We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Agoda.comUSD 92*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 114*
USD 92*
Great Deal
USD 114*
USD 108*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

492 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 489: English reviews
Start your review of Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
 Click to rate
New Delhi, India
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The most pathetic hotel I have ever been to. We booked 2 rooms for 2 night stay and we had a very bad experience. There was foul smell in the rooms. We asked them to change our rooms and they said they are completely booked. Curtains were dirty and there were stains and dirt marks. Will not recommend this place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deepaksharma83
Oxford
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hugely disappointing. I felt depressed just staying there. I had to walk past stained mattresses piled against the corridor to get to my room. Once there the room was cramped and badly kept. It had a musty smell and looked nothing like it did in the photos on the website. A sad looking empty fruit bowl and a hole where...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenthewanderer
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are saddened that you found shortcomings in our property which stands in contrast to the feedback we generally get from our guests and also our properties are known for their cleanliness and high quality of maintenance. We have taken note of your point to see what farther improvements can be made. We have been continually investing in...

Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewed 1 week ago

Sinclairs Retreat Ooty - a heavily charging hotel with only a plus point of its great landscape offering a great view of the valley. (Hence my 2 stars, if not I would happily give 0.5 or 1 star) Everyone who sees the photos put up by management will be in awe and saying wow for the glorified rooms & the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank deepsworld
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your review. We are happy that you liked the view of our property; however we are saddened that some of our services and facilities did not meet with your expectations. We have taken a note of the shortcomings pointed out by you and assure you that to the extent practicable, these will be taken care...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is in an ideal place in ooty... rooms are quite spacious.. service provided is good enough.. make sure u get whatever u want from the service boys early.. as nobody will b available after 10.30 till 7.30 in morning.. superb location of the hotel..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank drshanni
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your excellent review of our property, its location and the services. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty or to our six other properties at Siliguri, Darjeeling, Dooars, Kalimpong, Burdwan and Port Blair. The Sinclairs team at these locations will be...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you are in Ooty for a holiday and want to have a great view of the landscape, choose this place. It's got an amazing view. The windows of your room also give you a peak at the pine forest. Rooms are pretty decent but small. The food here is not so great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shrishail D
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your review. We are happy that you liked the large three level landscaped gardens and the serene surroundings. We have noted your comments on the food and are happy to state that we have reinforced our kitchen team to offer a much wider choice of buffet. We look forward to welcoming you again at Sinclairs...

Monmouthshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had high hopes for this hotel having spent nearly £100 per night, booked from the UK. As it turned out it was hugely disappointing, even depressing - the 'deluxe' room was small and musty, the shower was grubby, the sink leaked and the toilet smelled. The corridor was dusty and the carpet hadn't been cleaned for ages. Old mattresses...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank paulrw2017
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that you found shortcomings in the overall maintenance. Generally our properties are known for their cleanliness and high quality of maintenance. We have taken a note of the shortcomings pointed out by you and assure you that these will be taken care of. We shall request you to please continue...

Reviewed 22 April 2017

very old property with inexperienced / careless staff only good part of hotel is the valley view and nice exterior but rooms are too small and needs lot of renovations no one looked into our complaint even manager was least bothered.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kunal J
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your review. We are happy that you liked the view of our property; however we are saddened that your experience of staying with us was not a happy one.We would like to request you to opt for a spacious and luxurious suite in your next visit. Generally we receive appreciation for the courteous behaviour of...

Bangalore, India
Reviewed 18 April 2017

The property is pretty big going 4-5 levels below on the edge of the hill. It has fantastic views of the valley and the town itself. They have a beautiful little garden developed in a step-fashion winding into 3 levels downhill inside the property which overlooks the valley. This is the most amazing thing about the property and this alone...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ravi K
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your detailed review of our property. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our food. Our three-level landscaped garden from where you have a wonderful view of the Ooty town as well as the Nilgiris is perhaps one of the best in Ooty. You have pointed out certain areas...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We stayed in Sinclairs in first week of April, 2017. Room was pretty, bathroom tidy, breakfast was amazing...piping hot. The view from room and also from hotel is spectacular. Last but not the least....staff are amazing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pankajag20
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your excellent review of our property. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and liked our food. Our three-level landscaped garden from where you have a wonderful view of the Ooty town as well as the Nilgiris is perhaps one of the best in Ooty. We are also thankful...

Reviewed 11 April 2017

sinclairs is very nice and big property as well as well maintained property ofcourse. staff was awsome they have not enough choise in food menu but food was great you can get veg and non veg both here. and view from the hotel was awesome. you can get vally view from the hotel and hotel is situated on top of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miral n
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for an excellent review of our property. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our food. We are also thankful to you for your appreciation of our team members. We offer a variety of cuisines to cater to the varied taste of our guests. The prime objective is to ensure that...

384 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (350)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (129)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
2:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty hotels
1.5 km away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
1.1 km away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
3.3 km away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
1.4 km away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
2.2 km away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 82 in Ooty
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enveloped by the clouds at 8000 feet and located exactly where the "Queen of Nilgiris" was discovered, Sinclairs Retreat Ooty is the highest located hotel in South India and unquestionably the best located hotel in Ooty. The hotel has 79 rooms and suites, and two villas with interiors that are modern and charming. The luxurious rooms are equipped with tea/coffee makers and cable TV. The valley view rooms offer stunning views.The resort is equipped with an array of facilities. This includes a Wi-Fi enabled reception area overlooking a three level-landscaped garden, Deluxe, Superior, Premium Suites and Deluxe/Honeymoon suite, conference and meeting facilities; three halls - Regal, The Windsor and The Summit and an open area - The Terrace. Fine dining at Pine n' Petal, a multicuisine restaurant, The Portico, a coffee bar for beverages and snacks, and High Point Bar, a stylish bar and a cool cocktail lounge.The highlight of the property is a vibrant entertainment and recreation zone with indoor badminton, pool table, table tennis, board games, video games, kids play area, library and lounge. Moreover, the hotel comprises of a fitness centre with gym, steam, sauna, and spa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Address: Gorishola Road,, Ooty 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty
Price Range: $106 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sinclairs Retreat Ooty 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sinclairs Retreat Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty India
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ooty
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sinclairs Retreat Ooty staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Sinclairs Retreat Ooty staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pathetic and Tiny Rooms with Foul Smell, no space for extra bed”
Deepaksharma83, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are cramped rooms, outside view is awesome if you step out!”
  • Dirty and shabbily maintained walls outside room (peek from window)
deepsworld, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“As to see the rooms first - some have better views than others. Some are bigger than others.”
paulrw2017, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“look for other options”
, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the rooms with Valley view”
ravik141, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
USD 92* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 114
PricelineUSD 108
Hotels.comUSD 110
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates