We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Chandela

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Chandela
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

697 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 527: English reviews
Seabrook Island, South Carolina
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Mediocrity defines this hotel; the foyer is smart, both the corridors and rooms are scruffy and tired. The restaurant staff, especially the breakfast staff, are indifferent. The breakfast food is old and poorly presented; having a freshly cooked dosa is the best bet. Once a plate of croissants (actually distant cousins of real croissants) ran out, no-one bothered to refill...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GuySeabrook
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Taj Chandela is a beautiful hotel in a small place like Khajuraho but with all facilities. Rooms are well provided, clean and comfortable. The hotel has a swimming pool and tennis and badminton courts also. However, the gym is very small. The hotel is spread over two floors but does not have a lift. The quality of Indian food is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashok R
Swansea, Wales
Reviewed 1 week ago

A very pleasant western style, typical mid range hotel conveniently placed for the Temples and old town which are about 15 minutes away by foot (NB Indian roads) or 20 rupee away by tuk-tuk. The biggest asset of this hotel are the staff - friendly, genuine, warm, polite and efficient. My thanks to Narayan Bhayal,General Manager for his assistance in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MistaMeldrew
NarayanSinghBhayal, General Manager at Hotel Chandela, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor. We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our product and services. I have conveyed your compliments to the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration. The team was also pleased to know that their efforts were so...

Utah
Reviewed 1 week ago

During a month of traveling with an organized tour, I stayed at fourteen hotels. This stood out from some fancier hotels. It has a superb location, just a 10-15 minute walk from the tourist area and stunning Khajuraho monuments. Or, you can take a tuk-tuk (you will have plenty of offers as you begin your walk.) The hotel itself has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
NarayanSinghBhayal, General Manager at Hotel Chandela, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor. We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our product and services. I have conveyed your compliments to the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration. The team was also pleased to know that their efforts were so...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Check-in, check-out at the hotel was fairly easy and the room was gone. The rooms were good value, comfortable, and clean. Hotel staff were preparing for a hosting a birthday party and a wedding so we had to work around the hotel setting things up, then tearing them down. Service at the bar was almost nonexistent. The restaurant had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David H
NarayanSinghBhayal, General Manager at Hotel Chandela, responded to this review

Dear Guest Greetings from Hotel Chandela, Khajuraho. At the outset I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your kind feedback. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay.We have noted your constructive feedback and we promise to take corrective actions at our end. We value your patronage and I am confident that you...

Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very near the airport and a 10 minute walk to the western group of temples. Hotel staff were friendly. Since this not a multi storeyed, one need to take stairs if the room is in the first floor. There are rooms in the ground floor too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bhagini
NarayanSinghBhayal, General Manager at Hotel Chandela, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor. We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our product and services. I have conveyed your compliments to the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration. The team was also pleased to know that their efforts were so...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spacious room with balcony, and the pool view was good. Big green lawns all around. A number of options for recreation, games included pool, badminton, tennis, snooker, bicycle etc. Hotel boasts of a kiddie golf course, but the same is poorly kept. Buffet spread was average though taste was fine. In general hotel staff is polite except Mr Abhimanyu who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Memories_neha
NarayanSinghBhayal, General Manager at Hotel Chandela, responded to this review

Dear Guest Greetings from Hotel Chandela, Khajuraho. At the outset I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your kind feedback. We are pleased to know that you had a comfortable stay and thank you for your feedback. We regret the action of our associte and apologise for the same. It is our constant endeavor...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Read the trip adviser reviews and we were excited to try this hotel following a long and tiresome journey to get here. Sadly, it was an anti climax. Rooms are worn out and very basic, the room phone was literally filthy, thick with dust and stickiness - absolutely disgusting. Pillow slips stained and did not fit properly over pillows and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Acrobatic1
NarayanSinghBhayal, General Manager at Hotel Chandela, responded to this review

Dear Guest Greetings from Hotel Chandela, Khajuraho. At the outset I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your kind feedback. We deeply regret not being able to come up to your expectations and live up to our own standards. This is a small to note to assure that we have noted your constructive feedback...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel, in my honest opinion is well worth a visit, it is clean and quiet with an exceptionally helpful staff....it is very well run and I look forward to visiting it again. I have a serious back problem and the staff were very quick to help me when I needed help...this does not always happen !!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j0hnd0uglasp
NarayanSinghBhayal, General Manager at Hotel Chandela, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor. We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our product and services. I have conveyed your compliments to the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration. The team was also pleased to know that their efforts were so...

Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Lovely location, and really great staff. Whichever room you stay in will be quiet and peaceful. Standard of rooms very good, and clean. Had a really nice meal in the restaurant, and service was first class, with really friendly waiter.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
NarayanSinghBhayal, General Manager at Hotel Chandela, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor. We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our product and services. I have conveyed your compliments to the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration. The team was also pleased to know that their efforts were so...

287 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (274)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khajuraho hotels
0.1 km away
Radisson Jass Hotel Khajuraho
0.5 km away
Ramada Khajuraho
Ramada Khajuraho
#5 of 24 in Khajuraho
613 reviews
1.8 km away
The Lalit Temple View Khajuraho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Isabel Palace
Hotel Isabel Palace
#2 of 24 in Khajuraho
453 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Clarks Khajuraho
Hotel Clarks Khajuraho
#8 of 24 in Khajuraho
300 reviews
0.0 km away
Syna Heritage Hotel
Syna Heritage Hotel
#10 of 24 in Khajuraho
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Chandela, a haven of tranquility, welcomes you to discover the historical temple town of Khajuraho. The exquisite 1000 year old temples at Khajuraho, graced with sensuous and sublime sculptures, are World Heritage Site. Hotel Chandela offers a choice of 90 elegantly furnished and well-appointed rooms including 5 luxurious suites. Wooden flooring, queen sized beds and writing table offer a touch of warmth to the interiors. All rooms enjoy refreshing garden or pool view. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Chandela

Address: Khajuraho 471 606, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Khajuraho
Price Range: $107 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chandela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Chandela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandela Hotel Khajuraho
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Khajuraho
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Chandela staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Chandela staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms facing the swimming pool are better.”
 of 5 bubbles ashokr660, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“You will get a good nights sleep in any room”
 of 5 bubbles alanw53, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room Facing Swimming pool. Specially the ground floor rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Debashree_Ghosh, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If the hotel is full, garden view rooms are probably more quiet and peaceful than the pool facing ones.”
 of 5 bubbles andrasz, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Pool view rooms were pretty good”
 of 5 bubbles charumanis, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay