We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Afton House Inn

Booking.comUSD 129*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 129*
USD 129*
USD 129*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Afton House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 278: English reviews
Start your review of Afton House Inn
 Click to rate
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was an anniversary night for my bf and I. We stayed in room #1. Beautiful room with Jacuzzi. The room was big as well as bathroom and very clean. We had dinner and desert in their dining room as well and was very good. Plated breakfast in the morning was awesome. We will be back this summer when all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 7995April
Kathy J, Owner at Afton House Inn, responded to this review

So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit. Check our website for special and events at AftonHouseInn.com

Prior Lake, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I, have visited the Afton House Inn on two occasions now. We stayed in room #2 both times. The room was clean and very comfortable. The ambiance was perfect for a romantic evening. The first time we stayed, our whirlpool sounded a bit off; it was making some odd noises. Clearly the Afton House must stay on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trijack08
Kathy J, Owner at Afton House Inn, responded to this review

Thank You for your review and so sorry you were disappointed in breakfast. We will be sure to make improvements and we appreciate your feedback. We do look forward in seeing you again in the future.

Hudson, Wisconsin
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This is a really old place that has been well maintained! We live just 15 minutes away across the river in Hudson, WI, but when we are here we feel as if we are in another world. We usually stay in the older rooms that face the river, and this time we had room 30. It was very clean, had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jilly070
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Living in Florida for 25 years I needed a snowy weekend. My husband and I stayed here, having never been to MN before. I chose Room 7 after reading reviews and what was available for our long weekend. This room has a comfy king bed, very spacious double hot tub, semi-private walk-out deck (I won't call it a balcony because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
Kathy J, Owner at Afton House Inn, responded to this review

Thank You for your great review and for choosing to stay here in Afton with us. We appreciate your business and we look forward to your next return.

Hudson, Wisconsin
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Been coming here many years for Valentines dinner with my wife. ALWAYS a great atmosphere, dinner and service!! Can't talk high enough about this restaurant!! I ask for a dozen roses, chocolates and a particular bottle of wine table side, and again a PERFECT show! Bravo Dan and crew! Food is 5 +1 Star. A must if ever in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dirksjj14
JavierandIsabella, Owner at Afton House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am happy to hear that we were able to make your evening memorable. We truly look forward to seeing you again! Dan

Hudson, Wisconsin
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Started with an appetizer of crab cakes, they were really different and very good. Had the walleye, had to send it back because it was so dry. Second piece was much better but the almond coating was not evenly dispersed, it was not good. My wife had the filet, good, but not great with chunks of pepper on the coating....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mainsailhr
Kathy J, Owner at Afton House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we also are disappointed that your food was not up to our standards that evening. We did have a change of staff recently in our kitchen and have now replaced with a quality staff. I am sorry you had to experience that and assure you that your next visit will be awesome. We look...

Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Our family of 8 attended the Thanksgiving buffet. It was lovely. A very popular place for folks to celebrate but even though it was crowded we had a wonderful time. The food was fresh and the staff was tireless in changing it out. One of our party uses a wheelchair and when making the reservation the staff discussed accessibility options...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renee W
Kathy J, Manager at Afton House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for dining with us and taking the time to give us a great review. Our staff appreciates your comments. Happy New Year

Rush City, Minnesota
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Just got back home from one-night stay at Afton House Inn. Wife and I had a half-price coupon from St. Paul paper. The Inn was fascinating, the oldest hotel in Minnesota, remarkable ambience from that, long narrow hallways, many views of St. Croix River Marina, cries of seagulls. On the first Monday night in December, we were the only guests...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paul w
Kathy J, Owner at Afton House Inn, responded to this review

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward in seeing you again

Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

RM 7. I brought my wife to celebrate her birthday. Jacuzzi did not work ever after troubleshooting with staff. Since the price of the room is really Justified because there is a two-person jacuzzi, and the jacuzzi did not work, I asked to be compensated and requested a discount on the room. I thought that was a very reasonable and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank terry c
Kathy J, Owner at Afton House Inn, responded to this review

Dear Terry I did respond to you and you would not let anyone come to your room that night to check the jacuzzi and we did not find anything wrong with the jacuzzi the next day. I am sorry that you could not figure out how to use it and I did offer you a discount on your next stay....

Reviewed 12 November 2016

As we visited in the late fall of November, the Inn was quiet, with one a couple other guests apparent to us. The desk staff was perhaps a little reserved, but overall friendly, skilled and professional. We had one of the Riverview rooms, with a comfortable bed and room size. The fireplace is a cozy touch, but doesn't add heat....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank McKimi
Kathy J, Owner at Afton House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review so we can share with our staff your comments to ensure your next stay will be even more enjoyable. Check out our specials and events on AftonHouseInn.com We look forward to your next visit

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
1:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afton
17.4 km away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#5 of 7 in Stillwater
317 reviews
7.8 km away
Royal Inn - Hudson
Royal Inn - Hudson
#3 of 8 in Hudson
87 reviews
8.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Hudson House Grand Hotel
15.7 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
8.1 km away
Comfort Suites Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Afton House Inn

Address: 3291 Saint Croix Trl S, Afton, MN 55001-9424
Region: United States > Minnesota > Afton
Price Range: $169 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Afton House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Afton House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afton House Hotel Afton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Afton House Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Afton House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room #1 is on the new addition and far from any noise. Very comfortable bed.”
7995April, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“This review is for the restaurant.”
Mainsailhr, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are described individually at their website-- be sure to get what you want, from basic to deluxe.”
55paulw, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room far from the lobby for best views and quietness.”
juliannlyonsf, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I wouldn't even attempt to go.”
  • Even the table was deteriorating and had wood pieces sticking out.
peace4just, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 129* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 129
Expedia.comUSD 129
TripAdvisorUSD 129
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates