We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,040: English reviews
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for only 2 days but enjoyed the stay as the hotel had private beach, big back garden leading to the sea, clean and spacious room. The building itself was an old building converted to the hotel and the pathways were bit puzzling and narrow, but once you are inside the room, it is a modern hotel. Bentota as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ferdaus_Dhk
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two days. We couldn't recollect even single happy memory here. Initial reception was good with welcome drink and smiling staff. The room was cosy with nice wood work, pretty balcony and a sit-out inside the room. It looked impressive at the first sight. But the wooden doors to the balcony were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lavanya P
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your detailed review followed by your stay. All the points mentioned in your comment will be closely investigated and action will be taken for the betterment of future guests. Thank you for the time taken to explain the matters which will be extremely helpful for the management to put things right. We assure you that...

Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Its a good location but so are all of the other hotels on this beach. The food is okay and the staff are friendly albeit that they are expecting to be tipped all of the time. The real shame is that there has been no investment or refurbishment her for obviously ages. Probably better if you go some where else...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pat c
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review followed by your stay. All points stated in your comment is well noted. Trust the food and staff had made a positive impact during your stay in the hotel. Requesting for tips is completed prohibited in the hotel. The refurbishment work will take place shortly for the satisfaction of all our valued guests....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

After 2 weeks traveling around Sri Lanka, I had one night left before heading to Colombo to fly back to the U.K. I had on purpose not booked anything as I thought I'd decide on the go where to stay for my last day/night. Our driver had recommended Bentota which was convenient to go to Colombo and with nice beaches....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank manoelav996
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your detailed review based on your stay at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon. We are happy to learn that you have liked most aspects of the hotel and its wide offerings. Also thank you for commenting about the friendly staff and service. Your comment about the room is well noted and actioned where possible. The golden...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The property is a good one with access to beach. It has a good sprawling garden with lots of coconut trees all over. They have a very good no. of beach benches as well which they dpread all over the garden during day time. However, thy dont provide any beach benches to be taken to the beach, you will have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manisha S
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review followed by your stay at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon. We are pleased to note that you have liked the pristine beach, spacious garden, food and evening entertainment. We do provide sun beds to the beach and it's on request but completely free of charge. Our entertainment program varies and it comprises of seven...

Kuwait City, Kuwait
Reviewed 1 week ago

Since we have arrived in this hotel,our experience with the front office(reception) staff was unpleasant and always felt not welcomed.Staff are not honest and keep claiming that they are fully booked.No sense of customer care and can not manage the check in and check out process properly.Lobby is always busy because they are not organized and the process of check...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dan t
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and we are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay at the hotel. Whilst inquiring the incident, we note that your booking had been made for a standard room and it has been given to you on time on the 2nd January 2017. Thereafter based on a request made...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We almost didn't stay here based on all the 'terrible' reviews, I'm so please we ignored them because this place is awesome! From the moment we arrived we were treated so kindly. The staff are lovely, the rooms are great - especially for the price, the pool is huge and clean and the buffet breakfast was awesome! Would definitely recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GalletlyO
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review based on you stay at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon. We are indeed glad that you had a fabulous stay with us and liked all the facilities and services offered by the hotel. Thank you for your commitment to recommend the hotel for others and we are very much looking forward to...

London
Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival realised that interconnecting rooms had not been arranged as requested. The staff corrected this the next day and we were upgraded for the inconvenience. The original standard rooms were quite shabby given the hotel price. The better rooms were much improved. Bathrooms in all rooms could be cleaner (as per other reviews). The towels in the standard rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KappyMe
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review followed by your stay at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon. The contents in your review is well noted. Whilst thanking you for the positive comments made, we will ensure all the areas for improvement be closely looked at and action taken at earliest. We very much appreciate for selecting Bentota Beach by Cinnamon to...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just coming to the end of an amazing holiday. Hotel,staff and grounds are the best we have ever experienced. A place where you can really chill out. The hotel rooms are spacious but could do with just a little updating but as the hotel is in a colonial style it all adds to the charm. The smell of warm cinnamon...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Robert D
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review made based on your recent stay at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon. We are delighted to hear that you had a great holiday and the facilities and services offered by the hotel is up to your expectations. The hotel rooms will be further upgraded in the near future at a scheduled refurbishment program. We...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

- Poor cleanliness of bathrooms. Very dated needs update. - Dated rooms and decor. - Our accommodation included buffet breakfast and dinner. Lots of quantity but poor quality. You get tired of the food after 2 meals. - Reasonable location though. Close to the beach and large garden. - Not good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j R
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We regret for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. The rooms will be renovated at a future refurbishment for the satisfaction of all guests. We will bring your food comment to the notice of the chefs for improved quality. Thank you for commenting positively about the location of the hotel. Best...

1,490 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1379)
Viewed
View from Room (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (282)
Viewed
Room/Suite (140)
Viewed
Bathroom (60)
Viewed
Dining (69)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (221)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (511)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (105)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Beach (6)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Superior Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
1.0 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
3.8 km away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.2 km away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#9 of 29 in Bentota
735 reviews
3.6 km away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
1,424 reviews
1.5 km away
Club Bentota
Club Bentota
#1 of 6 in Aluthgama
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the southern coast of Sri Lanka, Bentota Beach by Cinnamon is the perfect get-away from the buzzing city life. The resort specializes on water sports and other adventures at its own Water Sports centre with a variety of activities such as wind surfing, jet skiing, banana boat riding and diving. The hotel also hosts other recreational activities such as a tennis court, squash court and archery. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Address: Colombo-Galle-Hambantota-Wellawaya Highway | Galle, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Price Range: $189 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentota Beach by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Bentota Beach by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentota Beach Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#8 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bentota Beach by Cinnamon staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Bentota Beach by Cinnamon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles Ferdaus_Dhk, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room with a view and ground floor. Also ask for the room that is away from the router to getting better wifi connectivity and speed”
  • Ceylon tea and rains made it more special
  • The cosy sit-out inside the room to enjoy the beautiful view outside
  • The view of the swimming pool
  • Beautiful climate and the green view outside
  • View from our room
 of 5 bubbles 513lavanyap, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“In another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 364patc, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't go for standard rooms - they really are quite shabby”
 of 5 bubbles KappyMe, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Interconnected room was spacious and clean, view was fantastic, providing 180 degree panoramic view of the ocean and the Bentota river.”
 of 5 bubbles rohanali, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay