We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Magnolia Inn

Hostelworld.comUSD 35*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 99*
USD 35*
Great Deal
USD 99*
USD 99*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Magnolia Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

603 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Magnolia Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 507: English reviews
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, after discovering that Casco Viejo is the place where you want to stay in Panama-City. Private room was very good, well-furnished and luxurious for our standards. Great staff and location! Only the water could've been warmer and the price might be a bit higher than what you're used to in Panama, but you do...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martinatw
Magnolia I, General Manager at Magnolia Inn, responded to this review

Hi Martina, We are delighted to hear you had such a great stay at Magnolia Inn and we hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Joeri Van der Linden

Lima, Peru
Reviewed 30 November 2015 via mobile

When planning our trip to Panama, we left it a little late to book accommodation in Casco Viejo. There wasn't much left and so we found Magnolia inn. We weren't expecting amazing things, however we were completely surprised!!! What a lovely hotel it is!!!! The location is brilliant and very quiet. This was also a surprise as we had been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joannanelson
Magnolia I, General Manager at Magnolia Inn, responded to this review

Hi Joanna, Thank you for staying with Magnolia Inn in Casco Viejo and for taking the time to write us a review. We pride ourselves running a place where our guests feel at home and where we can help you plan your trip in Panama City and the rest of the country. We are awaiting your return. Kind regards Joeri...

Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights in Nov 2015, having a bed in the ballroom dorm (fans, nice atmosphere). The hostel has great warm showers. There is a communal area and a kitchen. The staff is helpful, but could sometimes be more patient with questions. The hostel can improve a bit in keeping the bathrooms a bit cleaner. Overall a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Verena L
Magnolia I, General Manager at Magnolia Inn, responded to this review

Hello Verena, Thank you for staying with us and your time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay so much. Your comment about the showers has been noted and I have instructed our staff to pay extra attention to make sure this will not happen again. We take the cleanliness of our hotel very seriously. I...

Brewster, New York
Reviewed 9 November 2015

It is one of the most affordable accommodations for the Casco Viejo area. The staff was friendly & helpful, but the room itself was overpriced. It is half Hostal & half Hotel. I rented a single private room in he hotel side. The room was clean & nicely appointed, but didn't have the features usually available at hotels of similar...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cynhoff
Magnolia I, General Manager at Magnolia Inn, responded to this review

Dear Cynhoff. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we always appreciate feedback. I am sorry to hear that you found the rooms a bit pricey As you mentioned we offer one of the the most affordable accomodations in Casco Viejo. There are several big hotel chains located in the new part of the city. I...

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 9 November 2015

We stayed at the Magnolia a total of five nights over our two weeks travel in Panama. Each time we had a different private room and the rooms were all clean, spacious and comfortable. We were even given the delux room at one of the times! The location couldn't be better. It is located in the middle of Casco Viejo...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Reut R
Magnolia I, General Manager at Magnolia Inn, responded to this review

Dear Reut, It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and your friend here at Magnolia Inn and you will be missed! We work really hard to offer an excellent service to all our guests so to receive a compliment like yours makes our day! !אנו מקווים לראות אותך שוב Kind regards Joeri van der Linden

Reviewed 5 November 2015 via mobile

During our stay in Panama we stayed in this hostel 3 times. Every time we were here, has been a great experience. We stayed on the top floor, with the most beautiful view on the Panama-city skyline. What a great pleasure to be here. They have a very helpful crew and the kitchen is great for cooking, but is also...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave W
Magnolia I, General Manager at Magnolia Inn, responded to this review

Hi Dave, So glad to hear you had a wonderful stay at Magnolia Inn. We pride ourselves in making our guests feel at home and it is a great compliment to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. We will be awaiting your return. Kind regards Joeri van der Linden.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 November 2015 via mobile

I reserved the private room for $90 and believe it was entirely overpriced. It was furnished and cute and charming, but the wifi didn't work in my room at all and I had to take a cold shower at 5am that morning before my flight, which was a bummer. I was at Hotel Tantalo around the corner and for about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley R
Magnolia I, General Manager at Magnolia Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ashley. Thank you for your comment. We are glad you liked the common area and found our staff great. I am sorry that you had to endure a cold shower and I apoligize on behalf of our staff. The heater ran out of gas and we replaced it at 7 AM that morning. The Wi-Fi has been revised as...

