We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Fiji Orchid

Saweni Beach Road Saweni, Lautoka, Viti Levu Fiji
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (271)
360
Panoramas (34)
Room & Suite (86)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 5 hotels in Lautoka
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A sanctuary near Nadi where travelers relax and refresh before or after a trip to their remote Fijian island paradise. With six villas, Fiji Orchid is very private and exclusive. Incorporating restaurant, bar, lounge, boutique and swimming pool, the hotel also offers day-rooms for those awaiting connecting flights from nearby Nadi International Airport. Stay either end of your island escape and discover Fiji as it should be. Full concierge service including complimentary airport transfers available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Free breakfast
Free airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Massage
Adults only
Pool / beach towels
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour check-in
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
186Reviews12Q+A46Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 135
  • 29
  • 16
  • 5
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Spargirl wrote a review Feb 2024
Maple Ridge, Canada13 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed at The Fiji Orchid enroute to NZ for a stopover during a long flight and again on the way home, and it meet all our needs. The boutique hotel with only 6 Bures allowed for a very private and relaxing stay. The biggest win was the kind and attentive staff. Deepika the Manager was a real pleasure to work with. We very much appreciated the rides with Kesho. We also had the pleasure of joining them on Market day in Lautoka which was a great experience. Having access to Raymond's restaurant onsite for our meals was very convenient, They accommodated our food allergies including a wonderful gluten free bread and baba ganoush which was delicious. Asenaca was very sweet and worked very hard to ensure we had everything we needed during our visits.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
markus027 wrote a review Dec 2023
Los Angeles, California44 contributions23 helpful votes
Before embarking on a long trip to Australia, I knew I would need someplace to decompress; to allow me to relax after months of stressful work. I decided to skip the busy resorts in Fiji (too many people) and searched for a smaller property. The Fiji Orchid fit my needs and I booked. What a fantastic choice I made! The grounds are lush, beautiful and well kept. The individual bungalow I booked is massive, clean and extremely comfortable. It was like a dream The staff are kind and attentive. Always with a smile and a warm greeting. I was fortunate enough to be able to spend some time with the owners; we struck up a nice friendship and I was able to learn so much about them, their business and the island. I intend to stay in contact with these lovely people I also intend to explore the South Pacific and I now have a base from which to do so. I will definitely be re-visiting The Fiji Orchid, before and/or after, any adventures I have in Oceania.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mary Snidal wrote a review Nov 2023
Nanaimo, Canada5 contributions3 helpful votes
5 star prices, 3 star quality. Our bure was lovely, but not 5 star. The overall appearance was worn. The mosquito Net was cheap and had numerous holes. The garbage can in the bathroom was dented and rusty, the canvas roof was filthy…all not a big deal but when they are charging $720 FJ per night, it should be pristine. We had booked the Fiji Orchid for two nights to celebrate my 65th birthday, which was to be the second night. This was a highlight of our trip to Fiji. We planned on having my birthday dinner at the Orchid, after eating there our first night, we changed our plan. I ordered the consume ($26) it was a small serving with a few veggies in it, tasteless and bland. I ordered the creamy curried prawns as my main ($40) the prawns (several small prawns or large shrimp) were over cooked and tough. And they were not in a curry sauce, rather a sweet seafood like sauce. The exact sauce was served as a condiment at the Boatshed where we ended up for my birthday dinner.(and had an excellent meal) The worst part of the evening was the service. I realize that our server was “in training”, she was lovely, but over anxious. She hovered, walked by, constantly checking on our progress and ready to whisk away items finished with. Mid meal I put down my fork to take a sip of my drink, she was immediately there asking if I was done. It was not a relaxing meal, I left the meal feeling stressed and unhappy with the food and service. I told my husband, I will not go back for my birthday dinner!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Pretty much summed up in my review.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peter Bourke, Owner at The Fiji Orchid
Responded 11 Jan 2024
Bula Mary, thank you for taking your time to post a review of your experience with us. Firstly I must point out that The Fiji Orchid is a small, unique boutique hotel and while we do not claim any star rating, we are rated by the whom-evers as four star. We do not claim to be five star and our pricing is certainly not five star. In fact, as per Expedia, F$720 per night is spot-on the average price for a room night in Fiji. Five star resort accommodation in Fiji is F$2,000 upwards. Glad to hear that you found your bure to be lovely and that the drawbacks were not a big deal. But I am concerned about your comments on our food and restaurant, an area where we pride ourselves as being well above average. The kitchen and restaurant staff have read your review and are understandably upset with their performance on that night. Thank you for saying that you were not relaxed and were stressed and unhappy. I apologise to you, as do my staff who were on duty that evening, especially our trainee. It was certainly not their intention to make you feel that way. I hope your husband was okay. As a boutique hotel, we pride ourselves in delivering friendly, individual service to each and every guest,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Villa 2 At Tairua wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions
