We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown

Booking.comUSD 123*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 298*
USD 123*
USD 298*
USD 123*
USD 298*
USD 122*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

464 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 446: English reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Stayed here when we went to a summer outdoor concert on the Empire State Plaza. The room was very big with a microwave and a refrigerator. Breakfast was included and the choices were very good. Both hot and cold dishes were available

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sroch59
Massena, New York
Reviewed 1 June 2015

We stayed the weekend here and walked to the Palace Theater to see Ron White. Its a very clean hotel in the downtown area. A lot of highway traffic but wasn't really a noise problem. Plenty of restaurants in walking distance if you like to walk/explore which we did. The Capital buildings are also close by. Hotel has a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MatthewJPeacock
Reviewed 30 May 2015 via mobile

This is the dirtiest hotel I've ever stayed in. Our check in was horrible. The woman Rose at the front desk was very rude and unprofessional she didn't bother to smile or anything. She acted like it was a bother to check us in. The lobby was dirty and so were the restrooms. We drove 3 hrs to get here...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stix24
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Stix24, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very sorry you did not experience an exemplary hotel stay with regard to the cleanliness of the room and that you found our hotel to be dated and staff rude. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details regarding your stay. We hope...

New Jersey
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

Its within walking distance from the major sights in the center of town. We were pleasantly surprised by the reception staff who kindly offered keep the pool open for half hour longer so our kids could have a quick dip. There's a jacuzzi too. Happy to see that the hotel used paper plates at breakfast instead of styrofoam. This hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FromCHtoSG
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

Very clean,was surprised at nice selection for breakfast,liquor store,small deli,and bar"Haze"- a short walk away.Near a riverside park perfect for a morning run- the surrounding roads are currently under construction so give yourself a little extra time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bobby S
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Myself and 3 friends were on our way to upstate New York and had to pass through Albany, but as we had planned we were not going to make it pass Albany without having to stop for a rest. Thats when I decided to book a room somewhere the day before and 1st of all Holiday Inn Express was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morne S
Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

Was ok. Conveniently located off the main road. Needed a bit of more cleaning and updates. Not many amenities nearby. Breakfast was ok. This is not a vacation-type hotel - it's more for an overnight, passing by, short business trip. Would try a different hotel next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amarispena
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Amarispena, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are pleased to know that found our breakfast to be satisfactory and our location convenient from the main road. However, we are saddened for the issues you had regarding the cleanliness of the rooms. Rest assured, your feedback will be treated very...

Penrith, Australia
Reviewed 23 May 2015

The hotel seemed clean and reasonably well maintained, although some in out group complained that the rooms were dirty and unmade. The area it self looks a little run down and not very appealing. We did go for walk down to the Hudson river after dark and there really is no views or scenery etc other than a few drunks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne C
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Wayne C, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were not able to fully enjoy your recent stay with us. We would like to have an opportunity to regain your faith in us so we have sent you a private message to follow up...

Boston
Reviewed 20 May 2015 via mobile

I was in town for a convention so I had limited options and have always had luck with Holiday express, well not this one! I travel A LOT for business and have stayed in some sketchy places, this topped it. Luckily I found a Hampton Inn up the street with 1 room left for the 2 nights I needed, otherwise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mels33
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown, responded to this review

Dear mels33, Thank you for for leaving a review on TripAdvisor. The safety and security of our guests has always been our highest priority and we are sorry if you had felt otherwise. Our team always works hard to provide remarkable experience to our guests hence, we would like to check into this matter further. A private message was sent...

Sydnay
Reviewed 14 May 2015

We arrived at this hotel at 6.30 pm and were disgusted that our room was not made up Other guests also had the same issues. The Manager on duty was rude and totally ignored us and left the assistant to re allocate clean rooms. One guest received their keys only to open the door and find someone in the room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cath4559
Tara V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown, responded to this review

Greetings, I am truly sorry for the experiences you had during your stay. There are no excuses for the unsatisfactory customer service you received from our management staff. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest. We hope to serve you in the future, Thank you, Tara Sales...

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.7 km away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.6 km away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#16 of 50 in Albany
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center
2.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
7.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Guests looking for a convenient downtown Albany hotel will find this Holiday Inn Express, located close to the Riverfront and the Empire Plaza, the ideal location. For doing business in town, our Albany downtown hotel is close to The Times Union Center, Albany Capital Center,The State Capitol, Empire State Plaza and the Port of Albany. Our courtesy shuttle runs from 7am-11pm Monday through Friday and can pick you up at the Rensselaer Amtrak Station or airport for free! We are easily accessible to I-90, NYS Thruway I-87 and I-787. We have the only free hotel parking in Downtown Albany. Leisure travelers will find our downtown Albany Hotel, with its historic downtown location, close to many major attractions. City Center tours, professional theatres, parks and the Hudson Riverfront are all just minutes from the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Newly updated guest rooms and public spaces will make your stay memorable. With many restaurants within walking distance of our Albany hotel, you can have the choice of fine or casual dining. To stay in touch, our WIFI is throughout the Hotel and FREE. When you're looking for Albany lodging, stay with the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Albany is a city with 400 years of history within your reach. Come experience the downtown difference. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown

Address: 300 Broadway, Albany, NY 12207 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn)
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Price Range: $143 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown Hotel Albany
Albany Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Though not required, its best to trip shuttle drivers--they go the extra mile for you!”
cpgranados, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Try to avoid a room facing the expressway”
PJF243, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a renovated room.”
Canajun1, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Restaurant up the road was not good, bit cheap and nasty but actually quite expensive :(”
susanbT7005JU, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Hotel has some covered parking. Might be important in the winter.”
Billooltewah, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 123* /night
View Deal
HIExpress.comUSD 123
Hotels.comUSD 122
AMOMAUSD 298
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates