great and knowledgeable staff in avani.all the things are good Will be back soon

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Harsha G
General_Manager_SLML, General Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for selecting AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa to spend your honeymoon and I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I will surely pass on your comments to Sumal and I am certain that he will be glad to hear that you appreciated his services. Regards, Roshan Fernando

Oman
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Poor room and Very old. Highly smell for humidity. The location is very near city centre and some home made shop. Excellent breakfeast and nice swimming pool with view on ocean. The house keeping is not serious.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachid H
General_Manager_SLML, General Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for selecting AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa to spend your holiday. I have noted down the comments you have raised with regard to the room and the housekeeping staff and areas will be addressed immediately. Regards, Roshan Fernando

Yanbu, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 30 September 2016

It is excellent value and rate fir all of thangs and i will recomandded for this even alghuth nice serivce from all of staff every where and nice veiw in the beach with sinming pool and coffee also SPA

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrmamdouhaljohania
General_Manager_SLML, General Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for selecting AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa to spend your holiday. I am glad to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. Regards, Roshan Fernando

Colombo
Reviewed 30 September 2016

It was a very satisfying stay at Avani Bentota, beautiful beach front, excellent food, lots of privacy and many more. Room interior was very professionally done with attention to every detail and faced to beach and swimming pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ranathunga
General_Manager_SLML, General Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa to spend your vacation with your family. We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back at our resort during your next vacation. Regards, Roshan Fernando

Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

The hotel was very nice shame about the train station situated directly behind the hotel. The lovely staff made up for this in particular Dinushka and Thilakarathna they were wonderful and their service was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loubylou64
General_Manager_SLML, General Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is our pleasure to note that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. The greatest asset of our hotel is our staff – they make sure that every guest need is met and that they enjoy a hazel free holiday when they are at AVANI Bentota. Thank you once again for the review and we hope...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

I should have written this review long back...but...better late than never.. Sri Lanka was one of our honeymoon destinations and my wife & I chose to stay in this beautiful hotel, located on the pristine Bentota beach. With easy access to clean and private beach, this hotel offers not only plush green surroundings but also delicious food and an exhaustive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vijaybhasker_Iyer
General_Manager_SLML, General Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa to spend your vacation. We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back at our resort during your next vacation. Regards, Roshan Fernando

Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Great location, good facilities, massive open grounds and massive beachfront. The food served in the multi-cuisine restaurant was really good, so was the bar. However the cleanliness of the rooms we stayed in were not that great. The walls had paint peelinf off and I would have expected better overall quality standards from a hotel chain this big

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rakesh V
General_Manager_SLML, General Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for selecting AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa to spend your holiday. I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We have also noted down the comments you have raised with regard to the cleanliness which will be addressed immediately. Hope to see you back at AVANI Bentota for your next vacation....

Mumbai
Reviewed 20 September 2016

The rooms were decent ... The In room dining was bad .... Very very limited plus when I called for dessert at night nothing was available the room service number is never answered ... At my time of dept someone else's tab was added to mine had I had not checked would've paid a lot more

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kristin1026
General_Manager_SLML, General Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and we will certainly look into these areas and take action to improve. Regards, Roshan Fernando

Madrid
Reviewed 20 September 2016

A nice place on the beach but should improve many things to be considered as 4 stars hotel. The pools are dirties and the employees are trying any times to make you extra charges or getting tips without sense

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alexmad2016
General_Manager_SLML, General Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We will definitely look at way in which we can improve ourselves to serve you and other potential guest better in the future. Regards, Roshan Fernando

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

To keep it short: pros - fantastic ocean view, close to the train station (useful if you do a lot of sightseeing), swimming pool. Very good shisha in the bar too! cons - rooms are cleaned daily but yet table was always sticky, bathroom always a bit dirty etc. Every day we had towels changed, but sometimes we would be...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Marta K
General_Manager_SLML, General Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are disappointed to note that you have not had a pleasant stay with us. I have taken note of all the comments you have made and will definitely look into each and every point raised by you. Comments such as this would help us to improve our services and facilities provided to our guest – thank you...

1,289 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (786)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (147)
Viewed
Room/Suite (88)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (133)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
6:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (301)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (440)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Beach (27)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (66)
Viewed
Family Friendly Pool (21)
Viewed
Main Swimming Pool (30)
Viewed
Dining (85)
Viewed
Standard Room (44)
Viewed
Superior Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.8 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
4.0 km away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.2 km away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#9 of 29 in Bentota
762 reviews
5.9 km away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#4 of 9 in Induruwa
153 reviews
5.0 km away
Pandanus Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa

Address: Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Serendib)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Price Range: $161 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Agoda so you can book your AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avani Bentota Resort And Spa
Avani Bentota Hotel Bentota
Serendib Hotel Bentota
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bentota
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
39 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (39)

Questions? Get answers from AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms have a view on the sea”
 of 5 bubbles LAOS1, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upper room for sea view”
 of 5 bubbles roygrainger, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“You can get a great sea view from the higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles KannanVS, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try to get rooms on the ground floor with direct access to the pool”
 of 5 bubbles RCinSydney, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A room on the front towards the garden an the sea.”
 of 5 bubbles boyekirsten, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5