We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Drop Bear Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Drop Bear Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

278 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Drop Bear Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 232: English reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Spent about a week here and really enjoyed myself. The staff is very friendly and attentive, they have a fantastic pool and the TV room is great for chilling. I think I spent my whole day in there nursing my muscles after the jungle trek. Would recommend to anyone coming to or passing through Santa Marta.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Girl at the front desk was unbelievably rude. Initially she was ok then she got condescending when I raised my eyebrow at the 9% tax she said would be applied for using a card. Everywhere else in Santa Marta is 3%... not sure where she pulled 9% from. But I restrained myself and took my business elsewhere. Sad part is,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Gabriel K, Owner at Drop Bear Hostel, responded to this review

ah spiteful youth. We thank for you your revenge review because we didn't give you the massive discount you demanded when you walked in off the street without a reservation. Clearly the fact that you DIDNT even stay with us, whereas your travelling companion did, speaks volumes of the kind of person you are. We do not charge 9% for...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Top hostel run by staff that clearly understand the needs of travellers. We had a great time and met great people. It's social, but also chill, and a great place to base yourself for trips around Santa Marta. It's not in the centre of Santa Marta but this really didn't matter. If you did want to venture into town for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ainslee J
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Drop bear hostel is by far one of the best if not the best hostel I stayed at. The cleanliness, atmosphere, things to do, quality of food, niceness of staff all was amazing. We had a few problems with leaving santa Marta and it was night time and they were so helpful and made us feel right at home for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Drop bear is a nice and spacious hostel. Rooms are big, but you have to walk through a room to get to others, or other rooms come through yours for the bathroom. It was fine for me, but some people might not like that. Great place to relax in between trips (ciudad perdida, Minca, etc). Pool, bar, great food and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sabrinadhz
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

This hostel is full of histories. Could be a little noisy until the midnight, because the bar and the parties, but it's ok. The attendance is very nice and the team is very good. There is a nice pool and comfortbles hamocs! They have a good Service of laundry too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo B
Barranquilla, Colombia
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We had a great stay at Drop Bear during a two-day, one night visit to Santa Marta. It's not right downtown but it's easy to get to and is in a nice neighborhood. Wifi was good. Bed was comfortable. The community and other people staying here really made it a great time. It's easy to plan trips throughout the Sierra...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob F
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Nice place with great personnel, especially Carlos in the reception 😊👍 Very helpful and able to answer all of our inquiries. The pool is nice. There is a "Netflix-room" available 24/7, which also contain table tennis and a pool table. The kitchen (which can be used by the guests) could be a bit cleaner and better equipped. Overall a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carl G
Stromboli, Italy
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

The staff is nice and friendly, but it very noisy and full of young drunk gringos doing noises till late. The area is not fully safe and rooms are small and extremely hot. Not recommended unless. It looks like a prison where young people stay inside having parties around the pool

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magmatrek
Gabriel K, Owner at Drop Bear Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Mario, thank you for your review. We appreciate at 50 years of age this place probably wasnt what you were looking for. The 5 star hotel you went to afterwards was definitely more your style. We recommend perhaps READING tripadvisor FIRST instead of just using it after the fact to bad-mouth our business for your mistake of staying in...

Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

Clean spacious and really cool lighting at night!!! The pool is a great plus! Close to an Exito supermarket which was super convenient. The food was pretty good too. It was only 6000 pesos to hire a cab to get to the market to take the bus towards Minca

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (114)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel Miami SM
Hotel Miami SM
#43 of 68 in Santa Marta
55 reviews
2.3 km away
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
#2 of 150 in Santa Marta
676 reviews
2.3 km away
The Dreamer Hostel
The Dreamer Hostel
#3 of 150 in Santa Marta
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
La Guaca Hostel
La Guaca Hostel
#4 of 150 in Santa Marta
168 reviews
2.4 km away
La Villana Hostel
La Villana Hostel
#10 of 150 in Santa Marta
207 reviews
6.1 km away
Casa del Ritmo
Casa del Ritmo
#6 of 150 in Santa Marta
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come experience coastal Colombia and all that Santa Marta has to offer in the Australian Drop Bear Hostel. We are the central hub of Santa Marta for your day trips, treks and tours. Perfectly placed for easy access to the city centre, PARQUE TAYRONA, THE LOST CITY, DIVING, TAGANGA, PALOMINO AND MUCH MORE. As well as nearby supermarkets and ATMs. The hostel in extremely spacious with a restaurant, self-catered kitchen, massive TV/chill-out/games room, bar, gardens, over 20 hammocks and a giant pool. Not mention the most comfortable and clean beds in Santa Marta. So come join us for a cocktail, enjoy our daily activities like Monday Movie nights by the poolside cinema, Saturday night party buses, Thursday trivia and much more! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Drop Bear Hostel

Address: Carrera 21 20 - 36 | Barrio Jardín, Santa Marta 470005, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Price Range: $15 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Drop Bear Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Drop Bear Hostel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Drop Bear Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“air con room is good in summer and wedges are delicious”
Laaadman, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The cheapest room is only a hallway with 6-8 beds in it”
ABRreviews, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“stayed in Zapote, the aircon dorm, which is quite big for an 8 bed dorm”
940hildeg, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“I stayed upstairs in the Pitaya room, and enjoyed it very much.”
Ronnor2, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Nothing looked peacefull to be honest...”
D2405ZUpaulr, 15 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5