We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Heritage Madurai

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Heritage Madurai
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 949: English reviews
Start your review of Heritage Madurai
 Click to rate
Harrogate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The food was delicious but staff serving were a little unfriendly or bored looking and didn't seem interested in ensuring we were happy with everything. It's a large spread out resort type of hotel and feels a bit faded but the drought hasn't helped the grounds looking very dry. The rooms are grouped in blocks with huge verandas. Somewhat disappointing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The property was a good one and the architectural style had a refreshing contemporary twist to the usual traditional style. It looked better during the evening as it had a nice lighting to it. It must have been quite a splendor during it's glorious days, but as of now it looked a little worn out. We had opted for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmyNalkara
Southport, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Heritage is modern hotel built in a traditional manner with solid granite pillars supporting high wooden ceilings over granite floors. It is set in large landscaped area dominated several magnificent old banyan trees. There is a large pool, but like many India, it is unshaded and thus the water was almost warm and not particularly refreshing. The location is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChrisandJudy1000
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went with 27 members of my family. Booked 12 cottages. At the time of booking my younger brother confirmed the rates on mail. And it was clearly written the rates are for two days. But at the checking out the hotel management started telling the rates has been given for one day only. We said them to refer to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PANKAJ S
heritagemadurai2015, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings of the day!!! While we thank you for taking out your time to voice your concerns, we are extremely sorry for all the inconveniences caused to you during your stay at our hotel. It is really unfortunate that that we have not come up to your expectations and we are very much concerned about your experience...

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited in late March 2017 - the end of the season - and we had a fabulous time. The room (well, mini-villa really) was superb, the food was excellent, and the staff were really lovely and helpful. They discovered that it was my wife's birthday and at dinner she was presente witha cake and the restaurant staff sang Happy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank smithy_sid
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is outside the busy city of Madurai, so after long days of sightseeing it was relaxing to come back to these beautiful spacious gardens and villas. Our room was very big, spotlessly clean and we had the use of the huge balcony overlooking the grounds. The swimming pool is huge and clean with a very interesting design. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Claudia F
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I, along with another couple, spent two nights at Heritage Madurai Resort. The grounds are lovely and the peaceful feeling was a welcome escape from the pace of life in the city outside the grounds. We especially appreciated the wonderful service we received in the restaurant from our waiter, Babu. Visitors from Canada

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ray a
heritagemadurai2015, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Heritage Madurai!!! We are delighted to note that you liked your stay at the Heritage Madurai. We are thankful to you for your wonderful feedback through Trip Advisor which is exceptionally well in sharing your experiences of the pleasant stay you had at our hotel. We are also thankful to you for having recommended our hotel...

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I chose this hotel for its gardens and space and was not disappointed. Amazingly kind and lovely staff , they even gave me an upgrade in my room . The room , the gardens the pool all lovingly maintained. I eat breakfast , lunch and dinner ...totally great food . Can not recommend more highly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martin b
heritagemadurai2015, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Heritage Madurai!!! We are delighted to note that you liked your stay at the Heritage Madurai. We are thankful to you for your wonderful feedback through Trip Advisor which is exceptionally well in sharing your experiences of the pleasant stay you had at our hotel. We are also thankful to you for having recommended our hotel...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This large hotel in its own grounds outside the busy city of Madurai should be an oasis of peace and calm. Certainly the beautiful bedrooms and the private splash pool in our own courtyard offered luxury. However these beautiful surroundings were let down by the mediocre service received in all aspects of the hotel. The reception were slow at check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dazeaway2013
heritagemadurai2015, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings of the day!!! While we thank you for taking out your time to voice your concerns, we are extremely sorry for all the inconveniences caused to you during your stay at our hotel. It is really unfortunate that that we have not come up to your expectations and we are very much concerned about your experience...

Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would advise travelers to avoid this place. I say that despite the nostalgic evocation of the Raj. The room was big, clean and cool. The veranda and its fans was pleasant in the evening. The grounds, once lovely, are now parched and not what they could be. They have an extensive function facility, and if you are unlucky enough...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Russ W
heritagemadurai2015, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings of the day!!! While we thank you for taking out your time to voice your concerns, we are extremely sorry for all the inconveniences caused to you during your stay at our hotel which was not reported to us.. It is really unfortunate that that we have not come up to your expectations and we are...

768 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (735)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (142)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (179)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (228)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Heritage, Welcome to Madurai.A resort, one hundred years in the making, in the heart of a city that grew from drops of nectar that flowed from the locks of Shiva, as legend would have us believe.Enter the gates of the 17-acre resort, and experience the Madurai of distant past. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Heritage Madurai

Address: 11 Melakkal Main Road, Madurai 625016, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Price Range: $94 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Madurai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Madurai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Madurai Hotel Madurai
Heritance Hotel Madurai
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Madurai
#2 Family Hotel in Madurai
#3 Business Hotel in Madurai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Heritage Madurai staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Bengaluru, India
over a year ago
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Heritage Madurai staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room was not like how it was shown in the picture”
AmyNalkara, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go out of season and you may be upgraded”
smithy_sid, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for private pool.”
hilary360, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Suits are wonderful and very quiet.”
sueg584, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms can be a long way from the entrance. Be careful!”
338kyleb, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5