We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel El Panama

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel El Panama
Hotel El Panama
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

787 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Panama
See the most recent reviews
Showing 272: English reviews
Santiago de Veraguas, Panama
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

I am sure that this hotel was considered a fabulous resort hotel back in the 1950s before the likes of the Trump, Waldorf, Riu or Sortis, but its heyday is definitely over. I am a US (Texan) expat living in the interior of Panama. My partner and I spend at least one weekend per month in Panama City (although lately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean H
ElPanama, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review

Dear Sean H Please accept our warm greetings and sincerely apologize for every inconvenience experienced during your stay in our facilities. We appreciate your contributions, they are the way to correct our faults and give sequence to the continuous improvements. Your comments have been extremely important and you will be assured that on your next visit, the new changes will...

Reviewed 8 March 2016 via mobile

The rooms are super spacious to say the least. It's an older hotel (originally opened in the 1950's) but has some great features. The lobby is beautiful with an open concept - no windows or doors. Fantastic pool with a swim up bar, restaurant, cabanas, and plenty of seating. Delicious breakfast buffet. Unfortunately I don't speak Spanish, but a large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crazymotherof2
ElPanama, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review

Dear Crazymotherof2 Your pleasure is our happiness, thanks for your reference through these ways, and even so, we are working still on innovations for your comfort. We would like invite you to visit us on your next visit to Panama City. Please do not hesitate to contact us Regards.

Budapest
Reviewed 7 March 2016

The hotel is in the central district of Panama City, approximately in the same distance from the two old districts (Casco Viejo and Panama Vieja). None of the sightseeing-musts are in walking distance. The room was clean and big with nice furniture, but the sound-proofing simply didn't exist. All the noises of the passageway was clearly to hear inside. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DoraVB
ElPanama, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review

Dear DoraVB We would like to thank you, for give us some of your valuable time and refer us with pleasing qualifications. Gladly we are waiting for your next visit, please contact us through to reservas@elpanama.com and we'll send you the new packageslet you know our innovative packages. regards

Hudson
Reviewed 10 February 2016

Stayed at the El Panama Hotel in January in conjunction with the web.com golf tournament. It was the host hotel and they did a very nice job. My room was right off the large pool and was very comfortable. Nice better, nice shower and great channel selection as I was able to watch the debate on Fox News! Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deryl K
ElPanama, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review

Dear Deryl K We are happy for your valued comments; grateful for your participation in this prestigious event and looking forward to your next visit; Remember to contact us we will be waiting with the best investment available to assist you. Thank you so much

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

As a business traveler I was disappointed by this hotel. It's a rather tired, old hotel and compared to other hotels of a similar star rating in the city it doesn't stack up. My room was spacious but nothing special. The restaurants were OK but nothing more. The shower is designed for anyone 5' 10" and below. The staff weren't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RovingWretch
ElPanama, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review

Dear RovingWretch Please accept our warm greetings and thanks for your visit, comments and suggestions. We are making important investment at this moment, for the comfort of our guests, because you are our reason for being. Regards,

Reviewed 15 January 2016

We were treated to an upgrade to a master suite which was amazing. Place was spacious but cozy. Staff was pleasant and place was kept clean. Food was great and the bar had really nice drinks. Staff org tours for us and that was awesome. Great place and staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonelle S
ElPanama, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review

Dear Jonelle S We are pleased to receive such nice comments, we are happy to you have felt well taken care of, please do not hesitate to contact us, we will be waiting back soon. Regards

Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 15 January 2016

I was on a business trip to Panama and my colleagues over there booked this hotel for me, as they say, because it’s a “5 star hotel”! Well, and I know it was not my colleagues’ fault, the El Panama Hotel is far from being a 5 star hotel and it’s located in a lousy place in the city. On...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Guillo1903
ElPanama, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review

Dear Guillow 1903 We extend our sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused during your stay at our hotel. We are working to correct aspects of soundproofing and avoid noise due to events and conventions make in our halls events. We expect a new opportunity, we assure you will not regret. Regards,

Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

Went to the hotel, and the hotel staff knew nothing of the internet promotions. My family saw a new years party pack, before we bought the pack the receptionist was asked if the new year party was included and she said yes. Later we asked again because we got different rooms and wanted our tables close, and they repeated that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barbara P
ElPanama, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review

We would like to apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and your family, because our room was not included the year’s party. This festivity was separate to the rooms. We received your comments with great disappointment, because this party of New Year is traditionally in order to give joy to our guests. Please don't hesitate to contact us with...

Panama
Reviewed 18 December 2015 via mobile

I lived in Panama and have to attend a party in the hotel so we decide to pass the night and enjoy to the day after with our friends... I will star to mention the deficiencies...at the beggining there was only two front men trying to do the check in of everybody in the lobby and took us almost one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ricech03
ElPanama, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review

We would like give you thanks for choice us and extend you our sincere apologies for every inconveniences experienced during your visit to our hotel. We apologize for noise from these year-end festivities, which were made in our recreation area. Please on your next visit, we invite you to know other options of rooms in the main building with full...

Reviewed 17 December 2015 via mobile

The staff is very friendly. The hotel is old and dated (all light switches did not work, cold shower 2 days, safe did not work, no TV remote), very inconsistent maid service (no coffee one day, no towels the next, no bottled water the third), loud band on 7th floor so moved to 4th floor, then street noise on 4th...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LNuss
ElPanama, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel El Panama, responded to this review

Dear LNuss Please accept our warm greetings on behalf of the Management and staff of Hotel El Panama, Casino and Convention Center. We would like to thank you for sharing your comments and reviews and wish to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. We have taken a serious view of each of the areas you...

681 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (362)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (36)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (157)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (274)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
King Room (26)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Pool View Double Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (32)
Viewed
Standard Room (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 km away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.2 km away
Continental Hotel & Casino
Continental Hotel & Casino
#38 of 115 in Panama City
598 reviews
0.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Panama
Crowne Plaza Panama
#39 of 115 in Panama City
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#19 of 115 in Panama City
1,020 reviews
0.2 km away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#12 of 115 in Panama City
614 reviews
1.5 km away
Plaza Paitilla Inn
Plaza Paitilla Inn
#36 of 115 in Panama City
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the El Panama, where our luxury hotel in the cosmopolitan city of Panama provides a sublime ambiance of distinction, comfort, and Latin flair. Our location in the heart of downtown puts business travelers right where they need to be, while our comprehensive facilities and high standards of service mean that leisure time is also well spent.Our variety of luxurious accommodations in Panama City provide just the right environment you seek, from spacious guest rooms to suites, Pool Cabanas, and Deluxe Floors which include a complimentary Continental breakfast served daily, high-speed wireless Internet access, and butler service to attend to your every need. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel El Panama

Address: Via Espana 111, Panama City 1753, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Price Range: $121 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel El Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Panama City Hotel
El Hotel Panama City
Hotel El Panama Panama City
Hotel Style:
#8 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#19 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#30 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel El Panama staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel El Panama staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room with pool view.”
 of 5 bubbles lheafner, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I had no preference.”
 of 5 bubbles 767hectorm, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room opposite to swimming pool for peace & quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles philter1000, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Select the pool cabana rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles derylk2015, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
“As far away from activity halls as possible!”
 of 5 bubbles Guillo1903, 14 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay