We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel des Roches

Avenue des Roches, Kourou 97388 French Guiana
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in great prices from these sites
eDreamsUSD 268
PricelineUSD 268
TripadvisorUSD 267
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (65)
Room & Suite (19)
Pool & Beach (7)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#3 of 4 hotels in Kourou

If you’re looking for a family-friendly hotel in Kourou, look no further than Hotel des Roches.

Guest rooms offer a minibar, a refrigerator, and air conditioning, and Hotel des Roches makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the hotel, including 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and room service. In addition, guests can enjoy a pool and breakfast during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

While in Kourou be sure to experience nearby barbeque restaurants such as La Grillade, Relais Spatial Karting, or Le CDB.

Best of all, Hotel des Roches makes it easy to experience some great Kourou attractions like Kourou Space Centre (Centre Spatial Guyanais), which is a popular science museum.

The staff at Hotel des Roches looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Tennis court
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Private beach
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French
121Reviews1Q+A13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 18
  • 52
  • 35
  • 13
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kazzie1409 wrote a review Feb 2020
Sydney, Australia100 contributions43 helpful votes
We stayed at this hotel as part of a group for two nights. When we arrived the lifts and the wifi was not working so it meant a rather difficult walk up the stairs with out bags. The air-conditioning in our room was not working but was fixed when we asked at the front desk. We had dinner there and also breakfast. The dinner was okay and the breakfast buffet was very good with a large selection although not so much on cereal. When the wifi was fixed the internet worked very well. I imagine that most people staying here are either here for work or tourists so you wouldn't be spending much time in your room. It is on the water front so it does have a lovely outlook if you get a room with a view.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from hoteldesroches, Gérant at Hotel des Roches
Responded 28 Feb 2020
Hello, We are sorry that our service was not up to your expectations. However, we remain at your service to bring you a better experience , during your next time with us.
Read more
IanWriter wrote a review Nov 2019
New York City, New York131 contributions262 helpful votes
The architecture and decor of the hotel are interesting -- a whimsical French version of mid-century modern/ doo whop. But it's a mixed bag. The rooms have some elegant wooden furniture (real wood, not veneered particle board) but the walls are covered with tacky popcorn style wallpaper. Rooms have flat screen TV with mostly French programming but some other channels including CNN. There is a room safe but the advertised mini bar contained nothing but water. Some rooms have ocean views but others face the street. There's a pleasing internal corridor with architectural features picked out fresh paint colors, but the exterior of the building is long overdue a new paint job. The large dining area seems to be a later addition, as it does not relate to the rest of the hotel at all. It's a cavernous, awkwardly laid-out space with inadequate cooling. The climate on this coastline is muggy at the best of times and the high-set, slowly rotating ceiling fans of the dining area are just not up to the job. The breakfast buffet and other meals are OK but nothing special, and service is rather haphazard. There is a good wifi signal but it cuts out as soon as you pause at your phone or laptop, I found myself having to reconnect constantly. The location is excellent, right on the beach, and there is a pleasant palm-shaded terrace area to relax or take meals. However the ocean along the entire coast of Guiana (and Guyana and Suriname) is very muddy for at least a mile offshore because large rivers from the interior dump a steady supply of mud. I found the hotel nice enough, but there is room for a lot of improvement,
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Response from hoteldesroches, Gérant at Hotel des Roches
Responded 29 Nov 2019
Dear Ian, Thank you for your comment. We were delighted to welcome you and serve you. We will strive to improve the quality of our services in order to satisfy you during your next visit to our hotel.
Read more
Travel_enthusiast_92 wrote a review Nov 2019
Rincon de la Victoria, Spain382 contributions208 helpful votes
We only stayed at this hotel in Kouru so I don't know how it compares with other hotels in the area, but I can say I enjoyed my stay a lot. Rooms are comfy. Air conditioner worked quite well, which was nice since it was pretty warm outside. I think what I liked the most are the astonishing views from the room and the breakfast restaurant. Views of the sea and the nearby lighthouse were beautiful. The breakfast was really nice. I liked to have it outside in the terrace, with the noise of the sea. I recommend it!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Response from hoteldesroches, Gérant at Hotel des Roches
Responded 29 Nov 2019
Hello, Thank you for your comment. We will be delighted to welcome you to our hotel !
Read more
Wandering Canadians wrote a review Mar 2019
Whistler160 contributions119 helpful votes
2 nights at Hotel des Roches. The hotel is in a lovely location on the point - within walking distance to town and adjacent to the departure point for the tour to Devil's Island. The hotel itself is tired. Our room was basic but covered the necessities. The hotel was full however the main dining area was not open either night of our stay. The casual dining area is adjacent to the pool however is poorly laid out and not at all inviting. Food was mediocre. Once you find your way to the outdoor pool I found no attendant and no towels available. The pool itself is fine The hotel is on the ocean and subject to fairly constant winds during our stay - the shoreline is not inviting and has alot of seaweed. The staff were very nice at the front desk and helpful. In summary - fine for a night but beleive there is a newer option in town with a good attached restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from hoteldesroches, Gérant at Hotel des Roches
Responded 1 Apr 2019
Hello, Thank you for your comment. We were delighted to welcome you and serve you. Looking forward to seeing you again in our hotel.
Read more
Reslysten54 wrote a review Nov 2018
Vienna, Virginia1,675 contribution354 helpful votes
The hotel restaurant seemed totally unprepared to receive our group in spite of the advance booking. After considerable confusion, we were seated and orders were taken. It took awhile to get food, but most of us were happy with the quality. The restaurant has an unfortunate, industrial feel to it, with super-high ceilings with distant fans but no a/c. The location by the shoreline provides for a muggy experience. During the day you can enjoy the view of the beach, but the water is very murky. The breakfast buffet is served in the same venue, and was average. Our room was overlooking a parking lot. It was clean and comfortable. We had a problem the first evening with the safe in our room. We informed the reception the next morning, but it was not fixed before our departure the morning after that. Others in the group shared the same concern. The location close to the boat taking us to the former penal colony on Isles de Salut was the main advantage.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Try to get a beach view
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from hoteldesrochesg, Gérant at Hotel des Roches
Responded 30 Nov 2018
Hello, We are sorry that our service was not up to your expectations. However, we remain at your service to bring you a better experience , during your next time with us.
Read more
USD 151 - USD 191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
French GuianaArrondissement of CayenneKourou
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel des Roches
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel des Roches?
Nearby attractions include Kourou Space Centre (Guiana Space Centre) (6.2 km), Centre d'Archéologie Amérindienne de Kourou (1.2 km), and La plage des Roches (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel des Roches?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel des Roches?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel des Roches?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel des Roches?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel des Roches?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant du Petit Théâtre, Le p'tit cafe, and Maison Péruvienne.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel des Roches?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hotel des Roches have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel des Roches offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel des Roches?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel des Roches?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Does Hotel des Roches have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.