We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Decameron Aquarium

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Decameron Aquarium
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,895 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 220: English reviews
Start your review of Decameron Aquarium
 Click to rate
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a wonderful trip through beautiful Columbia, this hotel was terrible experience. It is not up to standards expected by most North Americans looking for a relaxing getaway at the beach. The staff seemed bored or angry. The food was overcooked and under seasoned , and it was almost impossible to reserve space in the "specialty" dining rooms. Cocktails were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScooterInMotion
Miller A, Gerente at Decameron Aquarium, responded to this review

Good morning Mr. ScooterInMotion First I want to thank you for taking your time and commenting on your trip. I regret that your experience at the hotel has not been positive. We inform you that we have rooms away from the pool area where the day and night activities are performed which allow the total rest of the guests. We...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are looking for a sprawling beautiful resort with lovely beach and great service, then this is NOT the place to choose! However, being able to walk directly into town for an stroll was a definite plus! Its on the older side, however reasonably maintained. Rooms,Beds and shower were decent. Pool was..well...odd and useless! The pier was really nice,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila T
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed here for two weeks from January 12/17 to January 26/17. Ala carte meals are not bad, there are five restaurants that you can reserve for a nice dinner lots of swimming in pool as well as the sea in the hotel. The rooms are pretty clean and well kept. Beds are clean and comfy,t he bathroom is nice,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David H
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 January 2017

The Decameron hotel/resort is based on the 'all inclusive' concept and we paid like $ 400 per night, The concept itself is good, the way they do it however is not so good. The hotel feels like a 2-3 star hotel. It allready starts with the check-in. We were send to a big room with many chairs where we ladies...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thomas S
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

The check in is at 3pm but we got our rooms at 4.30 pm, and we were placed in the worst rooms. Never ever accept to stay in tower 16, it is in front of a discoteck and one of the hotel's restaurants is in the first floor, too noisy! We couldn't sleep at all! In general, the service is...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Omar S
temecula
Reviewed 31 December 2016

The only good thing was the beautiful turquoise water to swim in and the view from the room. The "all inclusive" was terrible and a complete waste of our money. The buffet offered 3 times a day was marginal. The "specialty restaurants" were acceptable but ordinary. The worst part was that we were only allowed to make a reservation "the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ingep0227
Miller A, Gerente at Decameron Aquarium, responded to this review

good afternoon I appreciate the comments you made about the wonderful views of the sea from the Aquarium Hotel. I regret that your stay was not pleasant. We hope that you return to visit Decameron hotels and that this experience will not stop you from returning. Miller Arias Generall Maneger

Criciuma, SC
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Decameron Aquarium might not be the nicest hotel in San Andres, but it's my favorite. Most blocks have been erected over the limestone from the coral that originated the island just over the sea. You could say that if you jump from your balcony you would fall in the sea.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank José Nestor C
Miller A, Gerente at Decameron Aquarium, responded to this review

Good afternoon Comments like this shows that we make every effort to maintain quality standards towards our guests. Please do not wait to visit us again. Miller Arias Gerente General

Cali, Colombia
Reviewed 30 November 2016

I would not mention anything in regards to the degraded condition in which the hotel is. My primary focus is in the absolute poor customer service experience my family and friends underwent during our stay there. I was celebrating my anniversary celebration and a have a party of 13 friends and relatives lodged at this “Hotel”. The staff have some...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank vivipatica
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewed 23 November 2016

This is a very good hotel option to stay in San Andres Island with beautiful sea views from all over the places of the hotel including from rooms. Honestly the rooms requires to be refurbished , together with bathrooms , but in general if you are not too demanding , they are acceptable . Buffet services for breakfast , lunch...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gustavo G
VA
Reviewed 24 October 2016

This is a mixed review but it kind of went downhill at check in. To make our reservation we called the number on the hotel’s website so it’s not like we booked from Trip Advisor or Booking.com or some other 3rd party. We told the reservations person that we would arrive late Friday night and leave really late on Sunday...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jafo19D
Miller A, Gerente at Decameron Aquarium, responded to this review

Dear Mr. We would like to thank you for choosing us and for taking your time to give us your feedback, as your comments are important to us. As per our hotel standard the check in is from 3:00 pm to 5:00 pm and the checkout is at noon. The late check out service is not managed by our commercial...

4,256 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4247)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (883)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (706)
Viewed
View from Room (362)
Viewed
Room/Suite (356)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
Dining (304)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (179)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
0:36
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (1410)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Andres Island hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Casablanca
Hotel Casablanca
#6 of 41 in San Andres Island
1,083 reviews
7.4 km away
Hotel MS San Luis Village
Hotel MS San Luis Village
#22 of 27 in San Andres
210 reviews
10.1 km away
Sunset Hotel
Sunset Hotel
#2 of 41 in San Andres Island
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
#4 of 27 in San Andres
1,379 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Boutique Le castel blanc
0.3 km away
Decameron Los Delfines
Decameron Los Delfines
#9 of 41 in San Andres Island
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the midst of an Antillean environment, this resort has an exceptional architecture with circular towers overlooking the sea at ‘Punta Hansa’ – at the northern end of the Island of San Andres – which allow for wonderful panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea. These buildings are alongside a long wooden dock that leads to a natural pool in the sea and with an aquatic platform ideal for snorkeling and other water sports. The Decameron Aquarium is located approximately 10 minutes from the airport and is a well sought out location for tourists since the longest and most beautiful beach of the island is located only a few blocks away, surrounded by a boardwalk, parallel to a commercial area with restaurants, discos and the most exclusive bars. You will enjoy an enchanting paradise that can be explored completely on foot and where a cultural mixture of English, Spanish, Pirates and Corsairs can be explored. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Decameron Aquarium

Address: Avenida Colombia 1-19, San Andres Island, Colombia
Region: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Price Range: $294 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Decameron Aquarium 3.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Decameron Aquarium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Aquarium Hotel San Andres Island
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Andres Island
#2 Spa Hotel in San Andres Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Decameron Aquarium staff and other travellers.
146 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (146)

Questions? Get answers from Decameron Aquarium staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“far from the swimming pool (there are quite noisy parties in there)”
 of 5 bubbles 291henriquec, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“You should say right away that you would like a room with sea view and give a little tip of like 10.000 pesos”
 of 5 bubbles Franzipanda, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“My room was directly on the ocean and I loved it. choose the new building which has elevator, number starting with1600s”
 of 5 bubbles Nkee, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the tower with elevator.”
  • View from room 1014
  • Room
 of 5 bubbles JuanFranToronto, 28 May 2016 | Read review
“Tower 1, 2 or 3 with first floor oceanview”
 of 5 bubbles FiestaSun, 13 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5