We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown

Show Prices
#9 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

908 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 892: English reviews
St Augustine, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

poor security, homeless inside and outside hotel, domestic dispute in parking lot of hotel and no one from hotel doing anything about it---pillows terrible, refrigerator froze drinks and didn't chill them, no safe in room, will never stay here again even though visit Albany often for family events

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank E9079APchristianm
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
666 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

It was my first time at a Hampton Inn hotels chain and it was a pleasant surprise. I choose the hotel because it's got an excellent location close to all major attractions. The room was large and sparkling clean with a nice city view from the window. Breakfast was good with lots of hot and cold choices which give you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon_zz
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a comfortable overnight stay at this hotel. You can't beat the location and value with free breakfast and wifi. My only complaints were the steep pet deposit fee of $75 and not being recognized as a Diamond member. I wasn't given my chosen snack and beverage combo at check-in. After asking, I was given a room upgrade, which... More 

Helpful?
Thank boom-boom-dynomite
Albany, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Apparently the maid had sprayed some heavy perfume in our room right before we got in. It was horrible, could not stay in the room at all at first. Came back 6 hours later and had to sleep with a towel over my face. Could not ask for a new room because the hotel was full and the staff was... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 735cristinh
Westfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is very nice and within walking distance to The Egg. Not much else to do in this part of town after dark unfortunately. It is right off highway 787 and very convenient. Nice quiet rooms and free breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank tomlI2705YI
Management response:

Dear TomI2705YI, We are very thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your business and we are looking forward to serving you in the future. Regards. More 

New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Attractive hotel in a great location with very friendly staff. Perfect for events at the palace. The Pump Station is in walking distance. Rooms are very nice, a good size; ours had a refrigerator and small microwave. One of the best parts of this hotel are happy friendly staff!

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lefluidity
Management response:

Dear Lefluidity, Thank you so much for your positive review, We are very glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your business and we are looking forward to welcoming you back. Regards, More 

Oldwick, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall this hotel was ok to stay at but they charge $14.75 for you to be able to park your car at their hotel. In all my years of travel I have NEVER had a hotel charge me to park my car. When I asked the front desk if they could refund the parking charge they said no.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank organicgirl1
Management response:

Dear Organicgirl1, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed about charging $14.75 as a Parking Fee. The $14.75 Parking fee is in our hotel website as well as other third party channels. Most of Downtown hotels charge parking fee. Please contact ne at mh@banyan-ig.com to make this right for you. Regards, More 

Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Average stay, good bedding, good breakfast and good location with walking distance to the capital POI's. Parking was an up charge although adequate with valet service and directly behind the hotel. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Bar was a separate business and did not have room service or allow drinks to leave room.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank craigbW76UY
Management response:

Dear CraigbW76UY, Thank you for the positive review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back. Thanks, More 

Amherst, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was clean. Location was very good. Breakfast was just ok. Bar was a little too high end and very expensive. but there were walkable bars and restaurants that were fun. Friendly to teens. Bed comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank jocelynw874
Rhinebeck, New York
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location. The nearby restaurant ama cocina was worth the trip. Nice walk to Capitol and plaza. Staff Superb. Wish parking wasn't extra but attendants were very helpful. Forgot toothbrush and paste? No worries.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank ginawalkerfox

182 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (100)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.3 km away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#14 of 50 in Albany
947 reviews
0.5 km away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
2.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
6.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
8.2 km away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The upscale downtown Albany hotel features 121 lavishly-appointed guest rooms, 35 suites with microwaves and refrigerators, eight whirlpool suites and one executive 2-room suite. The new hotel boasts wired and wireless Internet access, complimentary On the House® hot breakfast, on-site exercise facility with sauna and steam room, plenty of meeting space (we specialize in law firm deposition meetings), fresh hot coffee and tea in the lobby 24/7 and, of course, Hilton HHonors® points and miles for your stay. Eleven accessible rooms are available. All rooms and suites are smoke free and feature the Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed™. Welcome to Albany’s brightest new star!Yono’s Restaurant, and dp, an American Brasserie, share space near the entrance of the Hampton Inn & Suites! Just a step through the doorway for hotel guests, this upscale fine-dining restaurant features creative continental and Indonesian cuisine for a memorable dining experience.The Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown is centrally and conveniently located to many downtown attractions, government buildings and points of interest. Business travelers will enjoy easy access to the area’s many businesses and corporations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown

Address: 25 Chapel Street, Albany, NY 12210
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Price Range: $160 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown Hotel Albany
Hampton Inn And Suites Albany - Downtown
Hampton Inn Hotel Albany
Hampton Inn Albany
Albany Hampton Inn
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Albany
#5 Business Hotel in Albany
#6 Family Hotel in Albany
#8 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Texaslady6000, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I asked for a quiet room and gor one.”
 of 5 bubbles Nonaleyone, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Request a higher floor away from the front of the building, otherwise you'll have flood lights in the room.”
 of 5 bubbles 555teresas, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“room away from elevator quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 601georgec, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Become HHonors member to be able to choose your room.”
 of 5 bubbles FredericT379, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay