We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Barjeel Heritage Guest House

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Barjeel Heritage Guest House
Barjeel Heritage Guest House
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 99: English reviews
Start your review of Barjeel Heritage Guest House
 Click to rate
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is conveniently close to Metro's Al Gubaiba station and Al Gubaiba bus station. HoweverI have not taken breakfast because I started early in the morning, guests can choose from a breakfast menu in various ways. Thehotel is along Dubai Creek, it is good to take a walk around.However, it is regrettable that there was no window in the room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MUMOMO
Alkhrissat, Front Office Manager at Barjeel Heritage Guest House, responded to this review

Dear MUMOMO, We would like to thank you for staying at Barjeel Heritage Guest House and for taking the time to send us your valuable comments. It’s always gratifying to receive positive feedback, and your kind comments will be shared with all the staff members, whom I am certain will be encouraged with your remarks. We hope to have the...

Lakeside Park, Kentucky
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is all about the location. If you want the modern Dubai 5 stars Spa , this is not for you. If you want to experience the "authentic" Dubai from the past, you will love this place in a pedestrian area. It is very convenient to visit the old part / souks on both sides of the river. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Uwe K
Alkhrissat, Front Office Manager at Barjeel Heritage Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Uwe K, Thank you for your feedback in TripAdvisor and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay all throughout. It is such an honor for us to provide our Arabian hospitality from the hearts to our valued guests and knowing that you had a wonderful experience with us. Your compliment towards our team services and hotel facilities is...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Despite the fact that we are living in Dubai for many years we booked one night at this guest house. The place is fantastic. The old and genuine Dubai. The Dubai greek is just outside and the whole old Dubai with all it's fantastic charm. Metro station is around the corner. The rooms are big, charming and nice. Yes, it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karin R
Alkhrissat, Front Office Manager at Barjeel Heritage Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Karin R, The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your recent visit with us and loved our room and breakfast. Your kind compliment to award our restaurant is very much appreciated. We are so happy that we are able to provide the service that you have come to except from Barjeel guest house! We look forward to...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 April 2017

The hotel is in a great location - approximately 150 meters to the nearest train station (Metro Green Line - Station 24), and immediately outside the front door is Dubai Creek promenade. A short walk away is the Bur Dubai Abra Dock where you can take a traditional dowh (wooden boat) across the river (cost Dh1 per person) to explore...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gypsy1967
Alkhrissat, Front Office Manager at Barjeel Heritage Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Gypsy1967, Great to know that overall experience was good and you enjoyed your stay at the Barjeel guest house ! let me apologize for any inconvenience and we have noted your concerns and suggestions which will be certainly discussed with the management and definitely we will improve some points where we can do better. we look forward to welcome...

Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed 31 March 2017

The waiter here was very friendly and helpful. His English was excellent. The food was very good and we sat and watched the boats depart from the creek. Even had Kunafe for dessert!! It is right by the House of Sheikh Khalifa Bin Saeed Al Maktoum, which is how we happened to pick this place at random. We were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
Alkhrissat, Front Office Manager at Barjeel Heritage Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Karen R, Thank you for your feedback in TripAdvisor and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay all throughout. It is such an honor for us to provide our Arabian hospitality from the hearts to our valued guests and knowing that you had a wonderful experience with us. Your compliment towards our team services and guest house facilities...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 10 February 2017

My wife and I spent 10 days in the UAE and Oman on an independent trip, and Barjeel Guesthouse was our first stop. Barjeel is unique in the sense that it occupies on old merchant house that has been converted into a pleasant hotel in a quiet pedestrians-only part of Dubai. What this means though is that it's hard to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LVarro
Alkhrissat, Front Office Manager at Barjeel Heritage Guest House, responded to this review

Dear LVarro, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us and letting us know about your experience at Barjeel Heritage Guest House. Your praise regarding your visit is a good motivator to know that our guests leave the hotel with a positive experience. great to know the Arabic style, heritage place and the location...

Napanee, Canada
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Why stay in an anonymous block when you can stay in a lovely moorish style guest house right by the water? A minute's walk to the water taxi station, from there straight over to the gold souk. Lovely courtyard. Safe, clean and service an example for all. Simply superb. Would absolutely stay here on any trip to Dubai.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
Alkhrissat, Front Office Manager at Barjeel Heritage Guest House, responded to this review

Dear CanadaRambler1, Thank you for taking the time in outlining your thoughts on your recent stay with Barjeel Heritage Guest House. I appreciate your compliments shared on our services and surrounding facilities. we look forward for your return. Respectfully yours, Fadi Al Khrissat

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 6 January 2017

I was repeatedly disappointed by the Barjeel guesthouse. The first strike was that the airport pickup I had scheduled never showed. Because I was getting in at 2am, and had read the guesthouse was unknown to taxis, I had specifically scheduled an airport pickup. I spent an hour looking for a driver who wasn't there and attempting to make contact...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kdaniels743
Alkhrissat, Front Office Manager at Barjeel Heritage Guest House, responded to this review

Dear kdaniels743, First of all thanks for taking time to provide us your feedback following your stay and I’m sincerely apologies for letting you feel discomfort and I know my words will not bring back your comfort but I would like to apologize once again and explain some points that you have raised up. Due error in the system we...

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 29 November 2016

We stayed at the Barjeel for one night and were delighted with the 2 courtyard rooms... they were spacious, well fitted and very comfortable. We had no problem finding the place as it was next door to our cousin's place of work. Lunch at the restaurant was lovely, great outdoor seating with a lovely view over the old harbour. Not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Muse-trips
Alkhrissat, Front Office Manager at Barjeel Heritage Guest House, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your excellent rating of our customer service. We pride ourselves in personalized service and hospitality, and I am glad that our team went above and beyond to make your stay more comfortable thus creating a wonderful experience for you. I will certainly share with the team. Once again, thank you for staying with us and...

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

When we first arrived our taxi driver didn't know how to get to the hotel. There is no street infront and you must walk with your suitcases to find the hotel. This is the only negative thing, and if you know this it is much easier. The hotel is right by the metro station and so close to the Abra...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Anna M
Alkhrissat, Acting Front Office Manager at Barjeel Heritage Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Anna M, Thank you for taking the time to write a review . I was absolutely delighted to read your wonderful comments about our staff and our guest house, your kind words have been shared with the entire team at the hotel who were as pleased as I was to read that you had an outstanding stay experience. I...

306 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (225)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (80)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (75)
Viewed
Barjeel Suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Creek
Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa
Hotel Sea View
#49 of 542 in Dubai
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Creek
Gateway Hotel
Gateway Hotel
#222 of 542 in Dubai
322 reviews
Royal Ascot Hotel
#47 of 542 in Dubai
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in The Creek

Neighbourhood Profile
The Creek
The smell of frankincense hangs thick and heavy in the air, waves lap gently at jetties, and market traders call to passing tourists. The creek, originally the place where pearl boats docked and left on missions to uncover jewels from the deep, is where the city really began. The Al Fahidi District on the Creekside is one of the oldest heritage sites in Dubai, easily recognizable with its iconic wind towers, the original air conditioning. Home to the Sheikh Mohammed Centre for Cultural Understanding and the Dubai Museum, the old buildings also house a range of cafes, shops and art galleries. Often called “the real Dubai,” this is a wonderful place to lose yourself before catching an abra across the creek to the spice souk, where your senses will be overwhelmed with tastes, smells, and sounds.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Named after the Icon of the Guest House, the Barjeel Al Arab Restaurant is nestled near the water front overlooking the Creek side, neighboring the historic old souk and the bustling financial district. The view of glittering Dhows in the creek and the sound of prayer from the Mosque nearby will set you right in traditional Arabia. Arabic Hospitality being the most important factor of the Arabian culture, we offer the taste buds a variety of flavors, combining; Emirati, Lebanese and cosmopolitan delicacies, which truly represent what Dubai Demography is all about. Offering healthy freshly produce Mezzah, Kebabs and Grill in a healthier environment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barjeel Heritage Guest House

Address: Al Ghubaiba Rd, Dubai 46500, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Creek
Price Range: $79 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barjeel Heritage Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barjeel Heritage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barjeel Heritage Guest House staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Barjeel Heritage Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a quiet room”
LVarro, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“They all face a lovely courtyard.”
janeaO115PU, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you need 2 rooms, ask for 101 and 102, you get your own little courtyard. Very private. But the main courtyard garden is a lot prettier.”
Muse-trips, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Dont chose room 1 and 2”
bahmanj2014, 8 May 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from the kitchen are quieter.”
Balyarta, 25 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
HotelQuickly
Orbitz.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates