We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Homestay

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varanasi
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Homestay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

449 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 377: English reviews
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My girlfriend and I stayed with Harish and Malika for three days in December 2016 during a two week trip around India, and of all the places we stayed, Hometstay was by far our favorite. Harish and Malika were very attentive hosts, catering to our every need. They custom made tours for us, arranged transportation and gave us valuable tips...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JCArregui
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Harish was thoughtful enough to text me one hour before our overnight train to Varanasi was due to arrive in Agra, to let me know that he has checked the progress of the train and it was three hours late. This information saved my wife and I from standing in the dark and cold until 0200 at Agra railway station....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rodney M
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Harish and his wife are welcoming and attentive to their guests. His wife prepares the food and it is plentiful and freshly made. Since I don't like a lot of spices or chilies, she prepared some special vegetables just for me. Wonderful homemade jam and bread at breakfast. Harish has his own textile business downstairs and has fabulous quality items...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bertabkerr
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

One of the best and most welcoming stays we had in India! The rooms were very spacious, comfortable and clean, with great bedding and warm showers. The incuded breakfast was bountiful, with fresh juice, fruit, hot drinks, toast, homemade jams and other treats. We also enjoyed Malika's home cooked dinner - which I can't recommend enough!! Harish is a brilliant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dongiovanni_UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Homestay was a very good experience for us. We were travelling on a whim and booking last minute locations and were excited to see there was a room available at the homestay. We spent the first night in one of the rooms in the main house and it is was an amazing room. (The best we stayed in on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wren S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were a family of 5 - 2 adults, 16yr, 14yr and a 6yr old. We really loved our stay here and everything everyone is writing about the food is true - Delicious! Harish and his wife were charming hosts and nothing was too much trouble. We booked a walking tour and morning boat cruise through them and loved both....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelFNQ
Paris, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent two nights at Homestay in Varanasi and I must say that I really enjoyed the welcoming from Haris and his family, always there to help you get the most of your stay in Varanasi. The home made vegetarian food is just amazing! Nice large room conformable. Thanks again Harish!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DorianXY
Hasselfree, Owner at Homestay, responded to this review

thanks a lot Dear guest, For taking time to write about the hospitality of Homestay and thanks for coming to stay with us. Best Regards Harish

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One of the best stays we have enjoyed in India. The room was great - spacious, clean and very comfortable. I loved the hot showers and the fluffy white bed covers. The decoration added a little something extra. The included breakfast was tasty and plentiful with a choice of fruit, homemade jams, toast, and delicious parathas. We also enjoyed Malika's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank avesuran
Hasselfree, Owner at Homestay, responded to this review

Thanks a lot Dear Guest, For describing the over all services of Homestay in a genuine review. Thanks a lot for being so kind,generous and plentiful with words. Best Regards Harish

Alice Springs, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This accommodation is priced about right for what it offers. Clean rooms, some spacious though cold in winter season. Wifi not available in all areas and frequently not for best reception/speed. Frequent power outages probably beyond local control. About a 30 minute walk to the main ghat so reasonable location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary K
Hasselfree, Owner at Homestay, responded to this review

Dear garry, Thanks a lot for coming and staying with us and even extending your stay with us for 2 additional days, so we feel you had a good time here. as explained in my earlier review of another guest, this winter has been terribly cold and foggy and hence some problems related with weather, beyond our control anyway. Regardinig...

Santa Eulalia del Rio, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I initially booked a single stay of 4 nights (12-28 - 12-31-2016) through email with Harish, and I’m sad to say that the stay was terrible that I ended up staying one night and leaving (Harish still asked to charge for 2 nights and I agreed, knowing that his small short-term gain will only drive my overall feedback and overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brasieliro0
Hasselfree, Owner at Homestay, responded to this review

Dear Mohammed, Thanks a lot for writting about your experience of Homestay. In short, you have blamed the Homestay for your early departure from Varanasi, where as i kept requesting you humbly to tell me the reason to depart so abruptuly, but you only told me it was too cold in Varanasi and you will change your Itinerary to go...

123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.8 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#7 of 75 in Varanasi
1,096 reviews
1.8 km away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 75 in Varanasi
1,958 reviews
1.7 km away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 75 in Varanasi
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
1.6 km away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 75 in Varanasi
131 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#11 of 75 in Varanasi
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This Homestay is managed by an Indian family and those who like to stay with a family and share the culture and taste freshly made home cooked vegetarian food would like it here very much.A traditional Indian house built in 1936, with complete teakwood work and antique hand carving workmanship on the doors, windows, decorations and furniture. Lots of open space for natural sunlight and air. Beautiful seat in garden in the front. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Homestay

Address: D-61/16, Sidhgiri Bagh, Varanasi 221010, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Price Range: $49 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Homestay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Nice to have a room on the second floor”
 of 5 bubbles bertabkerr, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The best rooms are the main rooms at the Homestay”
 of 5 bubbles wrens2017, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the Rooftop!!”
 of 5 bubbles Brasieliro0, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Clean with great food”
 of 5 bubbles gailbj, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had a run floor room which was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles sharretr, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5