We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 105: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Nothing conpares to the beauty and authenticity of this Fijian beauty spot. In its own bay with a number of Bure and tents the budget traveller has found the real Fiji. I first visited this place 12 years ago , drawn by the write up in the Lonely Planet guide regarding the hospitality and the top dive sites offered just... More 

Helpful?
Thank chantalhockey
dolphinbaydiversfiji, Owner at Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat, responded to this review

It was wonderful to see you again and thank you for the nice review. I hope you will not wait another 12 years for your next visit:-). Keep on diving! More 

pukapuka
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just some basics about the area. So if you are like me trying to figure out how to get there and where to fly into, read this first paragraph. I flew into savu savu thinking I would dive and have a walk about and then go to dolphin bay. Savu savu was nice but in actuality if you are not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mamboveepee
dolphinbaydiversfiji, Owner at Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat, responded to this review

All so true;-) We had fun having you here and hope to see you back soon! Viola More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

This was my second repeat visit to dolphin bay. I feel they are home and family.the scuba diving and instructions are great. I feel comfortable and relaxed. The fiji family that fix food are amazing and I love the group dining meeting other guests. It is clean and authentic...I needed a place back in taveuni and they booked me their... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016

This has to be the most memorable holiday ever.The Swiss and German owners were so friendly.Good food and diving was fabulous.Such amazing reefs.Be carefull about getting sores here.My heal got chaffed from my booties (suggest you wear swimming socks under booties)and it got infected to the point where I could not walk when I arrived home.Charcoal poultice and green soap... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andre S
dolphinbaydiversfiji, Owner at Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat, responded to this review

Bula Andre, Thanks for your review.....Just a tip:-) CONTRARY to common belief it is NOT good to have the wound open. This is a tropical climate. So we ALWAYS recommend to have a wound, never mind how small, attended to immediately. This means putting Magnesium Sulfate on it if it has closed on the top, so it can stay open... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We visited Dolphin Bay early August 2016 and stayed for 5 nights with a light meal plan. The staff is lovely and helpful, and dinners on the beach with candle light lovely. We went diving only one day and snorkelling the other days - definitely a good place for diving with the rainbow reef. Snorkelling off the beach and further... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank reefshark2016
dolphinbaydiversfiji, Owner at Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed the diving, snorkeling and your time with us. While the dive sites are good, unfortunately Winston did a number on some of the snorkel sites.......Our site of the island has a micro climate with very little water and therefore, if we have no rain for a long period in our winter time, we have to... More 

Beechwood, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Close to Rainbow Reef. Secluded & quiet accommodation with good snorkeling off the beach but unfortunately the management didn't seem interested in taking snorkelers out to the reefs. The food was excellent and the light meal option is sufficient with seconds freely available. The bures however were in need of repair & renovation. Staff were friendly & welcoming.

Helpful?
2 Thank ian6633
dolphinbaydiversfiji, Owner at Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat, responded to this review

Bula Ian, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry you did not get all the snorkeling in you wanted off the boat. However, we only have 2 boats and it is first come first serve. Unfortunately we were fully booked the week you were here. For safety reasons we do not allow snorkeling... More 

Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We really enjoyed our stay here direct on the Rainbow reef. We can only agree to all the rave reviews of the super friendly and helpful staff - both before and during your stay. The food is great and the bures are equiped with what you need, though a bit dated. Having dinner at the beach together with other guests... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank futtrup
dolphinbaydiversfiji, Front Office Manager at Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you Erik for taking the time to write a review we very much appreciate it. I hear you about the extra charges and just wanted to mention that we quoted all the charges in advance. Also we are NOT anywhere near a road or shopping facility everything basically has to be brought in by boat in advance which increases... More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Dolphin Bay is the place to be, if you ask me. Once you make your way there (most commonly by big plane, then little plane, then car, then little boat), you will never want to leave. Dolphin Bay is a diver's paradise and most people go there to do at least a little bit of diving, but if that's not... More 

Helpful?
Thank snapjanet
dolphinbaydiversfiji, Owner at Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat, responded to this review

Bula Janet and thank you so much for the review. I speak for all the staff if I say we miss you! Wherever you are right now, I hope you are having a great time and hopefully we will see you back here some day:-) Viola More 

Beijing, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2016

with remote environment and limited electricity supply, dolphin bay divers retreat gave us a experience that far away from modern society. we really love here, warm staff, great food, and especially the decoration of dinning table is so beautiful that we cant not stop take picture of it. diving is good, equipment is quite new, dive master is attentive. when... More 

Helpful?
Thank kevin l
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

I can't possibly write everthing I want to about this place! So I will try to keep it relevant. This place is one of if not the best places I have ever stayed at (40th country travelled to). This is not a resort, more an informal retreat to get away from the main tourist drag, but more importantly to sit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Persia S
dolphinbaydiversfiji, Owner at Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for the great reviews!!!! We already MISS YOU!!!!!! I got back safe and sound but too much civilization in Savusavu:-) No MORE ice cream...:-) you cannot stop diving....so let us know when you are ready for the next step! Lilly, the turtle is waiting for you:-)miss you! Viola More 

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (116)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taveuni Island
0.0 km away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 10 in Taveuni Island
49 reviews
0.0 km away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#1 of 2 in Matei
102 reviews
0.0 km away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 10 in Taveuni Island
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
1,294 reviews
0.0 km away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
389 reviews
0.0 km away
Maravu Taveuni Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat is a small family style dive resort on the Rainbow Reef in Fiji. Accessible by boat only it nestles in a horseshoe bay, surrounded by Rainforest, White Sandy Beach and Palm trees. Minutes to all the dives sites including the world famous white wall, famous for Softcorals, 20+ dive sites to choose from this is the ideal dive spot. Dolphins, Reef Sharks, tropical fish, it's all there, including a PADI dive shop where you can take courses in English or German. Accommodations range from bure with private bathrooms to Jungle Tents with shared bathrooms, all with comfortable beds and mattresses and very close to the beach. Let the soft lull of the waves put you to sleep, sip a glass of wine in your hammock and let the fish go by! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat

Address: Vanaira Bay | Rainbow Reef, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Price Range: $19 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat Hotel Taveuni Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Dolphin Bay Divers Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“While the tents are very comfortable, if a private bathroom and hot showers are important to you, definitely get a bure.”
 of 5 bubbles snapjanet, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I suppose trust in traveller photos and reviews”
 of 5 bubbles geraldineo211, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“We would recommend the bures”
 of 5 bubbles TheAusieVons, 8 May 2016 | Read review
“The huts have a shower and a bathroom, The tents do not.”
 of 5 bubbles Thomasleebrandon, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
“only 4 bures and a few tents”
 of 5 bubbles 670cazb, 11 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay