We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu

Show Prices
#6 of 2,651 Hotels in Chengdu
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,763 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 595: English reviews
Start your review of Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in one of the Horizon Club rooms The hotel itself was a little dated, but the room had an awesome view of the river and skyline. The room itself was very comfortable. Great breakfast in the Club lounge, a little less variety than Cafe Z but less crowded and a table with a view. The complimentary moblie wifi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Calla2005
Dexter-Cheng, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review

DearCalla2005, Thank you for staying at Shangri-La Hotel, Chengdu and sharing the feedback with us. We are delight that you give us a full score. Look forward to turning your next memorable visit.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed there for a night with my cousin last year, the room was alright. Good location as it's close to the city centre. If you don't want to make the trip, there are many pubs / bars / restaurants near the hotel. Service was good overall, did not encounter any issues. The best thing I like about Chengdu Shangri-La...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 102tingtingz
Dexter-Cheng, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review

Dear 102tingtingz, Thank you for staying at Shangri-La Hotel, Chengdu and sharing the feedback with us. We are delight that you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to turning your next memorable visit.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago

If price is not an issue, then the Shangri-la Hotel Chengdu is a good class hotel. I had 2 blocks of stay in this hotel (in between dates I was touring Jiuzhaigou). The first block I stayed on the Horizon Club Floor (more expensive). Breakfast was served on the 36F and you get a good view of the whole city....

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tdiana
Dexter-Cheng, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review

Dear tdiana, Thank you for staying at Shangri-La Hotel, Chengdu and sharing the feedback with us. We are delight that you give us a full score. Look forward to turning your next memorable visit.

Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was adequate but uninspired. The room was nice but nothing extra. The buffet breakfast was good. Service was adequate but not over the top as one would expect from a luxury hotel. The bed was comfortable. Room size was ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WiseWorldTravelers
Dexter-Cheng, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review

Dear WiseWorldTravelers, Thank you for staying at Shangri-La Hotel, Chengdu and sharing the feedback with us. Look forward to turning your next visit in near future.

New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

My son and I stayed in the Shangri-la Hotel in April. The hotel staff was very nice. My flight got delayed. A few times! I wasn't going to get in until about 3:00 am and I was afraid since it would be well after midnight that they might give my room away. I called and they assured me that everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kablake
Dexter-Cheng, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review

Dear kablake, Thank you for staying at Shangri-La Hotel, Chengdu and sharing the feedback with us. We are delight that you give us a full score. Look forward to turning your next memorable visit.

London
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 2 nights, our reason for being in Chengdu was to see the Panda's (of course!). Hotel was in a good location but was a little dated. Our room had a big bathroom and the view was amazing but the carpet and furniture was old. The hotel was near a complex with some bars and restaurants but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GemKim
Dexter-Cheng, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review

Dear GemKim, Thank you for staying at Shangri-La Hotel, Chengdu and sharing the feedback with us. Your feedback about our Mooney's restaurant has been shared to the related department. Look forward to turning your next visit for near future.

Shanghai, China
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at Shangri-La for 2 nights for a wedding, which was held on the property. Clean, comfortable room, attentive service, awesome breakfast spread. Fun pub in the basement with good music. Next door is entertainment area with restaurants, bars and coffee shops.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shanghai-Double-G
Dexter-Cheng, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review

Dear Shanghai-Double-G, Thank you for staying at Shangri-La Hotel, Chengdu and sharing the feedback with us. We are delight that you give us a full score. Look forward to turning your next memorable visit.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in this Hotel from April 3-9, 2017. We were six of us, and all of us were thoroughly disappointed with the services. Just to name a few issues: a) The Hotel's conference/ meeting room did not have a projector. When we asked for one, we were charged 2500 RMB for the same. It is absurd for a top...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Abhishek T
Dexter-Cheng, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review

Dear Abhishek T,Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor. I would like to extend my sincere apologies that you did not receive our usual high level of service. Your meeting room was located in our Horizon Club Floor which is exclusive for our Horizon Club Guests however it doesn’t include audio visual equipment. The...

Shanghai, China
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I cannot say enough kind words for our recent stay at the Shangri-la. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a suite so they really paying attention to their loyalty programme. The room was quite comfortable and attractive, all while being in a prime location for shopping, sightseeing and river walks. The hotel is appointed nicely and features an wonderful artworks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David L
Dexter-Cheng, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review

Dear David L, Thank you for staying at Shangri-La Hotel, Chengdu and sharing the feedback with us. We are delight that you give us a full score. Look forward to turning your next memorable visit.

Hong Kong
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was here for a wedding. Staff was good and the hotel was well run. Given the incredible growth and expansion of the tourism industry in chengdu, this hotel is in need of an upgrade and renovation. I would stay here again in a group block, but wouldn't necessarily choose it for myself.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susiek61
Dexter-Cheng, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu, responded to this review

Dear susiek61, Thank you for staying at Shangri-La Hotel, Chengdu and sharing the feedback with us. We are delight that you satisfied with our staff service. Look forward to turning your next visit.

503 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (428)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (227)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (39)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chengdu hotels
2.8 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
The Ritz-Carlton, Chengdu
#2 of 2,651 in Chengdu
450 reviews
0.9 km away
The Temple House
The Temple House
#1 of 2,651 in Chengdu
376 reviews
0.8 km away
Rhombus Park Aura Chengdu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Niccolo Chengdu
Niccolo Chengdu
#3 of 2,651 in Chengdu
378 reviews
10.5 km away
Hilton Chengdu
Hilton Chengdu
#5 of 2,651 in Chengdu
204 reviews
2.3 km away
The St. Regis Chengdu
The St. Regis Chengdu
#13 of 2,651 in Chengdu
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu

Address: No.9 Binjiang East Road, Jinjiang District, Chengdu 610021, China
Region: China > Sichuan > Chengdu
Price Range: $186 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu 5*
Number of rooms: 593
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu Sichuan
Shangri La Chengdu
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chengdu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chengdu
#1 Business Hotel in Chengdu
#5 Spa Hotel in Chengdu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chengdu
#44 Best Value Hotel in Chengdu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
London, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Shangri-La Hotel Chengdu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't go to the Irish Bar”
GemKim, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“For meetings, choose Horizon view rooms for access to Horizon Club lounge, it gives you two hours of free meeting room access per room.”
173abhishekt, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with both city and river views”
DavidL549, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Riverview room”
  • Room view
Neiko, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Horizon Club Level”
JeffandMark, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5