We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mekong Riverview Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mekong Riverview Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

783 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mekong Riverview Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 679: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Booked the Junior Riverview Suite for 4 nights at the end of March and spent hours sitting on the balcony enjoying the view & the peace (most of the time all you heard were the birds and the river- so calming). The breakfast was also a good spot for relaxing and the selection was more than adequate. My friend made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaz300
Raleigh, NC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I stayed 4 nights at this great little hotel in a great location. Positives: 1. Location at the tip of the peninsula means great views and less traffic than centrally located hotels. 2. Friendly owner and hotel staff. The owner, Mr. Urban, is on the property every day. 3. Great restaurant location right at the junction of the Nahm Kahn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jwc3
Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 6 April 2013

we wanted to stay in a peaceful place after wonderful but noisy, crazy Hanoe. We chose Mekong Riverview thinking this would be what we were looking for. Unfortunately we were weong. we paid extra for an upstairs room overlooking the river because people said it was peaceful. I think these reviewers must had had hearing difficulties. I used ear plugs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annallen_13
MrUrbanPaulsson, Owner at Mekong Riverview Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your trip advisor review. We are so sorry to hear that you have experienced problems with the passing motorbike at night. We would like to point out that we do not charge extra for the upstairs rooms, could it possibly bee that you choose a Junior Suite River View room and therefore upgraded to the...

Barcelona
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stood 4 nights in Mekong Riverview hotel, everything was excellent. It was great having breakfast while looking at Mekong river, we really miss those mornings :) Location is very good, you can use the bikes all day, We were very happy with Mr. Urban kindness and all the staff. Sure we will repeat the experience.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mLao
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I was traveling on business (solo) and spent easter weekend in Luang Prabang (5 nights). I had stayed at Villa Senesouk last time I was in town (and loved it!). However, I checked trip advisor and was persuaded to stay at the Mekong Riverview. It happened to be at the convergence of the two rivers, one of my favorite views...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JenGPhiladelphia
Luang Prabang, Laos
Reviewed 2 April 2013

How often have you stayed at a hotel where the people running the hotel and the entire staff working at the hotel really care about you and want to help you have the best stay possible? This is the unusual experience that my wife and I had at the Mekong Riverview Hotel. It started when we where greeted at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Incredibly helpful and friendly staff welcomed us to Laos after our flight with an annotated map and free tea/coffee and cake. The room was spectacular with a wraparound terrace. They kept adding bottles of complimentary water to our fridge, something we just had never seen elsewhere. The location is central and the bicycles are free to borrow. Wine reception on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J G
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I just feel like I am at home rather than in hotel! From freshly made eggs and shakes served in the terrace (which has unsurpassed view in Luang Prabang), free bike rentals in the day, free tea, coffee and cakes in the lobby (which is more like a living room than a hotel lobby), to little amenities in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DerekHung
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Much praise has been given to this gem of a hotel by other guests and I can see why. The location could not be bettered - supurb views over the Mekong River, in a quiet area but perfect for walking around this delightful city. Breakfast on the edge of the riverbank watching monks watering the gardens below or strolling over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brishelen
London, UK
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I don't have enough superlatives for the hotel. I would not consider any other hotel in Luang Prabang as the location within the UNESCO old town and the view of the Mekong River do not get any better! I was considering staying at one of the resort hotels on the edge of town and that would have been a mistake....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank MondoTrek

643 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (390)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (91)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Other (128)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (203)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (39)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
River View Junior Suite (40)
Viewed
Superior Mekong River View Room (39)
Viewed
Superior Suite (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
2.8 km away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 70 in Luang Prabang
549 reviews
2.3 km away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
712 reviews
0.3 km away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 70 in Luang Prabang
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 70 in Luang Prabang
424 reviews
2.3 km away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#10 of 70 in Luang Prabang
607 reviews
2.1 km away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 70 in Luang Prabang
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a beautiful boutique hotel with a personal touch, located on the tip of the peninsula, at the very end of the old town, on the UNESCOs World Heritage Area. The view you have from the rooms and Café/Restaurant is the meeting of great Mekong River and Nam Khan River. The Hotel is quiet and peaceful with the beautiful former Royal temple Wat Xienthong as your neighbor. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mekong Riverview Hotel

Address: Mekong Riverside Road, Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Price Range: $157 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Riverview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Mekong Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mekong Riverview
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mekong Riverview Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mekong Riverview Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a river view room. Ground floor or first floor are good.”
 of 5 bubbles , 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid a ground floor room on the street. It is a fairly busy street and the rooms are right next to it.”
 of 5 bubbles RoySandlapper, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We liked the river view balcony rooms”
  • Our room (slightly used)
  • Our balcony overlooking Mekong river
 of 5 bubbles EdMusick, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I stayed in a riverview room and i would stay there again”
  • left of photo our room,right of photo where i brought my beer :)
  • the view from our room
 of 5 bubbles cookie05Perth, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the main floor can be a little noisy as it's close to the street.”
 of 5 bubbles tryingtoseetheworld, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5