Paris, France
Reviewed 1 November 2015

We stayed at the Magnolia Inn for one night, while in transit. We really enjoyed its location - right in the middle of Casco Viejo - and the private room we had booked with its four star feel was great value for money. Only negative point : the shutters did not block the street lights at night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre L
Magnolia I, General Manager at Magnolia Inn, responded to this review

Hi Alexandre, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Magnolia Inn so much. Your comment on the shutters have been noted and we have someone working on it as we speak. We hope to welcome you next time. Kind regards Joeri van der Linden

New York City, New York
Reviewed 18 October 2015

I would have liked to stay longer but just had one night to spend in Panama City before flying home after a Canal transit in a friend's boat. The curb appeal of this place attracted me initially then I booked for the night after reading on-line reviews. The front desk staff were very friendly throughout my stay. A small glitch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonat1x
Magnolia I, General Manager at Magnolia Inn, responded to this review

Hi jonat1x, We are glad to hear you had great stay at Magnolia Inn. Apoogies for the initial room mix up. Your comments about the coffee creamer and the safe have been noted, I' ll get on it right away. We hope to see you back next time and I wish you safe travels. Kind regards Joeri van der Linden

Lima, Peru
Reviewed 12 October 2015

I decided to stay in the Magnolia Inn after reading all the great reviews. Since we didn't make plans ahead we changed rooms every day (they were previously booked) so I had a taste of all the different options the hostel has to offer (the more expensive rooms as well as the simpler ones) Bottom line this is one of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peru O
Magnolia I, General Manager at Magnolia Inn, responded to this review

Hello Pero O, We are honored to hear that you rank us as the best hostel in Panama and love our staff! We work really hard to deliver a top notch stay for all our guests so it is always delightful to hear such positive comments. We are awaiting your return. Kind regards Joeri van der Linden.

159 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 km away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 117 in Panama City
448 reviews
0.2 km away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#35 of 117 in Panama City
111 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#58 of 117 in Panama City
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
3.9 km away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 117 in Panama City
620 reviews
0.4 km away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#66 of 117 in Panama City
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Magnolia Inn offers comfortable and spacious deluxe private rooms. Our restored French colonial mansion is full of historic character, as well as modern conveniences such as A/C, orthopedic beds, free Wi-Fi Internet, mini-fridge and safe deposit boxes. We have a total of 16 hotel rooms available, all with private bathroom, A/C and safe deposit boxes. We are a family friendly hotel and are suitable to host large groups. The building boasts stylish social areas to relax and meet fellow guests. A fully equipped kitchen and sunbathed dining room is available for all ours guests to use and coffee and tea is offered free all day. We also have a total of 38 hostel/dorm beds available with comfortable beds and A/C. Within a couple blocks from the hotel you can enjoy Casco Viejo's attractions such as the Presidential Palace, Metropolitan Cathedral, the Canal Museum, National Theater, Las Bovedas, and many others. Casco Viejo also is home to art galleries, great restaurants, and some of the city's best bars. Private car service is available for a fee, you are greeted inside Tocumen (PTY) international airport with a sign. The English speaking driver helps you with your bags and brings you to the front desk of the Magnolia Inn. Our front desk staff is fluent English, Spanish German, Dutch and Russian and will gladly help you with further planning your trip in Panama. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magnolia Inn

Address: 8-18 Calle Boquete & Calle 8va, 111 | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Price Range: $44 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Magnolia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Inn Panama/Panama City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magnolia Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Magnolia Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 2A was amazing.”
, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Penthouse 3C is fantastic--great room/views, spacious, quiet.”
PapaPiranha, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have better views, be prepared for very loud music on weekends”
MelWisc, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“AC dorms are quieter and more comfortable”
huthbot, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“the ballroom doesn't have bunk beds, so lots of space.”
Marjolein6, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
USD 35* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 99
PricelineUSD 99
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates