We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Malabar House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Malabar House
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

556 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 460: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had been really looking forward to this hotel which was our last stop after 2 weeks in southern india. We had to ask for the room to recleaned as it was dirty (the floor, etc) and the couch needed to be covered as it was stained. The restaurant was maybe the worst meal in our two weeks. there are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ronhU3053QL
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is nicely renovated. The staff is very nice and helpfull. The rooms are rather small but nicely decorated. The pool is rather small, more suited for children or a quick cool-off. I find the hotel is nicely situated.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mayalindab
MervinIsaac, General Manager at Malabar House, responded to this review

Hello and happy new year! We agree that Malabar House is an oasis of calm in colorful Fort Kochi. As we're located in a heritage zone we had to do some design magic with the limited space of an existing historic building - guests frequently comment on the jewel box qualities of the rooms and garden. We're so happy to...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had an evening meal at Malabar House, we found that the staff were more attentive to White people. Menu's were provided to White people straight away, but we had to wait in excess of 20 minutes, the same happened during the ordering of the food. Felt disgusted, and frankly wanted to walk out without paying. I had to ask for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeicesterALL
MervinIsaac, Owner at Malabar House, responded to this review

Dear Guest We sincerely regret that the experience you got while dining at our Restaurant was definitely not up to the mark and more seriously you felt that as Indians the staff did not look after yourself. We have always advocated and worked on global cultures with traditional local values and this is reflected in our design, cuisine, and also...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

3 nights in the historical part of the city , this charming hotel has been nicely renovated and decorated , and is well maintained . Our room n18 has been particularly nice with the visit of a squirrel on our terrace . Dinner was delicious and very nice staff Arun was there to make it even unforgettable . The music...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexa A
MervinIsaac, General Manager at Malabar House, responded to this review

Happy New Year Alexa! We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is indeed privileged and our staff takes great pleasure in sharing the beautiful neighborhood with guests. The music in the garden is a special treat, isn't it? Safe travels and we hope to welcome you back again in the future!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived tonight - as a listed Mr and Mrs Smith hotel this place should be top notch. Yet on check in they denied having received a booking of which I showed them a confirmed email. They had re sold our room and did not even apologise. Disgraceful service and reading the reviews they seem to do this often. DO...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
MervinIsaac, Manager at Malabar House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Its very unfortunate that a systems failure created this situation for us during the busy week and we have been trying our level best to take care of the same by taking care of the guest experiences and making sure our guests have been given alternate choices and services to make up for this mishap. This is not...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We emailed this hotel several times to follow up on a booking request. We got one auto reply and no further response to our many messages. It's such a shame that a beautiful property doesn't havea better booking system

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mglrowan
MervinIsaac, Director of Sales at Malabar House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Sincerely regret the inconvenience you have experienced with the reservation process. Will appreciate another opportunity to make amends. Please advise us a convenient number or email address to reach you and we will do our best to make your visit a memorable one.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A quiet play to stay in bustling Cochin away from the turmoil of street noise. Nice clean comfortable room with proper bath in bathroom albeit hot water was a bit suspect. Food excellent and seemed more healthy than a lot of Indian food we have enjoyed - a light touch. Great bar serving good quality Indian wines. We tried three...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
MervinIsaac, General Manager at Malabar House, responded to this review

Happy New Year Mike! We see Malabar House as an oasis of calm in colorful Fort Kochi, we're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our kitchen takes great pride in that "light touch" you refer to, thank you for noticing. We also try to pair our dishes well with the wines available to us -...

Sydney
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Within easy walking distance of many attractions in Fort Kochi, this hotel is very comfortable and has an exceptional restaurant providing modern Indian and western seafood dishes. We did experience a few issues with housekeeping/staff which can be put down to language/communication and while frustrating were not enough to spoil our visit or prevent us from recommending this hotel to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SydneySchoey
MervinIsaac, General Manager at Malabar House, responded to this review

We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and meal at Malabar Junction! We take pleasure in sharing the beautiful setting with our guests, which in turn inspires us to create better and better meals. We also appreciate your patience regarding some of our staff. We generally hire from our local community and there are occasions when language...

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a double bedded suite at Malabar House hotel on 20th February 2016. The booking was confirmed through Booking.com. Two days before our stay at Malabar House we arrived to stay at a sister property (Serenity) under the same Malabar Escapes ownership & were told that when we checked out of Serenity, we were being upgraded to stay at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CathyGri
MervinIsaac, Manager at Malabar House, responded to this review

Dear Ms.Cathy We regret that you have had this experience . On your arrival we do agree that the Team could have shared the information about your booking better. Having said that, I had personally met you and assured you of the arrangements done, and personally taken you to Taj Malabar where the arrangements and experiences were done specifically for...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you want to explore Fort Kochi and surroundings this is a great place to stay. The rooms are large and uniquely designed. The service was fantastic and we also enjoyed the food in the restaurant. Most of the sights of Fort Kochi are within walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adigut
MervinIsaac, General Manager at Malabar House, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We do indeed have a privileged location in Historic Fort Kochi. Each detail at Malabar House was chosen carefully to create wonderful travel memories for our guests - we're happy to hear that we succeeded! We wish you safe and wonderful travels. Cheers!

325 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (319)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
2.0 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 196 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,807 reviews
0.4 km away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 196 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,306 reviews
0.8 km away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#6 of 196 in Kochi (Cochin)
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#176 of 196 in Kochi (Cochin)
421 reviews
0.6 km away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#4 of 196 in Kochi (Cochin)
728 reviews
0.7 km away
Tea Bungalow
Tea Bungalow
#36 of 196 in Kochi (Cochin)
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Malabar House is a charming boutique hotel overlooking the parade ground in the heart of Fort Cochin. The 17 highly individual rooms and suites seamlessly combine tradition and contemporary design. The Malabar House is a member of Relais & Chateaux. Malabar escapes offers the finest circuit of boutique and villa hotels in Kerala. Placed in colonial Fort Cochin, the backwaters and the plantation hills, each escape gives you a distinct experience & flavour. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Malabar House

Address: 1/269 Cochin Residency Parade Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $233 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malabar House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Malabar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malabar House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Malabar House Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#15 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#26 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Malabar House staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Malabar House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Downstairs rooms are spacious and private.”
 of 5 bubbles SydneySchoey, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We thought we had chosen a good suite but our booking was not honoured on arrival”
 of 5 bubbles CathyGri, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“This is a small hotel in a quiet part of Fort Cochin”
 of 5 bubbles evansjan15, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 12 is fabulous, with a private terrace and corner aspect.”
 of 5 bubbles CopenhagenLesley, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor room good as husband disabled”
 of 5 bubbles Llwyngwril, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay