We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

5,745 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,354: English reviews
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2014

Excellent holiday. The resort is huge and kept to a very high standard. Wasn't a speck of rubbish anywhere, gardeners and cleaners around all day. The activities were great, animation team do a fantastic job making sure there no problems and spending time getting to know people. Nicest people I have ever met on holiday. Pool areas were brilliant, never...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ChrisJ1990
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review

Dear ChrisJ1990, Thank you for posting comments about your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to read that you have enjoyed our resort, animation and vacation in general. We are grateful for comments about the garden and housekeeping service and our pools. It is very important for us to know your opinion to have a possibility to develop...

Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 19 November 2014

Nice hotel with spacious and clean rooms. Food was nice and we had quite a big choice every day. Extra points for fresh vegetables and fruits. The downside was that the week we visited hotel was almost fully book so in order to get place on the beach you had to wake up at 6-7am and rush their to put...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank webdevcionka
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review

Dear webdevcionka, Thank you for valuing your stay at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort. We are always appreciating constructive criticism as we see a chance in it to improve our services. We would like to apologize, if in your case you were disappointed with beach in our hotel and your valued comments have forwarded to department heads. As we are...

Meltham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2014

we recently went to this hotel for 2 weeks this October me my partner and our 18 month old little boy and really enjoyed ourselves on getting there we were welcomed with welcome home and a refreshing drink we immediately made us relax. our room we were given was really nice with it seeming like 3 rooms but only being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheleaalf
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review

Dear sheleaalf, Thank you very much for your valued comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciate very much that you share your impressions of your holidays at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort. Thank you very much that you appreciated work of hotel animation team. We are glad that you and all your family spent wonderful holiday in our hotel and we are...

Malaga, Spain
Reviewed 18 November 2014

We stayed 6 nights at the hotel in November, and the main purpose of our trip was diving. Because they have their own diving center, we chose the Sunrise Makadi. Good points: - The diving center PDL, was GREAT. We did the PADI Advanced Open Water with them and it was perfect. New equipment, great organization, friendly and professional staff,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LiviaRezende
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review

Dear LiviaRezende, We would like to thank you for choosing SUNRISE Royal Makadi Resort for your holidays in Egypt and we hope that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Thank you for taking your precious time and giving us your comments. In fact as our valuable guest your opinion is very important for us as it helps us...

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 18 November 2014

It was a beautiful holiday, which we really enjoyed :) Hotel is very nice and the staff are very nice :) animation team is very nice, special thanks for Sepastian :) The hotel is clean and service are very good .. The sea is clean, warm and very beautiful :) Thank you so much to everyone for everything!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Klára S
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review

Dear Klára S, Thank you very much for your valued comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciate very much that you share your impressions of your holidays at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort. We are glad that our service met and exceed your expectations. We hope to welcome you soon to SUNRISE Royal Makadi Resort again! Best regards, Hotel Management

Deal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2014

I was very sceptical about visiting Egypt, given I had heard many negative comments. I am very pleased to say how wrong I have been. Sunrise Makadi Resort was absolutely great, the Animation team were exceptional,especially Kareem 'Chelsea', if he reads this he will know what I mean 'you will be late for your own funeral'!!!! I could not fault...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jackie H, Thank you for posting comments about your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to read that you have enjoyed our resort, animation and vacation in general. We are grateful for comments about the room and housekeeping service, food provided and our Ala-cart restaurants. It is very important for us to know your opinion to have...

Ghent, Belgium
Reviewed 17 November 2014

I visited SRMR for 10 days with a friend, we just got back yesterday. Our rooms were located in block 26, which was a lovely quiet area and offered perfect views of the garden. I know the resort gets raving reviews all over, and although it sure has a lot to offer, it all depends on your expectations and needs....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 66Helene
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review

Dear 66Helene, Thank you for valuing your stay at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort. We are always appreciating constructive criticism as we see a chance in it to improve our services. We would like to apologize, if in your case you were disappointed and your valued comments have forwarded to department heads. The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team is wishing...

Zandhoven, België
Reviewed 17 November 2014

We arrived on the 8 of November around 20.00h together with friends of us (a couple of honeymooners) who I had recommended the hotel to. After a warm welcome we were escorted to our rooms. The initial rooms that were appointed to us didn't completely fullfill our high expectations (the hotels scores very high on all the review sites ......

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sirik1964
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sirik1964, The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments. We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments! We are glad that you appreciated work of our hotel staff, your valued comments have forwarded to concerned Departments. Thank you for taking your precious time and giving us your...

Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2014

Just returned from 10 days at the Sunrise Royal Makadi Resort. I can honestly say that the service we received was faultless. We would like to say a very big thank you to the staff in the reception bar aera who not only remembered what you were drinking but also made sure your glass was never empty. Food was good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 19,602,110
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review

Dear 19602110, Thank you very much that you have taken some of your precious time to post this charming reviews . It is really a pleasure to read it and we are very proud to receive your respected compliments. Thank you very much that you appreciated work of hotel staff. As we are working constantly on improving our services to...

Reviewed 17 November 2014

Just got back from the resort. We have been there for one week and it was really a great spend time. The hotel is perfect, you can find everything you need there, if you have a problem then in two seconds there are ten people who wants to help you, but for me one of the best thing was an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dorota Z
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dorota Z, Thank you very much for your valued comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciate very much that you share your impressions of your holidays at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort. Thank you very much that you appreciated work of hotel animation team. We are glad that you spent wonderful holiday in our hotel and we are looking forward to...

4,627 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3948)
Viewed
Room/Suite (276)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (654)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (879)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (92)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Dining (347)
Viewed
View from Room (136)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
3:15
Videos (11)
Viewed
Other (1497)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (399)
Viewed
Adults Pool (6)
Viewed
Amenities (45)
Viewed
Aqua Park (28)
Viewed
Beach (14)
Viewed
Exective Suite (47)
Viewed
Family Pool (13)
Viewed
Family Room (41)
Viewed
Family Room With Bunk Bed (36)
Viewed
Junior Suite (64)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (280)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (97)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.7 km away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
736 reviews
0.6 km away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
13.6 km away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
0.9 km away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#5 of 29 in Makadi Bay
970 reviews
13.3 km away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Price Range: $52 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort staff and other travellers.
381 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (381)

Questions? Get answers from SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“it is so spread out, some of the sea view rooms are so far from the sea it take 15 minutes to walk to it .”
 of 5 bubbles DeanFurlong, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“blockes 11 and 12 where near reception but if you have kids you will want block 20 upwards”
 of 5 bubbles 5taxis, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The hotel is really big, so pick a room close to the beach if you're not into the waterpark activities.”
 of 5 bubbles ataha, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Look at upgrading to VIP, well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles CharlieJCI, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Blocks 19 and 20 are closest to the beach, some 1st floor rooms (in block 20) have sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles daviesrusu, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5