A tranquil, peaceful retreat set in magnificent gardens, we found the Fiji Orchid the ideal place before continuing to our ultimate destination in Fiji. If you don't find the larger hotels personable enough the Fiji Orchid is well worth considering. With only six bures it has a laid back l feel just right or our first night on holiday. We swam in the pool which we had to ourselves and eat like kings at their intimate restaurant surrounded by orchids. The food was outstanding and very reasonably priced . I can thoroughly recommend the Orchid as an alternative to the resorts at Denerau and it's about the same distance from the airport .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: the restaurant is outstanding but book early. It has become popular with locals
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
RedwoodGeorge wrote a review Sept 2023
Santa Rosa, California5 contributions
+1
The website photos makes this look like a luxe stay but the bures have a tired, worn-out feel and need a lot of maintenance. I suspect the pictures were taken fifteen years ago when the resort opened and not much upkeep has been done since. The floors are faded and scratched - a simple refinishing would go a long way. The structure has apparently settled as there are gaps in the joints and the bathroom ceiling sags. Speaking of the bathroom, the shower head has corroded out in a few places and delivers a seriously inconsistent spray. Design-wise, the water closet is too small: everything is based on one-meter squares and it's smaller than an airplane toilet. (I hit my head on the door every time I sat down on the toilet). The water heater for our bure is much too small (probably 100 litres) and running out of hot water was the norm. Also no showers back-to-back, the heater needs recovery time. While the photos show all of these wide-open doors to let the outside in, when we suggested it the staff said it was a bad idea because of all the mosquitos. They also helpfully suggested that we don't take a walk to the beach down the road as a number of guests have been robbed while walking down the road. I'm not sure how the website can claim that the bures are 860 square feet; the interior space is 4x8 meters (344 sq feet) and including the outside verandah, the size is 52 sq meters (560 sq feet). Maybe the footprint of the canvas roof is 860 square feet but claiming that as the size of the bure is quite a stretch. On the positive side: The grounds are beautiful, the staff was very helpful and the food was quite good. If the owners had just taken six months of the COVID shutdown to perform some routine maintenance, and if the grounds were in a safer location, this would have been an easy recommendation. As it is, we wouldn't return and I wouldn't recommend it to friends...
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peter Bourke, Owner at The Fiji Orchid
Responded 11 Jan 2024
Bula George, firstly I must thank you for the autographed photo of Raymond Burr that you left for us, such a treasure. And I thank you for your review, being quite a contrast to our other reviews. It has been most helpful, especially your comments about the worn-out feel of your bure. That has made us spring into action. Since your stay we have refurbished that bure to the same standard as all our bures. So sorry to hear that you hit your head on the door every time you sat on the toilet. I'm not sure how that could happen as our toilet cubicle floor area (4ft x 4ft or 1.2mt x 1.2mt) is very much larger than the area of an aircraft toilet floor. You are mistaken with your estimate of the bure size. Your one metre squares are in fact 1.2 meter squares (4ft x 4ft). There are mosquitos about all over Fiji , being in the tropics, we do keep them to a minimum at The Fiji Orchid. Our staff are mindful of your comfort and will advise you to shut the wide-open doors around sunset, as this is "mozzie time" all over Fiji. Our staff will also helpfully advise you not to take a walk to the beach, not because it is not safe, but because it is a public beach and is not kept clean. None of our guests have been robbed walking down the road. Fiji is a very safe destination in comparison to most countries around the world. In my opinion, safer than going to most first world countries as a tourist. I hope that, while you will not be returning to The Fiji Orchid, you will return to the Fiji Islands.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paula W wrote a review July 2023
Sydney, Australia53 contributions32 helpful votes
+1
Beautiful, peaceful location with wonderful staff, nothing is a problem to them, they are there to please. Accommodation, very comfy bed, rainwater shower, and good pressure. Food was magnificently presented. We had breakfast room service, such a luxury whilst on holidays. Figero, the resident cat, will come and visit while you are having meals. He is sociable and wanders in to say meow! He is not a problem. Two things I would like to mention, with having both knees replaced and a hip, I had difficulty getting out of the swimming pool, getting in was fine as I jumped in at the deep end. A handrail at the steps would be welcomed. With boardwalks either side of the bures, a fold out clothes line would be handy to hang wet bathers. Special mention to Meme, Emily, "flashlight Johnny" to guide us back to bed. Love to all, Paula & John Bure 6 😚😚
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kim wrote a review July 2023
Australia1 contribution
The Fiji Orchid is everything we thought it was going to be and more! The staff treat you like extended family members - they always ensure that you are safe and well looked after. We booked a Bure at the Fiji Orchid as a way to start our honeymoon. We were looking for somewhere close-ish to the airport which offered opportunities to relax, but also explore if we wanted to. From when we were picked up at the airport, to when we left, we were treated like royalty. It was so lovely to be picked up from the airport by the hotel’s private driver in the hotel’s very clean and comfortable new Toyota Prado. We were then welcomed warmly by the hotel staff, given a welcome drink and then taken to our Bure. The Bure had tea and coffee facilities, a small bar fridge, a king-size bed, tissues, air con, lounges, insect repellant, a clean bathroom and even a little desk area. During our 5 night stay, we enjoyed participating in the in-house tour, where we were driven around by the Fiji Orchid Driver to the mud pools, Garden of the sleeping giant and through town (with a market visit and a try of Kava). During this experience, we felt very safe, knowing that our driver was nearby and always willing to help. We also spent a lot of time relaxing by the lovely clean pool and even had a massage (which was absolutely lovely!). Your room gets serviced every day and we even asked the staff if they could possibly do a load of laundry whilst we were out for the day (which they happily did). The food was great - the staff asked us about our dietary requirements and tailored the daily menu to suit. Everything was fresh and wonderfully prepared. The staff also helped us organise external tours and made sure that everything ran smoothly. They were all so happy and always greeted you whenever you walked by. We honestly couldn’t have asked for anything better. Thank you Fiji Orchid - we will hopefully be back someday soon :)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Just book it :)
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Michael S wrote a review Apr 2023
2 contributions
+1
Right from the start you are greeted and welcomed by the most attentive staff we have encountered. The personalized service they provide is incredible and nothing seems to be a hassle, everyone knew us by name and was always up for a chat! We were travelling on our honeymoon and everyone made sure to congratulate us, they even spelt it on the bed with leaves and flowers! Now about the room! You are nestled in what feels like the jungle and surrounded by glass doors which makes for such a relaxing time! we thought at the beginning it might not be very private however, they have curtains upon curtains to make you feel nice and secure inside. Servicing was pristine and always done while we were at breakfast and again turndown while we were at dinner, a lovely touch. We had the pleasure of meeting the owner who we struck up a friendship straight away, once again she was so lovely and always up for a chat, she has made it her mission to provide a place with amazing service and welcoming, and you could see that with all of the staff, they truly looked like they enjoyed working. We were genuinely sad to leave and are grateful to experience such an amazing place, whenever we manage to get back to Fiji we will be staying again! Thank you, Vinaka! Michael & Olivia.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you want a driver for a day trip ask for Alee, he was amazing!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kitkat071 wrote a review Apr 2023
Canning Vale, Australia586 contributions201 helpful votes
+1
Hubby and I stayed four nights here on the way to Canada. We were greeted with a smile by kesho then travelled half an hour or so to the bures. We were greeted and given a welcome drink while checking in which was a very smooth check in. Our bags were in our room by the time we got to put room. The bures are unique and very comfortable. They are air conditioned and have tea and coffee facilities and a fridge in your bure. The shower has a nice rain shower which is lovely and hot We had our dinner in our bure because we arrived late The staff here are outstanding and so very genuine. Breakfast had a few options and they ask you at Breakfast if you would like lunch and dinner. Meals were very tasty. They have a selection of cocktails you can purchase. Jenny the owner made us feel very welcome. Ledge was informative about the different tours that you can do. He organized a tour with kesho to take us to the Hindu temple, the markets , the mud pools and the orchid gardens which was absolutely stunning. We loved the fact there are only six bures. The gardens are a credit and are beautiful. The staff here are so genuine and appear to really love what they do. We enjoyed our conversations with Jenny. In all it's a very relaxing stay and you can do as much or little as you wish.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kai C wrote a review Apr 2023
Half Moon Bay, California1268 contributions534 helpful votes
I was there in the monsoon season, which means I was mostly stuck. This was a good place to be stuck - simple but tastefully appointed bungalows, impeccable staff. Nice garden. The Orchid is a out of the beaten path, if you don't have a car you must rely on local taxis, which can get expensive.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lautoka area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$300 - AU$492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the fiji orchid hotel lautoka
LOCATION
FijiViti LevuLautoka
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE FIJI ORCHID (AU$300): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Viti Levu) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Fiji Orchid
Which popular attractions are close to The Fiji Orchid?
Nearby attractions include Tivua Island Fiji (6.4 km), Vuda Point Marina Fiji (3.6 km), and Indulge Wines Fiji (saweni) (1.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Fiji Orchid?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Fiji Orchid?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Fiji Orchid?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Fiji Orchid?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Fiji Orchid?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Boatshed Restaurant and Lifeboat Bar, First Landing Resort Restaurant, and Blue Ginger Cafe & Deli.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Fiji Orchid?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Does The Fiji Orchid have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Fiji Orchid offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Fiji Orchid have airport transportation?
Yes, The Fiji Orchid offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Fiji Orchid?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.