We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,590 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,509: English reviews
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Reviewed 30 January 2017

My friends and I absolutely loved our stay at mad monkeys. As far as the actual place: We stayed in the dorms, which made it super easy to meet other travelers. There was a locker under the bed to keep all our things safe and the rooms were cleaned regular- bonus. The staff are helpful and seem to love where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cassie g
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review

Hey Cassie! We absolutely loved having you here, you were a model guest and we had great fun chatting with you. Enjoy your travels, we hope to see you again soon. Thanks again for staying at our socially responsible hostel.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Had just come from a hostel in Thailand and the contrast did them no favours. Booked a four person dorm for one week. Left after the first night. Lost the entire booking deposit amount which we will back charge now we are home. Advertised as having deposit boxes, they had none. Advertised locker, they had none. In Australia false advertising...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobtail44
MMCommunications, Public Relations Manager at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review

Hi there. We always appreciate feedback from our guests because we're committed to constantly improving our service, but when we tried to contact you to discuss these matters further we received no response. We'll address your concerns here instead. Regarding your room: Each of our rooms and beds has a secure locker, as advertised and as is standard for hostels....

Reviewed 29 January 2017

We stayed in the gorilla (12-bed) dorm. Basically, there were 2 bathrooms in our room. Friendly atmosphere. The staff do the best that they can do to answer our queries. They offer free use of towel though they have $5 deposit. I would love to comeback if I'll have a chance to.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shane S
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review

Yay! thank you so much for staying with us, Shane. You will see that we do take care to read and consider every review we get. You were a lovely guest, happy travels and enjoy your trip. Thanks again for staying at our socially responsible hostel.

Melbourne
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed in a private room for 4 nights. The room was basic, but had great air-con as well as a ceiling fan. This is a great place to stay if you want to stay at a party hostel. There are different themes every night, and always things to do. During my stay there was an all day pool party...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review

Dear Melissa - It was an absolute delight having you stay here with our team at The Mad Monkey. We wish you the very best for your onward trip :-) Thank you for staying at our socially responsible hostel.

Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

We seriously loved our time at this hostel. The party vibe was great but casual as well. It is in an awesome location to town, pub street and the night markets. The food is great too and they have a few tours and things you can book through reception. It is really easy to meet other travellers here and our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Courtneyedwards13
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review

Cheers so much for your review, it really is important to us that our guests have a good time. Thank you so much again!

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

We went here and got Deluxe room. Small, no towels, electric system wasn't work well (key hole or something was broke), aircon wasn't work well. Worst thing was sound proofing. Extremely noisy plase. We left from hotel. Stuff was nice and friendly, we got money back exp. one day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marko M
MMCommunications, Public Relations Manager at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review

Hi Marko, thanks for your feedback. We do offer every guest a towel (for a $5 deposit which you get back when you return the towel). Our electricity has been checked and is fully functional, so we're not sure what issue you experienced unless it was a power outage - not uncommon in this part of Cambodia. Considering you found...

Reviewed 20 January 2017

Only a 5min walk to Pub Street but far enough to have a nice quiet sleep! The hostel is well located and has great amenities! The staff is friendly and speak very well English. The pool bar is a great place to meet new people during the day and when the sun is gone time to go to the roof...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Delphine F
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review

Dear Delphine - your great review really helps us out and keeps us motivated to keep improving our service. We are chuffed that you loved your stay - thanks again for caring. Thank you for staying at a socially responsible hostel.

Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

You can't go wrong with a mad monkey hostel especially Siem Reap. We had a little hiccup with reception once or twice but everything else about the hostel made up for it!! Rooms are great, beds are big!! Rooftop bar is amazing, the atmosphere is unbelievable! Jaffa makes sure to get everyone involved and dancing on tables he is THE...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diddly B
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review

It was great to have you, Diddly :) Thank you so much for choosing us as your hostel. You were an awesome guest, we hope we see you soon! Thank you for staying at our socially responsible hostel.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Hi, I have a really good souvenir of this place, very good meeting and lot of fun Room or clean, the rift top bar is amazing and the staff really nice I did a booze cruiz for more fun, and to discover the tonlé sap, we could swim there and see an amazing sun set Jaffa is one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review

Cheers so much for your review, Simon. It really is important to us that our guests have a good time. Thanks for staying with us and looking forward for your next visit :)

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

As the title suggests, the Mad Monkey in Siem Reap is a fantastic hostel if you are a backpacker (and don't mind a bit of noise). A pool and all the necessary amenities you need, including laundry, is available, and the upstairs bar provides both excellent food and an excellent venue to start off a loud night before heading off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ezra B
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review

Dear Ezra - It was an absolute delight having you stay here with our team at The Mad Monkey. Yes, our tuktuk drivers wear a shirt with a Mad Monkey logo so it is easy to spot them in front of our hostel. We wish you the very best for your onward trip :-) Thank you for staying at our...

287 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (249)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (141)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 km away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#3 of 338 in Siem Reap
1,332 reviews
0.5 km away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#7 of 338 in Siem Reap
570 reviews
0.0 km away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#38 of 338 in Siem Reap
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Shinta Mani Resort
Shinta Mani Resort
#4 of 338 in Siem Reap
1,991 reviews
0.5 km away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.8 km away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#12 of 338 in Siem Reap
3,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The most social hostel in Siem Reap! Come stay with 100+ backpackers from around the world. Clean, comfy accommodations (our dorm beds have massive 1.2m mattresses!). A swimming pool and poolside bar - absolutely essential on a hat Cambodian day. A Rooftop Beach Bar with epic sunset views. New events on every night. Tours of Angkor Wat, the countryside, and everything else you came to Siem Reap for. Free wifi. Visa service. We're here to handle everything, so you have the best stay and make the best memories in Siem Reap! Mad Monkey is a socially responsible hostel, too. Your stay will benefit local clean water projects and education organizations. Can't wait to see you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap

Address: No19, Mondul 2 | Khoum Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 0011, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Price Range: $18 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Bangkok, Thailand
Manila, Philippines
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“just plonk yourself here !!”
 of 5 bubbles ShuddhoG, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“away from pool”
 of 5 bubbles godderss, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“8 dorm bedrooms are good because you have your own private cubicle.”
 of 5 bubbles 369ericaw, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Loved the food and staff!!”
 of 5 bubbles derekmQ6207PE, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles bobtail44, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5