We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive
See the most recent reviews
Showing 71: English reviews
michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2014

My daughter and I stayed here in September 2014 when a storm went thru the area and we had no electricity. In the middle of the nite, I went to the bathroom and there was a Roach on the wash cloths. Upon inspection, when I turned on the kitchen light, about 6 Roaches scurried across the counter. There was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank bseeger
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am so sincerely sorry for the pest issues you experienced in your room. After you reported this room, we immediately got our pest contractor out to the hotel to service this room. To prevent this from happening again, I will be reviewing our... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2014

Location was great, price was great, hotel was NOT great! The beds were OK, but the room was dirty and there was no maid service. The floors had not been swept and the tub did not drain until I pulled a rat sized hair ball from the drain. Avoid Avoid Avoid!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank KitchenGadgetGirl
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2014

I'm still at a loss for words. I drove from Toledo, Ohio to attend Oprah's Life You Want Tour - so I needed a hotel nearby. I booked this hotel for $84.99 the first night $89.99 the second night for a total of $192. When I entered the hotel - it appeared clean until you walked passed the front desk.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Orsayor S
Manager_11525, Owner at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I truly regret to read that you experienced so many issues with cleanliness and maintenance in both your room and our common areas. I sincerely apologize that your phone was not working, and that my staff was not able to repair it for you... More 

1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

If there was a negative choice for a review rating, this hotel would have it! Exterior of hotel looks modern and new, inside common areas were typical, inside rooms were shocking!! The floors and furniture were soiled and disgusting. The beds were made with the cheapest, thinnest sheets available and to my late nite shock; was all that separated my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nechell B
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience. We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. We are scheduled for a full renovation to improve our hotel and our guest's experience. We will also inspect your room with our pest control provider to ensure there is no... More 

Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The bed and pillows were horrible - we didn't sleep a wink. When we first checked in the door to our room did not lock and when we approached the front desk she asked if we were ok with it not locking.... Um NO! She did put us in another room after we requested one. We stayed here because it... More 

Helpful?
Thank KTVB
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I apologize that you found your bed to be uncomfortable. As well, I'm sorry that the lock on your door did not work; however, I'm happy to hear that we were able to move you to a new room. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.... More 

Hastings, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This hotel is understaffed. It took almost 2 hours to check us in as only one very slow, poorly trained person at front desk. Stayed two nights and housekeeping never showed. Bed was extremely hard, sheets did not fit bed, and phone would not allow you to get an outside line.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jon P
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

Jon - I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I want to personally apologize that your check-in process took so long. As well, I apologize that you had issues with your bed and the phone in your room. I will be meeting with my staff to ensure these issues are resolved... More 

Chicago, Ill
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. The hotel looks nice on the outside and they are doing some renovation work on the common areas. The room I had on the first floor was very large. The King bed was nice and it was nice having a fridge and microwave in the room. The furnishings were well worn. The carpeting was the... More 

Helpful?
Thank jdb327
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our grab-and-go breakfast and the size of your room. Still, I am sorry to hear that the overall condition of your room did not meet your expectations. As well, I apologize that you experienced some noise disturbance from... More 

Auburn Hills, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Poor room quality nothing to do no pool no hot tub showers dirty doesnt drain well sold out hotel one person on staff barely speaks english very very slow all around bad expierience would never come back you can hear people walking in the room next to you upstairs hallway its loud dirty and cheap looking and feeling

Helpful?
Thank nickbarg
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am sorry that the condition and cleanliness of your room did not meet your expectations. I will be meeting with our housekeeping staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. As well, I apologize that your shower did not drain well and that... More 

1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Very dissatisfied. Kitchen was not equipped with much at all. No cleaning products no dish soap no glasses. Only 2 burners and one didn't work. Bed was broke. Room was very dirty. No ice machines Nice fridge that's about it

Helpful?
Thank Deandoreen
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am so sorry to hear that your stay was disappointing due to the kitchen not being properly equipped and having items in need of repair in your room. Please know, we do not offer cleaning products in our guest rooms, but we do... More 

Boyne City, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The outside of the building looks like a nice, reputable hotel chain. Inside is a different thing! The idea of a little kitchen is great and this could be a great place however, as soon as you enter the lobby it's all down hill from there. Cold, uninviting front desk area, thin walls (had to listen to people walking and... More 

Helpful?
Thank TKRMAR
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am very sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations. As this hotel's manager, I can assure you that your comments have been addressed with the entire staff and we are working to enhance our offerings. As well, I am coaching them... More 

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auburn Hills hotels
2.2 km away
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
#1 of 17 in Auburn Hills
289 reviews
1.8 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills
2.1 km away
Comfort Suites Auburn Hills
Comfort Suites Auburn Hills
#8 of 17 in Auburn Hills
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - I -75
2.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Auburn Hills
2.0 km away
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
#4 of 17 in Auburn Hills
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive

Address: 3315 University Drive, Auburn Hills, MI 48326
Region: United States > Michigan > Auburn Hills
Price Range: $110 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Auburn Hills
Homestead Suites Auburn Hills
Auburn Hills Homestead Suites
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Charlotte, Michigan

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles GlassHalfFull13, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that doesn't run along the road but the opposite direction since the hotel is in an L shape.”
 of 5 bubbles 3hutts, 17 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Inspect your room well for burned out lights and broken appliances before settling in”
  • Cooktop Element up close
  • Damage at refrigerator
 of 5 bubbles flintjarvis, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
“It is convenient to Oakland University, that's the only positive thing I can write.”
 of 5 bubbles johnfmarti, 16 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Go elsewhere!!!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles John316Indiana, 5 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay